We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Pier Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is an old hotel with three floors no elevator and small bathrooms. It is a great hotel for sleeping at night when you are in the city and don't want to pay outrageous prices for other hotels downtown.

Mananger's cocktail hour, free continental breakfast, great front porch with wicker chairs to lounge in and a neat lobby with some ornate furnishings make up for no pool or modern type stuff of other hotels.
Manager is most accomodating and helpful with local information.

Would recommend this place and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    91
    30
    27
    24
See reviews for
28
137
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a weekend stay at this charming hotel. We knew going in it wasnt a 5 star hotel but it was the romantic getaway we were looking for. The staff makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive. This is an older hotel but clean and well kept. The older decor is part of the charm. Its more like a bed and breakfast feel..
Pro's -
Wonderful staff.
Great location. Walking distant's for everything.
Breakfast on the patio was nice.

Cons-
Depending on you room selection, some bathrooms are very small.If you've ever been on a cruise ship, that is what some are like. But very clean and fresh.
Some of the rooms (104) are very plain and wont be what your looking for if your expecting that old time charm.
No elevator. If you have trouble with stairs, request 1st or second floor.

This is a great spot for that romantic get away or special occasion and the staff will go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable. Just ask.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a very nice suite. Big enough for two couples or a family. Separate doors and bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Pier Hotel last weekend. We felt very welcome from the moment we walked through the front door. Jane is a wealth of information! She was very helpful with giving us directions and telling us what to see and do.

Carl does everything! He was the perfect host. We enjoyed chatting with him on the veranda. Which, by the way, is lovely.

Our room was very charming and well worth the trek up to the third floor.

I would definitely recommend The Pier Hotel to anyone looking for a touch of nostalgia and grace.

Goldie from Daytona

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sflmom111
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We unexpectedly needed to go to St. Pete and needed to stay downtown. The Pier Hotel was ideally located and had one of the last rooms available on such short notice. The photos looked ok, and we really didn't have much choice, so we booked it.
First, I will say that the front exterior of the hotel and the lobby are all very nice. The people who work there are very pleasant and accommodating. You get the feel of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel. In fact, they have a free continental breakfast in the morning (hot/cold cereal, asst. breads, coffee, tea, juice) and full breakfast for a reduced (very reasonable) rate, which was very good. They also have a complimentary happy hour with beer and wine every afternoon.
The downside, was the room. I wasn't expecting much, but for $117/night I was expecting something a little nicer. The room was small and the bathroom smaller. Literally the size of a telephone booth. If it were $75-$80/night, it would be more appropriately priced.
The other downside, was that the wireless internet never worked. No matter how many times or locations we tried to log in, it would never work. We tried the advice of the front desk people (go downstairs, turn off our device, turn it back on and then log in) and it still didn't work. I overheard other guests complaining about it to the front desk, so it apparently was not working for anyone.
But you can't beat the location. It is in the center of downtown, walking distance to the pier and plenty of shops and restaurants.
So while we probably will not stay here again, if the price is right, it might be ok for some people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This gem was recommended to me by a friend. I read the other reviews and they are just silly. So what if the bathroom is small - it's just a bathroom! The room was nicely decorated and the staff could not be more helpful. Travelers book historic hotels because they understand they are old buildings with history. There are newer, and more expensive places around the corner but I will definitely book this hotel again. The breakfast was lovely. The beer and wine reception was a good way to start the evening too, allowing guests to mingle and share tips on the area. For a small fee they offer a private parking lot to spare guests from having to sort out the meters or time-limited street parking. If you appreciate antiques and a cosmopolitan atmosphere, you won't be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: I was surprised that our room in the front of the building was as quiet as it was, but if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is the best thing I can say about it....within walking distance to all the restaurants, boutiques, nice parks and the Pier. The staff tries to be helpful. A very limited breakfast is available, and they do have a happy hour every afternoon with beer, wine and popcorn. The rooms themselves were nothing special and the bathroom absolutely teeny tiny. I was told that they served dinner upon request but when we asked we were told that the chef wasn't available either night we were there. The outside of the hotel needs a facelift. I don't think I would want to stay there again.

Room Tip: I really don't know anything about the other rooms in this hotel. Ours was on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We emailed ahead of time to make sure we could check in after our 12 am flight landed. Their assistant manager wrote us back saying "we'll keep a candle on for you. We're here 24/7." We get there at 12:30am and no one was there to let us in. We called and called, knocked and knocked but nobody. A competing nearby hotel even called their contact list to try for us with no luck. We had to book a room there for the night instead. I would never see recommend staying at this hotel if this is their idea of customer service. My pregnant wife and I had to stand outside their door at 12:30 am for a half hour trying everything we could to get in. Shame on you. Shame.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier Hotel

Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.