We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, very friendly owner - an excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great B&B, very friendly owner - an excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Only staying in St Petersburg for a few nights meant we that we researched thoroughly on the best place to stay - following the strength of previous reviews, we booked in at Dickens House.

The owner Ed, greeted us warmly, provided us with a early check in (we arrived at 1pm) and was on hand with plenty of local information and ideas for things to do.

We stayed in the Cottage Suite which was very well appointed, very fresh, clean and with plenty of space to relax.

The B&B is only a few blocks from the main downtown shopping and dining areas and is very handy to walk around the majority of the town. Parking is available on the street and was easy to find. The Dali Museum, pier and looper trolley bus are all within easy reach.

Breakfast is made fresh every morning and comes with an assortment of offerings all made by Ed himself. Everyone sits around a large table.

The character of the house is plentiful with a well stocked kitchen. We would return to Dickens House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
81
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good B&B. Great location in St. Petersburg. Clean rooms. Friendly owner. Parking was on the street but easy to find and neighborhood seemed very safe. It's also within easy walking distance of the stores and restaurants along the waterfront area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only spent one night and got upgraded to the Carrage Suite, but it was a wonderful place. House has lots of character and I don't mean that in any negative way. The suite was spacious ,well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was well done with most folks seated at an eight person round table so conversation was easy and fun plus the owner joined in. He is personable and very knowledgeable like a B&B host should be. Also, the house is very conviently located in the trendy NE section of St Pete.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned to gray, slushy NYC from a sunny, delightful week in St. Petersburg. Our delight was, in no small part, due to staying at the Dickens House B&B. We booked late but Ed, our most excellent innkeeper, made the Carriage House available to us as we were staying a week. It is an upstairs apartment in a small building behind the main house. It has a small but very well equipped kitchen, a large main room with a truly comfortable king-sized bed, loveseat and comfy chair, and a small tv (which we used but once). The bathroom is large, the shower bracing and the water hot! Plenty of good quality towels (and bath products). Lovely bed linens. Comfy! And then there is breakfast. As has been mentioned, there's a big fruit platter from which you can select a changing array of fresh fruit. And there is a changing repertoire of breakfast foods from brioche french toast to eggs, to cheese and fruit stuffed croissant. Strong coffee and good company and conversation. We enjoyed chatting around the table with all the guests who stayed during our stay and, of course, with Ed. Our only disappointment was leaving after a mere week. It should also be mentioned that the house is a walking distance from a terrific assortment of restaurants, from parks, where you can sit and watch pelicans swoop down and catch fish, a small beach, a local trolley that takes you around to the local sights. There's the Dali Museum and an excellent Museum of Fine Arts. We can't wait to return next year, for longer, and check out the many things we didn't get to. Thank you, Ed.

Room Tip: The Carriage House was very quiet but the house is on a quiet street so I don't think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable home and very clean, cozy room. (Perry Snell room). Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly innkeeper. Breakfast was tasty. Good coffee. Fresh fruit. Nice company. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Dickens House several times in recent years, and it keeps on improving. Ed's selection of fresh fruit now sometimes includes papaya and juicy dates, and he has become even more creative with his breakfast preparations including eggs and pancakes made differently than you've ever experienced before. The Cottage Suite remains my favorite room, quite spacious and adjacent to the garden where it feels more like a forest than the middle of a city. Ed also has some hilarious stories and isn't afraid to have some fun with his guests. I would highly recommend staying at Dickens House.

Room Tip: My favorite is the Cottage Suite, but please don't select it if you plan to be there the same we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staying at the Dickens House was like staying with old friends who happened to live in a 1912 craftsman style home that had been meticulously restored. We stayed for five nights in the Dickens Suite with its canopy bed, first class linens and pillows, lots of windows, a comfortable couch, lots of antique furniture, a cozy dressing area complete with makeup table and very large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower and two sinks. We also viewed the other four rooms in the house and they all appeared to be very comfortable and of various sizes.

The house is in the best location. It is in a quiet neighborhood but only a five minute walk to Tampa Bay, walking and biking paths, the aquatic center and parks. Downtown restaurants, museums, the Pier and theaters are only a few minutes farther or take the wonderful looper bus that stops five minutes from the house.

Ed Caldwell was one of the best parts of our stay. From his scrumptious, inventive breakfasts to his knowledge of all things St. Petersburg you could not ask for a better host. We truly enjoyed our conversations with him.

The living room of the house was a great place to relax but we loved sitting on the porch after a long day and just relaxing or talking to other guests. His guests were also very interesting and came from all over the country as well as the world. Many of the guests returned year after year and some more than once a year. That alone speaks for the quality of this B&B. We will return.

Room Tip: They were all good. The rooms that are not suites are much smaller but fine for short stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickens House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dickens House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list