We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg

Save Saved
You added Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg
5900 GULF BOULEVARD, St. Petersburg, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
St. John's, NL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked online based upon previous reviews and it is good value for the rate we paid. Could be updated. It was a family vacation. Bedroom decor was dark/depressing. But clean, well equipped and close to grocery store and good places to grab a bite.

Room Tip: We were facing the parking lot and first pool. Rooms facing the beach seemed better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is your classic Florida beach hotel. Its not sexy/new, but for a family of 4, we really enjoyed it. Actually stayed at a higher rated one down the street for 2 more nights and like the Alden better for our family. Two teen boys, the beach is wide white sand, really nice, hotel has a basketball court, tennis courts, shuffle board, corn hole pit, and our kids kit them all. Room was older, not fancy, but clean, front room and waterfront room with terrace, decent size bathroom in middle with efficiency kitchen. Can walk to restaurants (Skidders had a great breakfast).
St. Pete beach is one of the widest and best in Florida, really liked it. We upgraded for waterfront 4th floor and it was worth it if you like to read the paper on terrace, etc. Just depends on your taste, we sometimes stay 5 star, sometimes just want a casual spot in a good location and don't mind an older hotel in that mode.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront and upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at the Alden in January 2012. The location - right on the beach - was fabulous! Our room was clean and spacious and the staff was very accommodating. We enjoyed the pool and the pool bar. You can walk to lots of shops and restaurants. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed at the Alden for seven nights - 2/12 - 2/19/12. The Nassau Suite was nice - pretty clean and large. Problems noted by others in previous reviews is the noise level - too bad there isn't a night time Security person walking around as this might cut down on the loud guests. One night there was a yelling match between a couple, another night a fight among young males drinking and trying to decide who should drive for more beer, two other nights the noise from the band across the street very loud until midnight. In addition backing up to two parking lots is also noisy from very early morning when people are leaving and slamming doors and car lock alarms. The Front Desk response to the band noise was that they "could" call in a non emergency police complaint but that there was not an law against the band playing. Not much the Alden can do with current design as the exterior doors probably can't be soundproofed and people are walking, yelling and making noise in parking lots and outside of the Alden's control. Also children running and yelling on the exterior walkways very late at night - again maybe staff presence is needed. The location is good, the beach access is wonderful and the pool areas were quiet, relaxing and well kept as were the grounds. If you want rest and quiet consider another property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zelienople
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My family has vacationed in St Pete Beach since 1974; first with my parents and brothers, now with my wife and daughters. Based on some nice reviews here, I booked us into this place for a January holiday. Without food service, without activities, no frills, calling themselves a resort is a bit of a stretch. It has no personality; with a listless, no smiles staff and bland property features. Now when I read the past reviews I discern its the view that prompts high marks for this place, which can be had in other motels for half the price. St Pete Beach may not have many, but Treasure Island, about 7 miles north, has many charming motels, all with the same gulf view, for 59-79 a nite. We left the Alden after a week and had our choice of places in T.I., all within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants, and pubs with more lively atmosphere than anything we could find in SPB. From Mon-Thurs, there wasn't more than a dozen rooms in use at the Alden, and the restaurants were empty, not like oh-good-we-can-get-a-table empty but we're-uncomfortable-sitting-alone empty. I guess word is about about its unimpressiveness. So please avoid the Alden...it isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nite one of your big name hotels but it has everything you can ask for in a smaller name place. I had a room with ocean view top floor. The room was a suite with bedroom bath area then dining and living room. Microwave frig small top heating stove. The place has two pools jacuzzi and beach bar. We got there early and they got us in right away. The staff was very friendly from front desk to room cleaning. The bar is a typical outdoor small bar which was great at sunset. It had 2 tvs. They have two small fires lit at nite which was great to drink and help keep warm. They have tennis courts and other thing in or around the hotel to keep touch occupied. Make sure you ask for beach view sixth floor. Good luck hope you enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I had an ocean front suite for the same price my friend paid for a regular room at Trade Winds Island Grand. The room was dated. Some rooms had flat screen tv's, but my room had regular tv's. It's nothing fancy on the inside, but you can not beat it for the price. I was happy to sacrifice the inside amenities for the bargain of being able to sit on my balcony and watch the gulf. The staff also seemed to be friendly, and the hotel is in a great location that allows you to access a lot of attractions and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel if you are going to be out as opposed to spending a lot of your time in your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
Free internet...
Show More
7.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 46 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg FL
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg...
#1 of 46 in St. Petersburg
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
12.0 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#11 of 46 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
7.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Ocean Palms
Magnuson Hotel Ocean Palms
#22 of 46 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St...
#25 of 32 in Saint Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg

Address: 5900 GULF BOULEVARD, St. Petersburg, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Beach Resort Hotel St Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.