We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and consistent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mesa Cantina

Red Mesa Cantina
128 3rd St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4224
+1 727-896-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 829 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Peruvian, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Avenue South
Transit: Free Public Transportation for Tropicana Field sporting events, i.e., Rays games, one block away. A municipal PTSA bus stop is across the street at Publix. Taxi’s all know Cantina.
Description: With Mexican cuisine at its heart, Red Mesa Cantina blends Latin and Caribbean kitchen traditions to create a menu of exquisite ceviches, tacos, and small plate classics that deliver bold, fresh flavors. An award winning, word-of-mouth favorite among locals and visitors alike with the most extensive selection of Tequilas in the South!
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Delicious and consistent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Red Mesa Cantina is a fantastic restaurant. Every single visit is delicious, while there are sometimes small changes to the menu, the "old favorites" are always there and always great. The tacos are unique and flavorful and the El Gordo burrito is amazing. Their Brunch menu is also phenomenal. Courtyard seating is delightful, even on a hot Florida day it seems pleasant to sit outside!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stopped in for a Mother's Day breakfast. We were seated immediately. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. I ordered steel cut oats($6), my person ordered eggs Benedict($10) and we split a side of sweet potato pancakes. ($6.5). We are so full!!!

As always the atmosphere both inside and out is hip, comfortable and inviting.

Would highly recommend for breakfast or lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank itripoverthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

service was quick but our watress seemed very bored with her job. she didnt know the menu very welll and brought out what seemed to be taco bell type crap...way over priced for the food we got, beer was warm,,,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tuna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and service, terrific atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our group of about 20 fathers & teenage boys dined here on a Saturday before a game at nearby Al Lang Stadium. They got us seated inside quickly, got us fed and out the door on time - not an easy task. Kind of an unusual menu for a Mexican restaurant; more pulled pork and shredded beef than chicken or ground beef. My pulled pork enchiladas were excellent and all of my fellow diners were happy as well. Great outdoor bar and seating area -- would love to come back without the kids sometime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wbru83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Higher Level for Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our large party was quickly seated and greeted by a friendly server. The menu offered a large variety of options. We were a group of nine and each of us was very pleased with what we offered. The prices were more than fair for the generous portions.I can recommend the yucca fries and interesting ketchup which accompanied my delicious mahi mahi sandwich. None of us ordered a drink other than water but the menu listed a variety of margaritas and sangria that looked worth a trip back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tweedybird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Red Mesa Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing