We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cordova Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cordova Inn to your Saves list
The Cordova Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great anniversary weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at The Pier Hotel. The first time was last December for the boat show. We only stayed one night and enjoyed the hotel and area enough to want to stay there for our 23rd anniversary. We checked in at 4:00 and found our room to be very nicely decorated and ready for us. We headed down for happy hour at 5:30 and ended up eating dinner! The chef made salmon and garlic risotto with asparagus for me and roasted chicken and couscous salad with fresh vegetables for my husband. We sat on the front porch and had our own private dinner with a few beers. Then we headed downtown after dark for some live jazz music and dancing in the nightclub at "The Garden". Saturday morning the chef made us breakfast of french toast, eggs, bacon, etc. It was really nice to not have to eat someplace else. Saturday afternoon we missed happy hour but the desk clerk was more than happy to let us purchase a couple of beers to sit on the front porch after a long day at the beach. We really loved our time at The Pier and especially love the close proximity to nightlife and things to do downtown. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Because this is a downtown area there really are no views, no pool, etc. My husband expalined why w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    94
    32
    28
    25
See reviews for
28
144
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel, kitted out in a quaint style. Service is extremely friendly. However, I was unable to sleep on the sheets which appeared to be made of a synthetic material that was not unlike nylon. The sheets were grey and shiny, and unpleasant to lie in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Amazing customer service!! The staff here really cares about the customers and will bend over backwards for you. I literally have never had a staff so attentive. Happy Hour beer and wine on the veranda was so much fun! This is an older B&B style place, so the bathrooms were small and the showers a little difficult to operate, however, the overall feel of the rooms was elegant and comfortable. The Continental Breakfast was what you would expect (not much to it) but the optional hot breakfast (for a fee) was pretty good! Having coffee on the front porch was an awesome way to start the day. We were here for a wedding and had some rowdy bachelor friends along and the staff was gracious enough to feed them freshly cooked hamburgers at 2am!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Once again we chose to stay at this inn. While not deluxe, we are very happy with the location, the comfort of the beds & the friendliness of the staff. The included continental breakfast is a little sparse & they were not quick on replenishing items. While the price is reasonable during off- season this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Jane, Gregg, Carl and the entire staff were so friendly and graciously able to accommodate any request we made with a smile. The Pier Hotel is in a great location, it is within walking distance to the pier, museums, shops and restaurants. For only .50 cents the trolley picks you up in front of the hotel and takes you to all the attractions in downtown St. Pete. Breakfast, lunch and dinner all for a fair price and Carl/Giovanny are always with a smile to cook your favorites. Rooms are beautifully decorated with a historical flare. If you are looking for the 3 B's in spanish "Bueno, Bonito y Barato" (Nice, Beautiful, Cheap) this is the hotel to stay, you won’t regret it. Thank you all for making our 5 night stay unforgettable. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room has its own decor quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Last minute one night check-in. $89 per night plus taxes in August 2012 during a week. Old (classy) building and equipment. Bathroom is really small, hard to move around. Comfortable bed. Family owned. Service was good. Good location to walk to downtown St. Pete and bay front. Did not want to pay $240 per night in other hotel by bay. Charged $6 for parking!?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I booked this hotel from reading the reviews when I pulled up to the hotel is was nothing to what people have said. You park in dirt..ok I can get past that. Lawn was no kept up at all. Check in and staff were excellent. Walking to our room was nice, different small, antique what I expected and looked forward to. Our room on the other hand, smelled like mold as soon as you opened the door, the bathroom was big enough to sit on the toliet and brush your teeth at the same time and the shower was so tiny and the toliet paper was NOT a fresh roll!!! While washing my hair it was being rinsed at the same time. The duvet cover had stains and went striaght into the closet (which had the worst water damage/mold smell to even take a fresh breath) The sheets had little stains of who knows what on them. The bed was extremely comfy. The room was so hot the ac unit could not keep up with it at all. I was expecting a refridgerator bc the room I booked and that was no where to be found. I would not go back or recommend. The location is great and that i about it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cordova Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cordova Inn

Address: 253 2nd Ave N., St. Petersburg, FL 33701 (Formerly Pier Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cordova Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordova Inn, located in historic downtown St Petersburg, welcomes you. We are a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown St Pete, and all of the fun, romance and excitement of St. Petersburg awaits, just footsteps away. When you stay at The Cordova Inn, you'll enjoy modern amenities merged with historic ambiance. As an award winning boutique hotel, we'll work hard to make your stay in downtown St. Petersburg FL a wonderful experience while you enjoy all the best that St Pete has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Cordova Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cordova Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.