We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cassis American Brasserie

Cassis American Brasserie
170 Beach Drive, St. Petersburg, FL 33762
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cassis American Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 745 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd avenue north and beach drive
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Enjoyed their boullabaise. Service was good; a little pricey, but good food. Felt that this was better than some of the other places on Beach Drive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    139
    57
    34
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food well worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My family an I just happened into this restaurant while staying in a near by hotel. We enjoyed this restaurant so much we came here several times during our visit to St. Pete, forgoing trying something new. We insisted on bringing some of the family we were visiting that live in the area. We treated the party of ten since we got the impression they thought it was a bit pricey - being from NYC my husband and I thought the prices were reasonable and actually a good value considering the high quality of the food. I will make a point of eating here again when back visiting the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had two good dinners here. The first was very light as we were not very hungry. The waiter did not seem to mind and understood. The second time we had everything from appetizer to dessert and wine and it was all good. The service was very good each night and we loved sitting outside and watching the world go by in St. Petersburg. If you don't get to the restaurant at least try the attached bakery, everything looks wonderful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
621 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“A great midmorning brunch snack.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good food and service at a French style brasserie. Outdoor seating on a warm and beautiful day in January tops it off. The hummus platter with warm pia was tasty as were the onion rings and soup. Lovely place and good people watching. Some of the menu selections are a little pricy, but menu has lots of options.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting, Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

THe outdoor seating is along Beach Drive and affords you good people watching. THere is a very cool sculpture that creates an orange and purple light show on the ground.
THe smoked salmon BLT sandwich is quite yummy as are the french fries.THey also have some nice salads, which come in full and half sizes. i am partial to the one with smoked duck breast.
I have not had any of the main courses since they are pricier than the sandwiches, salads and appetizers. But I have found either a salad or an appetizer to be quite filling. Service is pleasant.
They have some fancy cocktails that I have not yet tried, but they sound very refreshing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassis American Brasserie also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Cassis American Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassis American Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.