We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It keeps getting better and better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It keeps getting better and better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Dickens House several times in recent years, and it keeps on improving. Ed's selection of fresh fruit now sometimes includes papaya and juicy dates, and he has become even more creative with his breakfast preparations including eggs and pancakes made differently than you've ever experienced before. The Cottage Suite remains my favorite room, quite spacious and adjacent to the garden where it feels more like a forest than the middle of a city. Ed also has some hilarious stories and isn't afraid to have some fun with his guests. I would highly recommend staying at Dickens House.

Room Tip: My favorite is the Cottage Suite, but please don't select it if you plan to be there the same we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
81
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staying at the Dickens House was like staying with old friends who happened to live in a 1912 craftsman style home that had been meticulously restored. We stayed for five nights in the Dickens Suite with its canopy bed, first class linens and pillows, lots of windows, a comfortable couch, lots of antique furniture, a cozy dressing area complete with makeup table and very large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, separate shower and two sinks. We also viewed the other four rooms in the house and they all appeared to be very comfortable and of various sizes.

The house is in the best location. It is in a quiet neighborhood but only a five minute walk to Tampa Bay, walking and biking paths, the aquatic center and parks. Downtown restaurants, museums, the Pier and theaters are only a few minutes farther or take the wonderful looper bus that stops five minutes from the house.

Ed Caldwell was one of the best parts of our stay. From his scrumptious, inventive breakfasts to his knowledge of all things St. Petersburg you could not ask for a better host. We truly enjoyed our conversations with him.

The living room of the house was a great place to relax but we loved sitting on the porch after a long day and just relaxing or talking to other guests. His guests were also very interesting and came from all over the country as well as the world. Many of the guests returned year after year and some more than once a year. That alone speaks for the quality of this B&B. We will return.

Room Tip: They were all good. The rooms that are not suites are much smaller but fine for short stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here one night and did not partake in breakfast as I was invited to a brunch in town. I stayed in the "Orange Belt Room." The bed was comfortable and the linens were very nice. The bathroom was updated and spotlessly clean. Be aware that this room is very small. I wouldn't suggest that two people stay in this room. Go ahead and spring for one of the larger rooms if you aren't a single traveler! The home is very old and is full of antiques and if you are interested, the owner will spend a lot of time talking to you about the antiques and his interesting life. If you aren't chatty, this might not be the best place for you. I had never stayed at a B&B before and I am not sure that the experience is for me. If you do enjoy a B&B experience, this is a great place and you will enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: The Orange Belt Room is truly a one person room. Spring for a larger room if there are two in your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This B&B is as comfortable as being home and more interesting and friendly than any hotel could be. The location to downtown couldn't be better, the rooms are quiet, breakfast is a treat and you will meet other interesting travelers. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This B&B is simply amazing! Not only is every room beautifully decorated (we've been in 3 or 4 different suites), breakfast is always delicious. Dickens ouse is also in a great location - walking distance to all the best restaurants and steps away from the water. Ed, the owner, is such a wonderful host and friendly person, it always feels like we are visiting an old friend each time we stay.

Room Tip: Try Ceviches for dinner. The tapas are wonderful and there is a nice little bar area downstairs too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nederland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed only for 1 night and definitely love to go there again. Everything you read on the reviews is true, it is a cozy, amazing place to stay. A beautiful house with beautiful rooms that you love immediately, we specially loved the front porch where we stayed with our cup of tea and coffee. Ed & Jane are the friendliest people and provide you with every comfort you can wish for. The breakfast served by Ed in the morning is more than delicious and we had such a great time talking with Ed. When we go back to Florida we definitely stay here again, but much longer than 1 night.

Ed & Jane thank you for this unforgettable memory.
Warm greetings Bas&Sandra.

Room Tip: We stayed at the lovely Perry Snell room but I'm sure every room will be perfect here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What you can expect:
- A real southern comfort BnB. Perfectly shaped and decorated!
- A perfect Breakfast performed by the owner himself!
- Wonderful and lovely styled rooms!
- Everything is clean!
- A porch and a living room where you can relax throughout the day

Nothing to complain!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickens House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dickens House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list