We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leverock's Seafood House

Leverock's Seafood House
840 Pasadena Avenue South, St. Petersburg, FL 33707-2034
(727) 367-4588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 739 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: This is a relatively new restaurant in the South Pasadena area. In earlier years Leverocks was one of the best seafood restaurants in west central Florida. However, the company went into bankruptcy and the new management have done a poor job. Ate at this restaurant with friends in February 2012. It was terrible!!! Fish was overcooked and greasy. Warn people to stay away from this restaurant. It's expensive and a waste of money.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful value and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is the last of the greats for value. The food is good and the early bird special is great! There is an older crowd between 4:00 and 5:30 because they know a great value. Where else can you get a cocktail for 1.95. We go there at least once a week and e have never been disappointed in the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    49
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hostess was rude!!! All we needed was a seat at the bar. She wanted us to ask the patrons how long they would be. Really? I'm in the business and that young girl should know what's happening around her. The hostess makes the first impression. That impression left us knowing we won't return. We would have had our apps and dinner at the bar. No return....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“"Fast Food Seafood" at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Leverocks was recommended to our party of 6 by a "local". My guess is, she either knows the owner or has never had good seafood. This was, in our opinion, the equivalent of a Red Lobster. While the service was fine and the atmosphere okay, the food was really poor quality. The highlight was probably the Lobster Bisque Soup, which was actually very good. The 6 entree's we had ranged from okay to poor. I had the Maine Platter and while that Crab Cake was good, the shrimp and scallops were rubbery and tasteless. The biggest disappointment was that another of us also had a "Crab cake" as part of his platter. His crab cake was of the "take out of the freezer and drop into the fryer variety". When we questioned our server as to why he and I had completely different crab cakes, he replied that the Maine cake is actual lump crab while the other is actually fake crab made from flavored whitefish (ie "crabsticks"). Why you would ever put this on a menu at a seafood restaurant and try to pass it off as crab is completely mind boggling to me. No where on the menu does it specify that the "crab cakes" are fake crab. Another one of us had over breaded shrimp (again, probably the frozen variety). The best of the bunch was probably the "Butter Fish". Drinks were done poorly. Waiter spilled one water all over the table and had to be asked to replace it (wouldn't you just bring a new water automatically?) The only way I would ever return would be for a bowl of the Lobster Bisque. Skip the rest of the menu.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Basically a Red Lobster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

There were six of us that came for dinner from a recommendation from a server at another restaurant. Some things were good, others okay. My daughter thought the Hawaiian butter fish was amazing. My husband had the bacon wrapped scallops and crap stuffed shrimp, he also thought his meal was very good. My sister had the Maryland crap cake and again thought it was very good. My nephew had the crap cakes (not the Maryland) with something else (sorry, can't remember) and his crab cake was made with fake crab! This is a sea food restaurant and they are serving fake crab in their crab cakes! He said they were pretty awful. I had the fisherman combo which is shrimp, scallops and Mahi Mahi ( in place of the grouper which they apparently couldn't get due to some regulation). Anyway they were pretty much covered in bread crumbs, not at all impressed. Our lobster bisque was good and my brother-in-laws steak was good as well.
Not impressed with Leverocks and won't be recommending it as there are far better eating establishments in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nothing to write home about. The atmosphere is a little strange with TV's on the outside walls of the large dining room. We thought this was going to be more upscale. Would give it another chance and try again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leverock's Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Leverock's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leverock's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.