We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable owner; fabulous breakfasts; real neighborhood location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Dickens House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable owner; fabulous breakfasts; real neighborhood location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

My wife and I adore the Old Northeast neighborhood of St. Petersburg with its century-old architecture and proximity to the shoreline of Tampa Bay, as well as being only a ten-minute walk from the center of town. We decided to try out Dickens House which is located on a quiet residential block. The owner, Ed, has completely renovated the place, and does everything himself. He has some incredibly creative inventions including eggs tempura and pumpkin pancakes, which taste even better than they sound. The place is elegant without being stuffy, and is a true piece of old Florida history with modern comforts. In addition to free wi-fi in each room, there is a computer available with a printer. Ed knows a lot of details about where to eat, as well as landmarks that are not listed in any tourist guide. We also enjoyed speaking with the wide variety of guests, which ranged from a Brazilian couple to a pair of Russians who have been staying at the bed and breakfast each year for a decade. Unlike many bed-and-breakfast owners, Ed will spend as much time with you as you like, discussing everything from politics to the way life used to be when he was growing up in St. Petersburg. Dickens House is the way you have always imagined the ideal bed-and-breakfast to be in your mind, but which you didn't think existed in reality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
92
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

My wife and I are about as busy as it gets, as I'm sure most of you are. We recently stayed at the Dicken's House for just one night with the plan of having a perfect day of rest before meeting up with friends for a birthday weekend and then back to our busy lives. It could not have been more perfect, but then we did have the entire house to ourselves. Aside from the perfect peace and quiet throughout the night, the Dicken's Suite had everything we needed including a monster-sized jacuzzi tub and an extremely comfortable bed. And Ed cooked a wonderful breakfast for us, and yes, it looks just like the pictures on the website. The house is a very short and welcomed stroll to nearby shops, spas, and restaurants. And Ed, being a local, has plenty of suggestions if you need them. Thanks again, Ed!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

During our honeymoon in southern Florida we stayed in various hotels and B&Bs, Dickens House being by far the most memorable! The house is lovely and charming and the atmosphere genuinely welcoming and personal. If you are looking for a place where you do not have to meet or talk to fellow guests or the B&B owner, Dickens House is not for you. But if you want to enjoy great hospitality, fantastic food and interesting breakfast table discussions, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Dickens House was such a nice surprise. The scrumptious breakfasts included items such as french toast, fresh fruit, and poached eggs. The owner, Ed, even offered us freshly baked cookies during our stay. We'll have to return when the weather cools down to enjoy the lovely front porch and beautiful garden. We felt at home and will highly recommend Dickens House to our family and friends. Thank you for being such a wonderful host, Ed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed at Dickens Family Inn with the my wife and son while we were attending a conference at the nearby Vinoy Hotel. The owner, Ed, was courteous and hospitable. I would highly recommend this B&B for the following reasons:

1) Clean - our room was clean and well maintained as was the entire premises.
2) Welcoming - Ed is an excellent host and makes you feel very much at home.
3) Charming - The house is not typically Floridian - wood flooring throughout, exposed wood beams, fire place, antique furniture and charming nick-nacks that Ed has collected over the years.
4) Quality Breakfast - Ed is an excellent chef. Breakfast was delicious and well proportioned.
5) Location - The location is within close walking distance to downtown St. Pete including museums, restaurants, shops, etc.,
6) Internet - Free wireless and also a computer for guests to use.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My colleagues and I recently stayed with Ed at his quaint Bed & breakfast, and without a doubt it was a wonderful visit. From the moment I walked through the beautiful door until the time I left, my visit was simply wonderful. The Inn itself was beautifully & masterfully restored to reflect the coziness & style of the arts & crafts homes of yesteryears. The breakfast was fantastic and a family recipe to boot. The location, was great, a block from our business conference, and within walking distance to the Pier and other local attractions. I HIGHLY recommend Dickens House, to any and everyone who is looking for a great weekend get away. Way to go Ed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Yes, the house is designed beautifully. Yes, our room (the Cottage Suite) was adorable with VERY comfortable beds (my back issues usually prevent me from ever feeling comfortable).. Yes, the breakfasts were delicious. But what struck me more than any of this was Ed's caring nature. My sister has severe chronic pain and had gone sharply downhill the past year. We needed to find more aggressive treatment, and came to St. Pete to consult with a well-known doctor. This included a very thorough battery of tests, lasting all day. Ed was so kind, insisted on carrying her suitcase up the stairs, packing us to-go breakfasts (for our crack of dawn appointment), even having my sister slowly eat breakfast up in her room when she wasn't feeling well enough to join us down at the table.. and above all, he listened to my sister go on in depth about her health issues, which can get tiresome and lengthy to hear as a family member, let alone someone who had just met her. He graciously lent a compassionate ear and commiserated with her. Even though I know his schedule was busy, he always took time out for her to help her feel comfortable. He also gave us a medical discount. I whole-heartedly recommend Dickens house. Note about the Cottage suite: there is a queen bed in the main room with a TV, and a twin bed with a desk in the sunroom (which can be divided from the main room by a curtain). The bathroom is HUGE. There is also a mini-fridge and closet. I loved sleeping in the sunroom. The neighborhood is a pretty one, only about 4 blocks to the start of downtown. We will not forget Ed's kindness and will hopefully stay there again not too far in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickens House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.