We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and quirky hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun and quirky hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with my daughters high school sailing team. Check in was a bit slow but the staff were very accommodating and attentive.

This is a very.. brightly... decorated hotel. Chartreus, pea green black and white.

Room was very small.. Smaller than some of the older boutique hotels in Europe. The bathroom in my room was even smaller. Honestly it was about the same size as the bathroom on my boat.

Breakfast (included in the room rate) was awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are small...and bathrooms even smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    107
    51
    37
    35
See reviews for
68
106
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashtabula, Oh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location was perfect, a short walk to both the starting line and finish line of the race. My elderly father in law accompanied us so we rented a suite. The pull out sofa bed wasn't the most comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was very poor. We loved the old world atmosphere but disappointed with the amenities. For the price I would have expected free continental breakfast and newspaper, but the we were nickel and dimed for everything that is usually free in most hotels I've stayed in.

We made our reservation through holiday-inn.com and were planning on staying two nights because we couldn't get a flight out until Monday. A couple weeks before our trip, we were able to change our flight and called the hotel to change our reservation. When we checked out the desk clerk informed that it was a prepaid 'guaranteed' reservation and that she was not authorized to make any refunds. She gave us the managers business card and suggested that we call during the day on Monday. Before we had a chance to call, the manager called us to let us know that she issuing a refund for the unused night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were originally supposed to stay in Indigo for two nights,but due to weather we were not able to make our connecting flight so we only stayed one night. I was very happy for that once I saw the room we stayed in. First of all, when we found out that we wouldn't be making it to Indigo our first night, we called and spoke to Nathan twice. Once to tell him that we may not make it so we didn't want to be charged and a second time to officially inform him that we would definitely not make it. During that second conversation, we asked him if we could check in as soon as we showed up the next day. He informed us that we would indeed be able to check in because there would be no one checking in that night as no one wanted a room for only one night. So when we finally showed up a day late in St.Petersburg, we were NOT able to check in early even though we were told the day before that there would be no problem. We, of course, were not happy!!!!
When we were finally able to check in, we were VERY disappointed by our room!!!! The king size bed was not really a king size, it was just a bit bigger than a queen. I believe it was a good thing because the bed took up pretty much the whole room. It was the smallest hotel room I had EVER been in. This room WAS NOT worth $199 a night. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I had ever been in also. I could barely sit on the toilet without hitting the small sink!!!
After the 1/2 marathon, I was most looking forward to a relaxing hot shower....That too was a HUGE disappointment. The water occasionally came out of the shower spout, it periodically stopped, the water became VERY hot once then would turn cold. Needless to say my shower was a disappointing spit bath!!!!
Two pros.... A nice front porch to sit on and they had water with limes and lemons in it at the front desk.
I would NOT recommend this hotel at all. It's unfortunate that it was recommended by the Rock n Roll series, it really puts a bad name to them!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Stephanie R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property, which does include the rooms on property.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable hotel. I liked the decor, the colors and the big paintings in the walls. Rooms had wood floors. Beds and pillows were clean and comfy. Our bathroom had a window and we got natural light. Staff was friendly all the time. The hotel is located one block from restaurants and shops. Dali museum is just a 10-15 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to its proximity to the start and finish for the St. Pete Rock 'n Roll Half Marathon. It was a little pricey but they were very nice and it is a good location, close to a lot of shops and restaurants. And, the Trolley passes by the hotel so you could get to a lot of locations for only 50¢.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this property recently while attending a conference in St. Pete. Okay service, small rooms, and a bit outdated. If you are looking for something upscale, this would not be the place. But, if you are looking for a weekend getaway, then I would recommend. Overall, an average stay.

Room Tip: Good luck, this place is a maze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear MillieMe123,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you were satisfied with the level of service provided.

However, I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms to be a bit outdated. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by the management team and will be used to reconsider improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good downtown location. This is an older property, former home of Stonewall Jackson, but has very little of its historical past left. Rooms are small and ours needed a new bed. TV and bathroom were small. HVAC was noisy and not terribly efficient. Staff was friendly and efficient. Parking was tight

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jfig56,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that our staff were friendly and efficient during your stay. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced in your room accommodation. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Address: 234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.