We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
San Anselmo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Everything about the Indigo hotel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was close to all the museums and waterfront restaurants, the beds and pillows were divine, and we loved the swimming pool and hot tub. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. There was construction going on across the street, but it wasn't noisy inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your comments and kind words. Our dedicated staff work tremendously hard and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Thank you again,

Guest Relations Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    94
    48
    35
    34
See reviews for
61
95
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Hotel Indigo this past weekend. It is such a lovely, charming hotel that creates such a calming experience from the minute you walk through the doors. Not only do they seem to create a tranquil ambiance, their attention to the little details makes such a big difference during your stay. The staff is fantastic and the rooms are so serene. You can honestly tell that a lot of thought and effort went into the details of this hotel. I can't wait to go back and stay again. Check out my entire review with pictures at http://makingitallwork.com/travelreviews/the-great-staycation-parents-escape-hotel-indigo/

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are so pleased you decided to review our hotel and look forward to many readers enjoying your wonderful pictures of our historic hotel. It was a pleasure serving you and on behalf of all of our staff, we look forward to the next time.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Do not trust on the hotel pictures, the photographer is an excellent professional, the pool is 2 times smaller and you don’t see the others part of the room like the bathroom were you can seat at de toilet and brush you tees at the same time, smaller than a closet!!! Do not prepay for breakfast, is not a buffet, and 12 dollars for a coffee and a croissant with eggs is more than the price list at the hotel, the location is good, close to everywhere, you can walk to the restaurants and museums, and the area is very nice.
Next time I will look for a different hotel in St Pete

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Ernesto,

Thank you for your review comments. We are very disappointed that you were not impressed with our accommodations. We strive to make our historic boutique hotel comfortable and reasonable in comparison to our competition. Our pool with hot tub is standard size for our 76 room hotel and we apologize it did not meet your needs. Some of our packages include a breakfast in our restaurant which is more economical than ordering off the menu to give our guests the best value. Again, we apologize it did not live up to your expectations and we hope you may change your mind in the future.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We get down to this area about once a year. We always stay here at the Indigo. We love it here. I refuse to stay anywhere else.! the location..You can walk to all the area attractions and restaurants. Grocery and convenience stores are all just a short walk.. It feels really comfortable. The staff is soo nice and accomidating. From the girls cleaning the rooms to the managers on duty. In our short stay we saw and got to know alot of the staff. Just a very warm feeling. We love having our coffee on the veranda. Taking a dip in the swimming pool. Plenty big for my needs. The furniture inside and out is really nice bright clean and cozy. The bed is to die for.. We have had some small rooms in the past but this year our room was somewhat larger. It didn't matter,I'm not there to stay in the room.Bathrooms are very updated rooms are bright and did I mention the bed.We visited our friends at that gigantic hotel down the street.And while it was nice and pretty it just was too big. I like our smaller more intimate Indigo and I can't wait to go back again...I miss the Indigo.

Room Tip: We have stayed here many times.I would suggest a room facing back of building.Nothing to look at but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and wonderful review. Staff works very hard to ensure your experience is extraordinary. We appreciate your loyalty and repeat stays as well. We have many rooms of many sizes as we are a boutique hotel, which adds to our character for our repeat guests who get to experience something a little different each time.

Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater, florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel has certainly made an old place new, in a way that respects the past but showcases the present. The old details, like heavy plastering, mosaic bathroom tiles, beautiful doors, trims and hardware stand in contrast to the funky, fun colors, textiles and decor....I loved it. Check in was fast, there is easy and plentiful FREE parking (this can save you a bundle in St Pete), and a large lobby with lots of space to kick back. We did not eat or drink there so I can't comment on the food, but the bar looked nice. Our room was plenty big for our needs. The inspired decor did not disappoint! The bathroom, though small, had two well placed mirrors so that my girlfriend and I could both be in there getting ready at the same time. There was a long, narrow shelf which gave us ample room to store our toiletries. Very comfortable beds. Nice large window affording ample natural light.

One drawback is that the floors are wood laminate, which I appreciate, but I think may have contributed to noise from the guests above us. They got up early and the clomping around over our heads did wake us up. There is also a large construction project going on across the street from the hotel entrance. It was a bit windy and we got totally dirt blasted on our way in. Parking is to the side and back of the hotel, so once we knew that, we just didn't go in and out the front door any more. The construction is an eyesore and for now I wouldn't want to spend time on the charming front porch, but once it is done am sure it will be beautiful. We did have to pay an exorbitant price for the room as it was Blues Fest weekend. But that was true everywhere.

If I had reason to be in the area again, I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback so we know how we are doing. Thank you for your kind comments. We work hard to serve all of our guests and work on improving our services and amenities daily.

It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We used this hotel for an overnight stay when visiting Tropicana Field For a Rays Baseball game. Excellent location with taxis waiting immediately outside, friendly staff and clean room with 2 x 3 quarter beds which was fine for a 1 night stay. Small bathroom (no bath), but again for short stay is fine. We certainly managed as a family of 5. Can't comment on food as we didn't eat there thru pure choice/time......although the bar was very pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonMayBaystar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are a boutique hotel and have original 1920's bathrooms and other amenities. We have added many conveniences and are constantly working to improve.

Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at hotel indigo just for the night as we were not planning on staying in st Pete after the rays game. First of all we got a great price for the room compared to the Marriott down the street, and we did not expect the beautiful decorations. The room was very comfortable, best bed we have ever slept on at a hotel by far. The lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I have nothing but good things to say. Even the room coffee was good, which is usually terrible at most hotels. The hotel is in walking distance from all the good bars, less than 5 minutes. Thank you for a great stay, we will be back for our next weekend in st Pete.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Address: 234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.