We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still top-notch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dickens House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Dickens House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel amenities
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Still top-notch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I returned to Dickens House in April 2012 after having previously stayed here in December 2010. If anything, it has improved over its previous excellent hospitality. Ed has added some new twists to his fabulous breakfast selections, and is even more gracious in helping us figure out where to eat or to visit. To top it off, his garden has some unexpected new flowers. As always, the rooms are comfortable and the Cottage Suite is especially spacious and nicely designed. We hope to keep coming back here each time we visit St. Pete in the future.

Room Tip: My favorite is the Cottage Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
87
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Wonderful B&B within walking distance of downtown St. Pete. Amenities are comparable to a 3 star hotel, but with a lot more character. Rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was nicely done and they easily accomodated some food preferences.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were here for the St. Anthony's Triathlon . Ed is a delight. He welcomed us at the curb, gave us many tips about the area and told us about the history regarding the home. The guests that weekend were all involved with parts of the event. Ed made sure we all had the foods we were used to having on race day and recovery foods afterwards. The breakfast on Sunday was gourmet. If you have the opportunity, this bed and breakfast is a real gem.

Room Tip: We had the Cracker and Orange rooms. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just returned from our annual visit to our daughter and grand daughter in St.Pete. This is the 2nd year in a row we stayed at the Dickens House. The house is breath taking. Ed has completely restored this C1900 craftsman house to its original splender. what a great job he did. It's a perfect location, easy walk or very short drive to downtown. Splended rooms, large and comfortable. Ed is a gracious host and does some wonderful breakfast. My favorite was the Tempura eggs, i stole the recipe. Our annual march trip will always include a stay with Ed at tbe Dichens House

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We just had our fourth stay at Dickens’ House over the past five years and it simply keeps getting better. My wife and I look forward to attending the Tampa bay Blues Festival each year which is held within walking distance at Vinoy Park. But besides the festival it is staying at Ed Caldwell’s establishment that we look forward to most. From the gourmet breakfast prepared each morning to the ambiance and charm of old Florida we simply have come to love the Dickens’ House. Each year we get to enjoy stimulating conversations with fellow guests at breakfast and especially with Ed himself who we now consider a friend. We appreciate and have come to be spoiled by the excellent service we have experienced. We highly recommend Dickens’ House and we look forward to many more visits. Thank you Ed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I have stayed at The Dickens House twice and plan to again. Ed the manager is very attentive to details and accomodating. I enjoyed fresh brownies and chocolate chip cookies each evening. The breakfast spread is diverse with lots of fresh fruit, cereal (if requested), biscuits, cinnamon rolls, choice of teas and coffee. The location is unbeatable as is the Arts and Crafts decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I will opt for this B&B over a hotel any time I'm in St. Pete. I stayed recently for 3 nights on a business trip. Everything was impeccably clean. The inn itself is a beautifully restored older building, but the rooms have all the modern comforts. Ed and Brett serve a great breakfast daily. It's close enough to downtown to walk to dinner on Beach Drive, and it's only a few blocks from the water and a lovely waterfront park.

Room Tip: The Orange Blossom room is good for one person. It might be a tad small for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dickens House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dickens House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Eighth Ave. Northeast, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by NBC Today travel correspondent, Peter Greenberg, and listed in Frommer's - Florida, as the highest rated B&B in Tampa Bay. We have Rough Guide's only official "Recommended By" award in Tampa Bay. Extraordinary 1912 Arts and Crafts restoration featuring unpainted woodwork, casual but refined interiors, Wi-Fi, guest computer, whirlpool tubs, fine cotton linens, Egyptian towels. A multi course gourmet breakfast is served daily. National Historic district neighborhood and downtown location all in one! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickens House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.