We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just..wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dali Museum

The Dali Museum
One Dali Blvd, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
1-727-823-3767
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An important collection of surrealist works.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just..wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really hoped this museum would be good, but it way surpassed that for me. We arrived early so there were comparatively few people around, and took advantage of a coupon for reduced entry costs. The building the museum is housed in alone has the wow factor, but the art was something else. We went on the free guided tour (recommended) to get the best from the gallery, I learned so much more than I would have done otherwise although there is an audio tour available if required.

We visited with our 11 year old son - with the museum's puzzle sheet, and the fascination of spotting the hidden elements in the paintings he was kept as fascinated as we were. Not sure younger children would have quite the same experience.

The gift shop is one of the best of its kind I have seen. The café does good food but is not cheap. The outside part of the museum has less impact (apart from whatever it was that bit my ankle) but the package as a whole is superb. Having gone out of our way to visit, we were well rewarded.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,217
    568
    144
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Melted Clocks?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you're a Dali fan, you'll like this. Otherwise, not sure you'll find it worthwhile. It's pricey ($19-$21) per person plus $5 parking fee. There are only about 100 art works and some are from his school days. The gift shop is free and almost as large as the exhibit hall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice collection of art, Great building in beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Took my brother and wife here during a recent visit in my hometown. I just had to show off. (if only we could get the pier built) They were so impressed,from the grounds to the architecture and of course the art work by this modern genius. If you visit ,take the tour, very informative. Fee to enter, parking is free. Bonus..Go Thursday after 5pm and entry is 50% off.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surreal Gets Real in St. Pete: Sheer Brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Dali Museum is arguably the crown jewel of St. Petersburg and for good reason. First, our thanks to the collectors/donors who made this museum possible. From the guided tours to the gift shop and from the museum's architecture to the art itself, the museum celebrates the brilliance and the life work of one of the 20th Century's most famous eccentric artists and PR genius. Dali was the art world's Lady Gaga, outlandish and talented, bigger than life and a satirist, always reinventing and always daring. One enters the museum through the superb gift shop and Dali-inspired car. After buying tickets, one climbs the spiral staircase to the exhibit floor. We strongly recommend the guided tour or the audio tour, simply because Dali operated at so many levels of subtlety, meaning, and nuance that just 'looking at a painting' is a little like saying chess is just moving little pieces around a checkerboard. Every work of art is so cleverly constructed and executed that we lapped up each work like thirsty puppies given fresh water. Also, Dali painted in so many different styles that simple labels do not do him justice.

Who will enjoy this museum? Anyone interested in thinking, art, science, technology, politics, business, history, humor and love (his wife/muse/partner Gala is as interesting as Dali). Who will not enjoy this museum? Literalists.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dalí in Florida?! Go figure! MUSTgo...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Rainy day at the beach for sun worshipers... so we turned to Tripadvisor and found that the #1 attraction in the area was TDM. So north we headed (60 miles) and it was worth it!
It's a small museum in a new, super awesome building, part of a larger art complex and next to a a marina. The collection is really, seriously, really interesting and vast. You won't find his most famous pieces of art here, but this intriguing collection starts with paintings from his days as a kid in art school across his lifespan until later works when he was well in his 70's and sick. You'll need a couple of hours to walk through only two large galleries because there's so much in them. Also, take at least part of one of the 45 min tours (each one is different), you'll learn a few secrets...
The gardens are a nice extension of the museum.
Even if it's sunny out and you were planning a beach day, this collection is worth that half day away from the Florida sun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dali Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Dali Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dali Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.