We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its #1 ranking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paciugo

Paciugo
300 Beach Drive, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
727-209-0298
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Deserves its #1 ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It's the best gelato we've had. It it expensive, but understandably so give the premium location. The have lots of outdoor seating and it's directly across the street from the park and bayfront.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    30
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“After-Dinner Stroll In Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I first noticed Paciugo when they used to have a stall at the Saturday Morning Market, where they sold mainly coffee, and about 6 flavors of gelato. I never tried the ice cream, but their coffee was always superb. When they stopped coming to the Market, I started bringing my own coffee.

Recently, I have strolled into their shop on Beach Drive a few times for gelato. Although a bit on the pricey side, you do get your money's worth. There are MANY flavors, and you can ask for a taste, and then squeezed 2-3 flavors into even their smallest portion cup. They usually fill the container to overflowing, so you need to eat fast at first to prevent dripping, especially if you step back outside. There are a few tables and free wi-fi both inside and outside.

My memories of gelato mainly center around after-dinner strolls in Florence Italy, in the backpacking late 1970's. Residents and tourists alike would line up at ice-cream shops, and the basic nocciola (hazelnut) flavor was absolutely sublime. Freshly made, with no chemicals, guar gum, and other hideous texturants. I don't know if the Florentine gelato is still as good, but the memory remains 35+ years later.

Paciugo's product comes as close as I have tasted to the real Italian experience. The flavors are strong and identifiable, with no off notes. The consistency is lovely, mouthfeel sublime, and sugar content off the charts. It's an absolutely wonderful treat if you have any affinity for genuine ice cream as it used to be, and should be. Squisito!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Desert, But #1?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is one of those things I do not understand about Tripadvisor. Yes the Gelato is fantastic, albeit a bit pricey, with numerous choices but the #1 ranking for restaurants in Saint Petersburg? There should be a sub category for places like this.

They do have at least one Gelato for those that are diabetic which was nice. We sat at the tables on the side walk and watched the world go by for a while.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip advisor ratings didn't dissapoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went off the advice of Trip Advisor and the reviews. My Virgin gelato experience at Paciugo was excellent! Tried a small strawberry, mixed berry, and raspberry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Incredible Gelato!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This gelato is delicious. Thank goodness I don't live closer or my diet would be ruined! I've been here many times and the quality is consistent. My only complaint is that even the small is very large (fits 3 different flavors) and, as a result I eat too much!! My favorite flavors are: Bacio (chocolate hazelnut) and panna cotta. My daughter's favorites are: Amarena (cherry & vanilla) and Tres Vanille (vanilla).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paciugo also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Paciugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paciugo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.