We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family on a budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg
5900 GULF BOULEVARD, St. Petersburg, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for family on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

In my usual quest for hotels/ resorts that are affordable AND offer lots of space for large families I was SO HAPPY to find this place. We were staying in St. Pete Beach for one night & I needed to find a clean, comfortable, roomy hotel right on the beach and this fit perfectly. I spent hours online trying to find the right place & through the help of TripAdvisor and a couple of other sites I narrowed it down to the Alden Beach Resort.
When we arrived the front desk staff was very friendly. Our room was ready early which was a nice surprise. When we got into the room we were amazed at the size. When we first walked in there was the bedroom area with 2 queen beds. There was a door so you could close off the bedroom area. Then the bathroom & closet area. THEN you walk into a nice sized living area with pullout couch, kitchenette, dinette table & balcony (ours overlooked pool). This was plenty of space for our family plus it gave us room to eat dinner we bought from Publix right down the street.
When we went down to the beach we passed 2 pools. They were ok, not fancy resort pools at all but they were fine. We passed a shuffleboard court, basketball court & tennis court. Right by the beach there's a tiki bar and cornhole game is set up.
The beach was nice. Very close to this resort were watersport rentals & a huge kids play area-- water trampoline, etc. We could see it all perfectly from our spot on the beach. I was so glad we stayed right on the beach.
The only thing I didn't like too much (& I know for next time) is we were staying in the first building--it was closest to the street. The buildings start there & the rest go closer to the Gulf. We heard all the street noises at night & the band playing at the bar across the street. It made it a little hard to go to sleep. But once I went to sleep I was fine-- the beds were comfy. I would definitely ask for a building further away from the street and closer to the beach next time.
Also, we are from Palm Beach County and most of our hotels and resorts are so perfect and clean that we get used to that. I grew up in Central Florida and went to Clearwater Beach every weekend so I know that a lot of those hotels & motels are older and don't seem as squeaky clean. Alden was just that-- clean but not polished. It was still a great experience and we would definitely go back! Next time we'll stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We flew in during the tail end of the tropical storm, having never stayed on the Gulf Coast before and expecting placid blue water. The hotel beach was flooded and the surf was unbelievable - we (dangerously, probably) had a ball for hours bodysurfing in the stormy water. The property itself was perfect for my two teenage sons, husband and I. Our rooms were adequate size, the full kitchenette and bathroom were not huge but large enough not to feel cramped, and the daily housekeeping service was reliable and kept-us well stocked with plenty of towels and amenities. I must mention the staff - they were friendly and helpful, and amused us with their suggestions and personality. The pools were nice, bar was small but friendly with a nice bartenders, and the patio with grills was a great place to hang out. I would definitely go back. Although not luxe, it was a really wonderful value.

Room Tip: Go for the "deluxe Gulf-front" rooms, If you like a bigger balcony, specify it. Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here with family for 4 nights.
Pros: Nice beach view and beach, Nice pool,Bathroom appeared recently updated, Liked our housekeeper.
Cons: Was told by front desk that we would get a room away from the noise but, in fact, our balcony was right over the bar and the front of our room was right above the pool.The message light on our phones was flashing but there was no message. Was told someone would come up to reprogram the phones but they never came. Covered up the one in the bedroom with a towel so we could sleep.Never received a newspaper as advertised and on the one day I called for one, the desk clerk said they were at the front desk but he would try to find someone to bring one up. Back hurts from old saggy bed and the linens were threadbare. Upon checking my bank account after arriving home, saw that I had been charged $60.00 more than motel total. When I called, the lady said the charge was for "incidentals" and it would be taken off of my account in 2 to 3 days. This was out of the blue as there was no mention of this verbally or in the motel literature.
Won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked online based upon previous reviews and it is good value for the rate we paid. Could be updated. It was a family vacation. Bedroom decor was dark/depressing. But clean, well equipped and close to grocery store and good places to grab a bite.

Room Tip: We were facing the parking lot and first pool. Rooms facing the beach seemed better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is your classic Florida beach hotel. Its not sexy/new, but for a family of 4, we really enjoyed it. Actually stayed at a higher rated one down the street for 2 more nights and like the Alden better for our family. Two teen boys, the beach is wide white sand, really nice, hotel has a basketball court, tennis courts, shuffle board, corn hole pit, and our kids kit them all. Room was older, not fancy, but clean, front room and waterfront room with terrace, decent size bathroom in middle with efficiency kitchen. Can walk to restaurants (Skidders had a great breakfast).
St. Pete beach is one of the widest and best in Florida, really liked it. We upgraded for waterfront 4th floor and it was worth it if you like to read the paper on terrace, etc. Just depends on your taste, we sometimes stay 5 star, sometimes just want a casual spot in a good location and don't mind an older hotel in that mode.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront and upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at the Alden in January 2012. The location - right on the beach - was fabulous! Our room was clean and spacious and the staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the pool and the pool bar. You can walk to lots of shops and restaurants. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed at the Alden for seven nights - 2/12 - 2/19/12. The Nassau Suite was nice - pretty clean and large. Problems noted by others in previous reviews is the noise level - too bad there isn't a night time Security person walking around as this might cut down on the loud guests. One night there was a yelling match between a couple, another night a fight among young males drinking and trying to decide who should drive for more beer, two other nights the noise from the band across the street very loud until midnight. In addition backing up to two parking lots is also noisy from very early morning when people are leaving and slamming doors and car lock alarms. The Front Desk response to the band noise was that they "could" call in a non emergency police complaint but that there was not an law against the band playing. Not much the Alden can do with current design as the exterior doors probably can't be soundproofed and people are walking, yelling and making noise in parking lots and outside of the Alden's control. Also children running and yelling on the exterior walkways very late at night - again maybe staff presence is needed. The location is good, the beach access is wonderful and the pool areas were quiet, relaxing and well kept as were the grounds. If you want rest and quiet consider another property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg

Address: 5900 GULF BOULEVARD, St. Petersburg, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.