We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, natural campground.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort de Soto Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort de Soto Park Campground
Save
You added Fort de Soto Park Campground to your Saves list
3500 Pinellas Bayway, St. Petersburg, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Lunenburg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful, natural campground.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Sites are a nice size. Two-week max makes it feel like you're actually among fellow campers...not a prefab deck or outdoor beer fridge in sight. We return each year. Great dog-friendly section and easy drive to an amazing dog-friendly beach. Clean washrooms and laundry facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
44
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Beautiful 7 miles of white sand, gentle surf on the Fort DeSoto Beach. No fish smell like S.Padre or murky water of Galveston. I recently visited De Soto Beach in November. Water was invigorating for me as I am hot-skinned, others may find it chilly. Standing knee-deep I could see white sand-dollars on the white sea floor. Beach sand was soft, appeared clean. Kiddos will enjoy a bit of shelling. Plenty of parking, washing cabanas, playgrounds. The cost is gas for the drive, $1.50 tolls, $5.00 per car (note: if you visit after 4 p.m. as no one tending the booth the day we visited). Great resource was DrBeach.org for details on Florida's beaches.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent a few hours there one day and found the park delightful. Perhaps because of the time of year we were there we experienced no bug problems as mentioned by other reviewers. Maybe the bugs are worse after dark and/or while camping. There are many things to see and do here. The old fort, the wildlife, the beaches, the camping, the picnic areas, the play ground, and the fishing pier, to name a few. Although it was a fully operational army fort at one time what remains are a few concrete buildings, some mortars and guns. The weapons are interesting but be sure to climb the steps to the top where you get a great view. The beaches are clean and the water is clear. We wished we had brought our swim suits. From the fishing pier we observed many dolphins and pelicans. We also enjoyed watching those fishing haul in their catch. It's a great place to bring the family and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter springs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best campground I have ever been too. Try to get site on water. Nice breezes in fall and spring. Wooded sites. Washrooms have showers with hot water. Community room if it rains or if you just want to relax and read. Washrooms have washers and dryers.

Room Tip: Try during the week for waterfront site
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We always make sure spend a day at Fort de Soto park when we stay at St Pete Beach - get there early and the shelling is fantastic. You can pack a lunch and make use of the many picnic tables - there are also grills to use. Family members has camped here and loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

As an enjoyable camping trip, we reserved a couple of campsites for the weekend. At the time of check in the park ranger was very polite and worked with us to change campsites to accommodate our additional campers. Around 10:00pm a very polite and fun park ranger came by to say hello and tell a very interesting campfire story...to all 12 of us gathered around the campfire. Approximately 20 minutes later a very unpleasant female park ranger made a stop by to threaten the group with being evicted for having more than 6 people on the campsite. After much heated discussion and explaining to the unpleasant female park ranger that we had spoken with two previous park rangers and they were aware of our accommodations and had nothing more to say other than "have a good night". Several of the campers had to have a continued conversation with said park ranger because she proceeded to "stake" the campsite out until all additional campers had dispersed to their said campsites. Turns out most of the frustration for the unpleasant female park ranger was due to paperwork which had not been updated to reflect the change in campsites and the additiional people. This particular group of people camp A LOT and will definitely be spending our camp nights elsewhere, considering we were all seperated at 10:20 on a friday night. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

At only $5 for all day access this is terrific value for money.
We stopped off at North Beach which is a superb area. Very clean, plenty of shade under the trees, calm warm waters and the additional safety of a lifeguards being on duty. Plenty of space to picnic and BBQ and an abundance of wildlife to spot too (racoons, sea birds, birds of prey etc).
We would have loved to have taken a kayak out on the waters but a storm was heading our way so we had to abandoned that plan, sadly.

I have to mention, if you want a stunning uninterrupted view of the Sky Walk Bridge then turn left when you enter the park and drive until you can go no further. The view is well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fort de Soto Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort de Soto Park Campground

Address: 3500 Pinellas Bayway, St. Petersburg, FL
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Fort De Soto Park Campground Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort de Soto Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.