We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical Decor, Attentive Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Whimsical Decor, Attentive Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I came to St. Pete to appear at a Seafood Festival at the beach but opted to stay downtown at the Hotel Indigo because of the great experience I had at the Hotel Indigo in Sarasota. I'm glad I did. From the time I entered the lobby I felt I had stepped into a Lewis Carroll story. The decor for the entire hotel could only be described as whimsical but the staff is very serious about attending to your needs. However, one must remember that this is a renovated hotel from a by-gone era, so if you are looking for spacious rooms and bathrooms, you may want to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a boutique hotel that is conveniently located to all that downtown St. Pete has to offer, then the delightfully different Hotel Indigo will more than meet your expectations. (As an aside, I have to offer a shout-out to those who renovated, rather than demolished, this historic hotel. What a wonderful example of urban renewal).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    127
    64
    40
    38
See reviews for
75
124
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend as we went to St. Petersburg to run the "Color Run". We choose it for convenience and price. The event has being held at Vinoy Park.
The hotel is due for some overhauling. There was some moisture smell in many areas. The rooms are adequate, although small. The rooms with double beds are marketed as available for 4 people, but 4 people makes them feel quite cramped and the bathroom is tiny. Housekeeping didn't make our room and somehow we found out they had it listing as "Do Not Disturb". The sign was never up though.
Overall the stay was adequate

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Extremely friendly staff upon arrival, (Ryan) and actually throughout our stay. Loved the quirkiness of the hotel. The old small sinks (show only) dating back to the 1920's first hotel in the area to have indoor running water. The different levels and the creeky floors, the charm of the place reminded me of some of the hotels we stayed in in London.

Rooms very clean, bathrooms also. Loved the Aveda products. Only complaint, the beds were old, with large dips in them. Had breakfast there, very good. Next time in St. Pete, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay at Hotel Indigo for two nights while visiting St. Pete for a wedding. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere was welcoming and cozy. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch enjoying the great weather. My husband visited the lounge both nights and the bartender, Chris was very friendly and gave us some good tips. The location of the hotel is three blocks from the waterfront so restaurants and shops are a short walk away. We hope to visit again very soon!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel twice in the past 2 months - what a gem! The location is perfect and the staff is beyond wonderful! I have also stayed at the Vinoy and would choose Hotel Indigo because of its charm and personal service hands down! Chris the bartender was so much fun - we loved watching the game at his bar! Everyone at the front desk was so polite and professional. The beds are comfortable and the room was clean -- we had no complaints on either visit. So nice to have coffee in the room AND in the lobby. We walked to everything and always felt welcomed when we returned. Thank you!!! We will be back to this wonderful property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We really enjoyed having you stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review online. We look forward to welcoming you back to our "Hidden Gem"!

Regards,

Ryan Preller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We only stayed here for one night as we came to St. Pete to see the Dali Museum. Very nice little hotel and very convenient to downtown. Good parking which is good since it is walking distance to everything and parking downtown is not so easy. Nice staff. Colorful hotel and well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are glad you had such a great trip to our Hotel and the Dali! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Ryan Preller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I originally chose this hotel for the location - walking distance of some many fun things in downtown St. Pete. Plus I was running in the Women's marathon & could walk to the start. The pictures of the place looked cute so I was willing to give the Hotel Indigo a try. What I did not count on was the absolutely amazing level of customer service every single staff person there provided. It was eveident that management treats the staff well & they in turn treat the customer's well. Not only is everyone nice, they are sincere! Chris the bar tender gladly opened a bottle of wine for us that was purchased elsewhere ( our group bought 2 more bottles from him so he came out ahead!) Two women in housekeeping helped us with our room keys. The front desk staff came up imediately to show us how to regulate the temp in our room (it was cold at first), Walter from maintenance came up several times to make sure the battery wasn't dying in our key card control (it wasn't). Every person who worked the fronty desk were helpful, cheerful, greeted each person as they walked by. This was not fake, Disney-like happy but legitimate how can I make your stay better happy. My only complaint was the bathroom was a little small but really, how much time should you spend in the bathroom on vacation? But it was clean, cute & the bed was awesome. This is an amzing place - the management team is proud of their staff & it shows.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk what you want - they will work extra hard to make you happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan P, Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for the incredible review! We are very fortunate to have such an incredible team here, and welcoming guests like yourselves makes our job that much easier. Thank you very much for taking the time to recognize those that made a difference in your stay. I can't wait to share this with everyone here!

Regards,

Ryan Preller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Address: 234 Third Ave North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.