We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cordova Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cordova Inn to your Saves list
The Cordova Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Tavares, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

bought an overnight stay on group on, was pleasantly surprised. beauitiful decor, and in the heart of downtime St. Pete.
A in house chef will prepare a 5 course meal for you if you desire, or plenty of nice dining within walking disrance.

We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    97
    36
    30
    28
See reviews for
29
152
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Pier Hotel recently. We stayed one night in room 208 and moved to room 210 for the next. Both rooms were adequate although the bath in 208 was so tiny that it was hard to turn around in. The shower had a floor that sloped so much you had to be careful of your balance. The beds were less than firm but not the worst. The beauty of this hotel is the lobby and porch area. These common areas are very charming and well appointed. The location is very nice also within walking distance of so much we went to Downtown St. Pete to do and see.

Now be forwarned - this is a boutique hotel - the rooms are more like bedrooms in someone's home rather than hotel rooms. The lighting is terrible and the space to store anything in one of the rooms (208) was missing. You either sat on the bed or very uncomfortable dinning room chairs therefore we did not spend very much time in the rooms. As the hotel manager I would take a hard look from your guests' perspectives and upgrade the rooms a bit. I had to talk my friend into staying upon first impressions of the room.

The staff was friendly and engaging. The food during dinner smelled amazing although we had already made other plans. I wish we had arrived early enough to enjoy the extensive menu offered at the Pier. They do a cocktail hour which was very nice. (Note to staff: it is very unusual to serve chilled red wine)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night, for a get away for us. Jane, who we believe is there 24 7, is terrific. It is an old hotel, no elevator, nice size clean rooms. Great location if you are looking to enjoy more of the local favor of the area. Central street with good food and music just two blocks away. Beach street about 6 blocks with more upscale places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Fl.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel with a group on. The front desk service was great. We got the earlier than check in and was able to check in upon arrival. The room was very clean and it smelled clean. The included breakfast was very nice and the bed was comfortable. The only the I did not understand was that there was only one large towel for two people staying in the room, I am sure they would of given us more towels if we would of asked for more but we did not want to be a bother-they were so nice. We had a the dinner for two at the hotel and it also was very nice and a great price. The parking was great at $6.00 for the entire stay, we could go and come for the $6.00 paid. To top everything off, we went on a groupon getaway. I hope to find another groupon for this place-I am going to jump on it. We had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had business in St. Pete and our broker recommended the Pier Hotel. The location is excellent - within easy walking distance of lots of shopping, restaurants, and the water. Owner Bruce greeted us with a glass of wine. Chef Toby prepared breakfast and encouraged us to join him for the fixed-price dinner. We did and were not disappointed. It was delightful.

Meals were served inside in the dining room, or outside on the porch. Weather permitting, the porch was our choice. The hotel itself is indeed old, but has been freshly cleaned and painted.

I appreciated that the building had been preserved and not torn down, only to be replaced by a parking lot, shopping mall, or high-rise.

Great place for a one night get-away or longer or just for one of Chef Toby's great dinners.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor will save you a walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Purchased a 1 night stay from Groupon, called to make reservation for a Friday night in December 2012. They were all booked until the Friday of 12/14, confirmed a night stay for room with king bed. We traveled to St. Pete in the morning, walked "The Pier" (wanted to visit it before it gets torn down and redesigned). Had a nice long walk on the pier and a view from the obsevation deck - great scenes. We then decided on a place for lunch -then checked inton the hotel about 3:00pm. Wow what character, "Patty" checked us in and gave us our parking pass (good until sunset the following day). The hotel has wonderful wood floors, antique furniture and very nice lobby that was decorated for the Christmas Holiday. (mantel above the fireplace was a real eye catcher) We asked about happy hour and Patty informed us that with a groupon we get a free bottle of wine , so we enjoyed it on the porch. The chef came out and offered a sample of the soup being offered that night, very good. after reviewing the night's menu we had dinner there, very good, complete four course meal at a very reasonable price. Great evening, continental breakfast, great coffee. We look forward to staying here at another time with some of our friends, The Pier Hotel and St. Petersburgh have a lot to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent one night here and it was great. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is period hotel with updates. Wood floors, transoms over the doors, lovely lanai for relaxing, very nice lobby. If we hadn't already had dinner reservations elsewhere, we would have had dinner there. The chef was very friendly and the dinner menu very tempting. There is free continental breakfast and, for a small price, the chef will cook your meal to order. Great staff at the front desk. Located downtown and within easy walking distance to The Pier, museums, galleries, shops, restaurants and marinas. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to St. Pete.

Room Tip: Our room with a king bed was small but it had a refrigerator and microwave. The rooms with two doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cordova Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cordova Inn

Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cordova Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pier Hotel, located in historic downtown St Petersburg, welcomes you. We are a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown St Pete, and all of the fun, romance and excitement of St. Petersburg awaits, just footsteps away. When you stay at The Pier Hotel, you'll enjoy modern amenities merged with historic ambiance. As an award winning boutique hotel, we'll work hard to make your stay in downtown St. Petersburg FL a wonderful experience while you enjoy all the best that St Pete has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cordova Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cordova Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.