We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it really haunted?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pier Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Is it really haunted?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Quaint old hotel in downtown St. Pete. Nicely appointed, walk to pier and other trendy local restaurants. While our ghost did not make its presence, we called to him during the night nonetheless! Sat on the Florida style veranda for our happy hour cocktail before heading out to a nice casual dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Go upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Charles has not made an appearance in awhile however we are happy you still enjoyed yourself. We hope you come and stay with us again and continue making fond memories at The Pier Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    83
    29
    24
    20
See reviews for
24
128
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's been a few years since we happily had stayed at the Pier -- NEVER again. When we arrived the man on duty told us our reservation was for the day before - fortunately I had a printout of the confirmation with me.
The internet connection did not work well so we wound up going to a distant McDonalds with WiFi to do our work at 9pm. The hotel manager (owner?) couldn't get our PC to work either, but he blamed the problem on us and just walked away after giving us directions to a McD which turned out to be in a scary part of town .
The room has a mattress with a very mushy 2 - 3 " thick mattress topper, probably to save buying a decent new mattress in this old joint. The room has a very loud refrigerator but no on/off controls which could not be unplugged as well as a very loud a/c window unit. The shower is an improvised affair in an ancient tub with high sides which can be difficult to negotiate, but there are no handholds. One of us slipped.
At 7am, two men who turned out to be the cook and the person at the desk engaged in a loud conversation and laughter which resounded through the open hall and staircase to all the lower rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are a Historic hotel, the oldest in St. Petersburg, so there are a few quirks; some call it charm. We do have wall units and some of the rooms have refrigerators. We apologize for any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. In addition, the internet is out of our control we can only do so much to make it wok. We hope you give us another chance to make a better impression. If not thank you for your business and we wish you the best.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. Most everything was booked up, but this was available. Atmosphere like a B&B. Could not ask for better customer service; rare find in today's world. Room was clean and it was very quite/peaceful. Breakfast was very good. The Chef was helfpul and courteous. Two things I would change, the price of the room and parking. Parking is in a public parking area. I got the last available park that day. The room was smaller than I expected, but grew on me; the price should be a little less for the size of the room/bathroom. Good location if you want to see downtown venues, most places are within walking distance. Would definetely come back!

Room Tip: Book Early, only 33 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed yourself. If you chose to stay again let us know you are a repeat guest and make sure you call. We would love to help you make more memories here in St. Petersburg.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pier Hotel has a lot of history and potential, but for the money our stay was disappointing.

My wife and I are Tampa Bay locals and went to St. Pete for a weekend getaway... the Pier Hotel was the only hotel downtown with availability (except the $250/night Vinoy). Even at booking I thought $175 a night was kind of pricey, but i took it over the more expensive option. That was a bad decision... I probably would have gotten my money's worth at the Vinoy. I paid 6$ extra per day to park in a dirt lot and an $8 credit-card payment fee. The advertised continental breakfast was miniature bagels, make-your-own oatmeal, or tiny cheese danishes. Not a single fruit to be found. Also, there is no elevator and the small a/c unit in the room was overworked during the mid-80s afternoon in May... I couldn't imagine staying in the hotel in July or August.

Anyhow, none of this stuff really ruined our weekend, as we were out of the room except to nap or sleep, but I left feeling really disappointed in what I got for the money I spent. We won't be visiting again.

A few good things: The coffee was decent, the wifi was free and quick-enough and the cleaning staff were very helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are sorry you did not find The Pier Hotel to be a good value. Breakfast has been improved and there always is a hot breakfast for those who do not wish to partake of the continental breakfast. We do still have the wall a/c units as do most historic hotels. We hope you give us another chance to make a better memory of The Pier Hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Pier Hotel in downtown St Pete is, as other reviewers have stated, charming. It feels more like a B&B than a hotel. The wide front porch and front sitting area are very comfortable, and great places to enjoy complimentary happy hour in the evening, or a continental breakfast in the morning. The staff were very friendly, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and also very quiet(other than the wall air conditioner, which all of the older hotels have). We have also stayed at the Ponce and America's Best Inn and The Pier probably has the nicest rooms and common areas of the three. (America's Best has a better continental breakfast, however) Since we were seeing two plays at American Stage right across the street, the location was ideal for this visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Since you've last visited we have expanded our breakfast and we always offer hot breakfast for those who do not like our continental breakfast. We hope you come and stay again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great location in St. Petersburg....a very walkable city with tons of bars and restaurants...The Pier Hotel is 3 blocks from the water, one block to shopping mall, one block to tons of bars and restaurant... Jannus Live, an outdoor courtyard music venue is 1 1/2 blocks away.....3 blocks to Fine Arts museum and a bit further to the DALI Museum. The Pier Hotel is small, old....part of the historic charm of St. Petersburgs.. I would stay at the Pier Pier Hotel again.. The staff is friendly...the rooms are comfortable and CLEAN. Room had a window air conditioner..bed was comfortable with the memory foam topper on it, microwave and mini refrigerator. Coffee and continental breakfast( muffins, bread, cereal, danishes) was available in lobby. Also dinner is served in lobby/cafe area. $6.00 parking in lot next to Hotel. I have read the other reviews...have no idea what they were complaining about....it is not the Ritz! The Pier has a good room rate, CLEAN, with an antique B & B decor to it...and friendly staff and centrally located.. WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: the rooms are different.. some with double beds, king,etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to see you again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Pier Hotel in St Petersburg, FL is, in a word, charming. Sure it's old,the oldest in St Pete's, but if you understand that you will understand it's uniqueness. The rooms were clean, the staff was really great - nice and helpful and always available. The free Happy House was a nice touch - who doesn't like a glass of wine or a beer and enjoying it on the large porch before heading out for the night?! Breakfast was also pretty good for free, but for a bit extra ($4.99) the ever happy and friendly chef will whip you up a hot one of eggs and sausage or bacon. The short walk to the actual pier is lovely and a nice nights stroll past restaurants and shops. Give it try and enjoy some old school/historic St Petersburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at Pier Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to see you again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg
Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pier Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.