We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hangar Restaurant & Flight Lounge

The Hangar Restaurant & Flight Lounge
540 1st St SE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
+1 727-823-7767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Ice Cream in St. Petersburg
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at the St. Petersburg Albert Whitted Airport, overlooking the runway to Tampa Bay waterfront.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Hanger is a great place for a drink and/or a casual lunch or dinner. One can watch the small planes and helicopters take off and land on the airfield. During the week, in the evening, they have live music. At peak times can be crowded. Must try the chicken and waffles!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    108
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food and flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hangar is located on a small general aviation airport. It serves very good food while looking over planes taking off and landing. You can take a helicopter ride. Enjoy music on some nights while enjoying a VG hamburger, good chicken and waffles and excellent meatloaf. The prices are reasonable. Also has an excellent bar. On my visit they had a brisket special that delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Hangar at Albert Whitted Airport is a great spot to eat. Watch planes come and go and helicopters take off with tourists to this great city. Food and service is fantastic. We have eaten here twice and both times enjoyed every minute of it. Great place to sign up for a helicopter or bi-plane tour after or before lunch. Nice bar area too if you just want to grab a cocktail, glass of wine or beer and an appetizer. Unique experience. Our neighbors frequent the Hangar for breakfast. Our choice has been lunch but we will definitely work in a dinner or two.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A great view in an unusual setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visited this restaurant in a small airport hanger.It is very near the Dali gallery so very convenient to tie in the 2 together.The restaurant is upstairs and is spacious and not like a normal airport.Unfortunately the day we went the weather was awful so the view was limited but would normally have lots to look at overlooking the airport. The food was a good standard. For an unusual setting I would recommend this and no you don't need to be flying anywhere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Soaring....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Quaint little airport restaurant and lounge. We went for breakfast and it was perfect to be able to sit outside and watch the small private planes get ready for take off and take flight. Service was excellent - personable and professional. Food was great - piper omelet which consisted of tomatoes,avocado and goat cheese. Little higher priced omelette-$9. But the atmosphere and just the quaintness of this place made it well worth it. I definitely will return and for y'all who haven't been - go check it out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hangar Restaurant & Flight Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Hangar Restaurant & Flight Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hangar Restaurant & Flight Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.