We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leverock's Seafood House

Leverock's Seafood House
840 Pasadena Avenue South, St. Petersburg, FL 33707-2034
(727) 367-4588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 722 restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: This is a relatively new restaurant in the South Pasadena area. In earlier years Leverocks was one of the best seafood restaurants in west central Florida. However, the company went into bankruptcy and the new management have done a poor job. Ate at this restaurant with friends in February 2012. It was terrible!!! Fish was overcooked and greasy. Warn people to stay away from this restaurant. It's expensive and a waste of money.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My family and I regularly visit the restaurant and I will say that we greatly enjoy the blackened Grouper; however, our favorites of this restaurant are a salad, an appetizer and a dessert.

They no longer have on the menu their tomato salad--it's definitely worth asking for. It's quite simple, but very tasty. It's sliced tomatoes, onion slices, capers with a Italian type of dressing.

Their onion ring loaf is also noteworthy, just don't plan on it being a low cal meal if you add this to your dinner.

Last, but certainly not least, is their peanut butter pie--it's worth going to Leverock's for this alone!

You should be able to call ahead and during dinner hours, especially on Fridays and Saturdays it could be very busy. Also, if you go early enough the have nice early bird specials as a lot of the restaurants in St. Pete do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    60
    36
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I found out why this is my cousin's favorite family restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My cousin treated me to a delicious birthday lunch here, and I enjoyed every caloric morsel of it. In return, she discovered that, as if often the case, it's more economical to eat lunch here than dinner. The decor, the service, and the food were all very enjoyable, and I look forward to eating here again. I had the "special of the day" with a wedge salad and cup of lobster bisque for $10.49. After lunch the server put down a slice of decadent chocolate cake with whipped cream and a lighted candle on top. My cousin and I are both chocaholics, so it was the perfect way to top off the meal. The coffee was also excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Leverock's Seafood House is always one of our favorites when we visit St. Pete. We were pleasantly surprised to be seated immediately and were able to order off the early bird menu. The early bird menu provides significant savings, and the portions are pretty generous -- we didn't have room for dessert. The fried shrimp is consistently good, and the non-seafood eaters in our group were well pleased with the chicken and beef dishes offered. The early bird dinner includes warm bread with olive oil, choice of salad and side (or two sides instead of salad). The service was very good. We highly recommend giving Leverock's a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Normally the Food and Service are Excellent, Not this time!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Leverock's Seafood House
840 Pasadena Avenue South, South Pasadena, FL 33707

Monday, October 14, 2013, Special Occasion- 52nd Wedding Anniversary!

For this special occasion we were going to go to the Good Times restaurant on Terre Verde for their always wonderful Wiener Schnitzel, but we found them now closed on Mondays. So we went to the always reliable Leverock's Seafood House on Pasadena Avenue in South Pasadena, we have eaten at Leverock's and enjoyed there seafood dinners for many years; BUT NOT THIS TIME.

We arrived about 7:15pm; the restaurant was fairly busy, we were seated promptly. This was a special day and we were very happy. We told the friendly, tall, pretty waitress Jessica that we were celebrating our 52nd wedding anniversary. She took our order, the Mixed grill, consisting of Grouper, Shrimp, and Scallops with a baked potato with butter and sour cream $18.99 pp. The garden salad with Blue Cheese dressing and the warm rolls were excellent; But that is were the normal great quality ended. The grouper was dry way over cooked, so was the grilled shrimp, and the scallops. The waitress never returned to the table to ask how the food was, or to refill the water glasses, etc. until she stopped by to ask if we would like desert.

Normally, you can count on Leverock's for a great meal and good service, but not this time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent a lovely and relaxing week at St.Pete Beach in October 2013. Ate at Leverock's twice while there. Truly great food, service and atmosphere. Stuffed mushroom appetizers were so good as well as the Gulf Shrimp, lobster bisque and key lime pie. Be sure to try the clam chowder also. We never felt rushed and the service un-matched.
My only dislike are the TV's everywhere......I think they're un-necessary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leverock's Seafood House also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Leverock's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leverock's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.