We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Museums & Restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Plantation, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location to Museums & Restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is a treasure property. I hate cookie cutter chains (tho' in a pinch usually Hamptons are my choice)and I am so glad we chose Indigo. We traveled with our two dogs and this hotel is dog friendly. The rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean. The bathroom altho small was more than sufficient and stocked with Aveda products. The water pressure is low but sufficient. The room spaciously laid out. The staff helpful and friendly. It is located a few blocks from the bay front and in walking distance of the museums, restaurants, parks and shops along the lovely bay front. We stayed in room 239 overlooking the pool and front of the hotel. You can hear people at the pool in the room (at least one partying group during the day!) and construction across the street begins 8am. This wasn't a problem for us because we stayed over the weekend (no construction) and checked out Monday and get up before 8am anyway. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    97
    50
    35
    34
See reviews for
65
97
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are here for 4 nights and are very happy with Indgo. Walking distance to everything that downtown St. Pete has to offer. Movies, dining and museums. Tiny room and bathroom but very clean. Very nice staff. 20 minute drive to gulf beaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location is great for walking to the museums. The hotel itself is very cute. It has a very nice spacious lobby with a small bar that doubles as a coffee bar. They also serve food. Also lots of small seating areas to sit around with friends, very pleasant.
They do have a small pool and hot tub which is nice but to get in you sort have go into the concrete stairwell and down a little hall - seemed a bit odd.
We had a room with 2 double beds. It was small but very nicely decorated with comfortable beds. The bathroom was VERY small with a large shower.
FYI: I booked my room woth my Iphone for 4 guests including breakfast. When we arrived they told us that the breakfast was only for 2 guests. Hmmm, should we let our teens go hungry??? Not an option. So I went back to the reservation site on my phone and it never says that 4 guests only get 2 breakfasts. I spoke to the manager and she showed me on her computer how it DOES say only 2. Apparently the phone site is different than the computer site. After I asked, and pointed this out, she sort of reluctantly let me have 2 more coupons. I felt kind of guilty taking them but the fact is it was their mistake! PS: The breakfast choices they offer are good but small and only cost $7-8. Probably best to forgo that breakfast option and just buy what you like or find a different breakfast elsewhere. Nancy, the manager did say she will look into getting the problem corrected.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is in a walkable area with shops and restaurants, close to a park and the waterfront. Great location and easy parking. Not only is the hotel dog friendly, the whole neighborhood seems to be and we walked to a restaurant with sidewalk dining that allowed dogs (wish I could remember the name). The hotel restaurant, located in the lobby, is inexpensive and the food is okay.

At first they put us in the smallest hotel room I have ever seen outside of Manhattan. It was a very nice room but had only maybe 18 inches clear all the way around the king size bed. We were travelling with our dog and there was nowhere to set up her crate. I spoke to the lady at the front desk explaining he problem and she promptly moved us to a suite at no extra charge.

The suite was nice and very clean. It had hardwood floors and was painted mint green with these big walpapered murals of...I couldn't tell if they were rocks or Easter eggs--very unusual. The bathroom was tiny (but very clean) and the fan didn't work. The tv in the living room area worked sporadically (seemed like an issue with the cable). They never cleaned our room and we had to ask for fresh towels but they were delivered promptly and with a smile.

Overall a good experience. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I came to St. Pete to appear at a Seafood Festival at the beach but opted to stay downtown at the Hotel Indigo because of the great experience I had at the Hotel Indigo in Sarasota. I'm glad I did. From the time I entered the lobby I felt I had stepped into a Lewis Carroll story. The decor for the entire hotel could only be described as whimsical but the staff is very serious about attending to your needs. However, one must remember that this is a renovated hotel from a by-gone era, so if you are looking for spacious rooms and bathrooms, you may want to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a boutique hotel that is conveniently located to all that downtown St. Pete has to offer, then the delightfully different Hotel Indigo will more than meet your expectations. (As an aside, I have to offer a shout-out to those who renovated, rather than demolished, this historic hotel. What a wonderful example of urban renewal).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend as we went to St. Petersburg to run the "Color Run". We choose it for convenience and price. The event has being held at Vinoy Park.
The hotel is due for some overhauling. There was some moisture smell in many areas. The rooms are adequate, although small. The rooms with double beds are marketed as available for 4 people, but 4 people makes them feel quite cramped and the bathroom is tiny. Housekeeping didn't make our room and somehow we found out they had it listing as "Do Not Disturb". The sign was never up though.
Overall the stay was adequate

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Extremely friendly staff upon arrival, (Ryan) and actually throughout our stay. Loved the quirkiness of the hotel. The old small sinks (show only) dating back to the 1920's first hotel in the area to have indoor running water. The different levels and the creeky floors, the charm of the place reminded me of some of the hotels we stayed in in London.

Rooms very clean, bathrooms also. Loved the Aveda products. Only complaint, the beds were old, with large dips in them. Had breakfast there, very good. Next time in St. Pete, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Address: 234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.