We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Small for Me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Crystal River, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too Small for Me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay in St. Petersburg, FL about three times a year. This was my second stay at a boutique hotel there. The first was the Ponce Deleon located closer to the waterfront area above a restaurant. At that hotel the rooms were too small and I didn't care for the 2:00am fights outside the restaurant. I tried the Hotel Indigo, hoping the rooms were bigger and the location a little more quiet. I was also attracted to the pool and restaurant in the hotel. However, in the Hotel Indigo the rooms were even smaller than at the Ponce Deleon and the bathrooms were the size of postage stamps. I decided that if you stay at boutique hotels you're paying extra for the bright color scheme but don't expect a better experience unless you don't mind being cramped.

Room Tip: They say the suites are bigger but they are much more expensive. Two double beds will get you a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Ralph S,

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay here at our hotel. We are sorry it did not live up to your expectations. Hotel Indigo as a brand is about exploring the neighborhood, bringing that into the hotel. Our hotel was built in 1924 with all of the original sizes and quaintness of the early 1900's hotels. We are very excited our historic hotel is a big piece of the neighborhood story. We pride our boutique hotel with excellent guest service and attention to details and hope you felt that as well. We hope you will consider us again but again, we appreciate all of your feedback and wish you the best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    97
    50
    35
    34
See reviews for
65
97
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Sat. night, reserved a suite for 236.00. I thought it was in walking distance to Tropicana Stadium, wrong. It was however three blocks from the free trolly which runs directly to the stadium which is a lot longer than walking distance. About 10 minutes by trolly.The suite was very old and looked to be remolded several times. The air conditioner in the room was at top of the wall next to the ceiling. It was very small and would only run on high for about 5 minutes and than drop to low. By no means could the air get to the bed which was on the other end of the room. I realized this around 11:00 PM and I immediately called the front desk to inform them of the problem. I was told no maintenance people where on duty at that time. It was a miserable night. I will say the bed was very nice and the sheets were great. The bath was very small with a small sink and shower. To give you an example the suite was about one half the size of a Embassy Suite.It was more like a large room. It did have a small ref. and microwave and It would have been suitable if the air worked. Upon finding my express checkout bill the next morning I could not get to the front desk fast enough. Another thing,the elevator stops with a heavy thunk, kinda like a airplane coming in for a rough landing. At the front desk Nathan was very nice when I explained the A.C. problem to him. He had already spoke to Mike, the night front desk person. His first offer was I can give you some reward points and my response was," I don't think so "I told him I wanted compensation and when we were done negotiating I was very pleased with the final bill. All in all the hotel is small but friendly and if I were desperate I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience of your recent stay with us. I do apologize it did not live up to your expectations. I do appreciate your positive remarks regarding our staff as they work very diligently to provide the utmost best customer service. I am concerned regarding some of your comments as it seems you were overall satisfied with the end result.

Best wishes to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

a little on the old side, but the charm and "vibe" of this place is really cool... probably the nicest staff i've ever run into in a hotel. quiet little pool area, and the room amenities are really cool for a hotel in this price range. Aveda products, and a smith and hawken bench for example. really liked staying here.... didnt see a kid in sight, which was a relief after the orlando experience... ha.

Room Tip: probably would opt for a larger style room at this location..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear James W,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at Hotel Indigo. We take pride in excellent guest service and are so happy you decided to share your positive experience with other travelers. We appreciate your notice to our amentities which help make us unique as well as highlight the Hotel Indigo brand. Thank you again and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had booked three days at this hotel, and left after one nearly sleepless night. The hotel has a mold smell throughout. I overheard several other guests make the same observation. When we checked in we noticed the smell in the room we were assigned, and decided to ask for another room. The receptionist was so kind to let us go into two additional rooms, and we chose the least bad. I guess that was the one where the smell was masked the best. My complaint is only with the condition of the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We are sorry you feel your experience with us was less than satisfactory. Thank you for your feedback. I can assure you we have checked all areas you questioned and we have found no mold. We apologize you are especially sensitive in general and you had problems during your stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our staff and guest service as we try to surpass your expectations. We hope you will consider our brand in the future.

Thanks again,

Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca raton
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My daughter stayed in this hotel in Chicago and liked it so we booked it for her gradation. The hotel looks kind of cute on the surface but once you get into the rooms it's all downhill. We booked a king bed suite hoping to have our grown son share the room with us. What a joke. There was not enough room for the bed to even open. But the worst thing was the sour smell which just got to us more and more. We slept in the room the first night and then the next day couldn't even stand being in the room at all. We changed rooms and this one had stains on quilt,dirty chair,and a soft and lumpy bed. Then our son stepped in poop right outside the back door ruining a good pair of shoes. Staff was nice and friendly but couldn't make up for a really crappy hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel if you want comfort and cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Lynn L,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize you were not pleased with your stay. We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping team and assure you we take pride in our cleanliness and score. We also handled your concerns on-site through the Asst. GM and again apologize you were not pleased with the resolution.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Selkirk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here several times over the last few years, we keep coming back because we love it here! Sure, if your being critical, the bathrooms are a little small or there's some notice transfer from the hall to the rooms, but this only adds to the charm of this hotel. The guest service is great, the location is perfect, love the rooms, the pool and the spa area is by far our favourite of all the hotels we stay at throughout the year. We'll keep coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments during your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with others. We look forward to your visit again in the future.

Thank you again,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Everything about the Indigo hotel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was close to all the museums and waterfront restaurants, the beds and pillows were divine, and we loved the swimming pool and hot tub. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. There was construction going on across the street, but it wasn't noisy inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your comments and kind words. Our dedicated staff work tremendously hard and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Thank you again,

Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Address: 234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.