We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mesa Cantina

Red Mesa Cantina
128 3rd St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4224
+1 727-896-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 725 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Avenue South
Transit: Free Public Transportation for Tropicana Field sporting events, i.e., Rays games, one block away. A municipal PTSA bus stop is across the street at Publix. Taxi’s all know Cantina.
Description: With Mexican cuisine at its heart, Red Mesa Cantina blends Latin and Caribbean kitchen traditions to create a menu of exquisite ceviches, tacos, and small plate classics that deliver bold, fresh flavors. An award winning, word-of-mouth favorite among locals and visitors alike with the most extensive selection of Tequilas in the South!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just stopped in for a Mother's Day breakfast. We were seated immediately. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable. I ordered steel cut oats($6), my person ordered eggs Benedict($10) and we split a side of sweet potato pancakes. ($6.5). We are so full!!!

As always the atmosphere both inside and out is hip, comfortable and inviting.

Would highly recommend for breakfast or lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    137
    88
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

service was quick but our watress seemed very bored with her job. she didnt know the menu very welll and brought out what seemed to be taco bell type crap...way over priced for the food we got, beer was warm,,,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food and service, terrific atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our group of about 20 fathers & teenage boys dined here on a Saturday before a game at nearby Al Lang Stadium. They got us seated inside quickly, got us fed and out the door on time - not an easy task. Kind of an unusual menu for a Mexican restaurant; more pulled pork and shredded beef than chicken or ground beef. My pulled pork enchiladas were excellent and all of my fellow diners were happy as well. Great outdoor bar and seating area -- would love to come back without the kids sometime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Higher Level for Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our large party was quickly seated and greeted by a friendly server. The menu offered a large variety of options. We were a group of nine and each of us was very pleased with what we offered. The prices were more than fair for the generous portions.I can recommend the yucca fries and interesting ketchup which accompanied my delicious mahi mahi sandwich. None of us ordered a drink other than water but the menu listed a variety of margaritas and sangria that looked worth a trip back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Duck Tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Love this restaurant. It's has a great, fun ambiance. The food is really, really good. But the duck tacos are the best! Great drinks too. Great for couples or a group of friends.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa Cantina also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Red Mesa Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mesa Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.