We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but goodie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 hotels in St. Petersburg
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night, for a get away for us. Jane, who we believe is there 24 7, is terrific. It is an old hotel, no elevator, nice size clean rooms. Great location if you are looking to enjoy more of the local favor of the area. Central street with good food and music just two blocks away. Beach street about 6 blocks with more upscale places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    87
    30
    27
    23
See reviews for
27
134
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Fl.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel with a group on. The front desk service was great. We got the earlier than check in and was able to check in upon arrival. The room was very clean and it smelled clean. The included breakfast was very nice and the bed was comfortable. The only the I did not understand was that there was only one large towel for two people staying in the room, I am sure they would of given us more towels if we would of asked for more but we did not want to be a bother-they were so nice. We had a the dinner for two at the hotel and it also was very nice and a great price. The parking was great at $6.00 for the entire stay, we could go and come for the $6.00 paid. To top everything off, we went on a groupon getaway. I hope to find another groupon for this place-I am going to jump on it. We had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had business in St. Pete and our broker recommended the Pier Hotel. The location is excellent - within easy walking distance of lots of shopping, restaurants, and the water. Owner Bruce greeted us with a glass of wine. Chef Toby prepared breakfast and encouraged us to join him for the fixed-price dinner. We did and were not disappointed. It was delightful.

Meals were served inside in the dining room, or outside on the porch. Weather permitting, the porch was our choice. The hotel itself is indeed old, but has been freshly cleaned and painted.

I appreciated that the building had been preserved and not torn down, only to be replaced by a parking lot, shopping mall, or high-rise.

Great place for a one night get-away or longer or just for one of Chef Toby's great dinners.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor will save you a walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Purchased a 1 night stay from Groupon, called to make reservation for a Friday night in December 2012. They were all booked until the Friday of 12/14, confirmed a night stay for room with king bed. We traveled to St. Pete in the morning, walked "The Pier" (wanted to visit it before it gets torn down and redesigned). Had a nice long walk on the pier and a view from the obsevation deck - great scenes. We then decided on a place for lunch -then checked inton the hotel about 3:00pm. Wow what character, "Patty" checked us in and gave us our parking pass (good until sunset the following day). The hotel has wonderful wood floors, antique furniture and very nice lobby that was decorated for the Christmas Holiday. (mantel above the fireplace was a real eye catcher) We asked about happy hour and Patty informed us that with a groupon we get a free bottle of wine , so we enjoyed it on the porch. The chef came out and offered a sample of the soup being offered that night, very good. after reviewing the night's menu we had dinner there, very good, complete four course meal at a very reasonable price. Great evening, continental breakfast, great coffee. We look forward to staying here at another time with some of our friends, The Pier Hotel and St. Petersburgh have a lot to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent one night here and it was great. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is period hotel with updates. Wood floors, transoms over the doors, lovely lanai for relaxing, very nice lobby. If we hadn't already had dinner reservations elsewhere, we would have had dinner there. The chef was very friendly and the dinner menu very tempting. There is free continental breakfast and, for a small price, the chef will cook your meal to order. Great staff at the front desk. Located downtown and within easy walking distance to The Pier, museums, galleries, shops, restaurants and marinas. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to St. Pete.

Room Tip: Our room with a king bed was small but it had a refrigerator and microwave. The rooms with two doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here around March / April 2012 for the indycar race and it proved to be a good choice.

The hotel has plenty of character and was a nice change from the usual chain hotels. The staff were always friendly and helpful and it's an easy distance to all the sights and main parts of the city. St Pete is a real gem of a place, one of my favourites in the US due to it being so relaxed, friendly and different from the usual busy city atmosphere of most places. It has a much more small town feel to it, and is all the better for that. A good base for any trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very friendly staff goes that does anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. Make sure and take advantage of the on site dining great food at reasonable prices. Rooms very clean. Close to pier, Sat. Farmers market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pier Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.