We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME for kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Explorations Children's Museum

Great Explorations Children's Museum
1925 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33704
727-821-8992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 126 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Explorations Children’s Museum has served the children and families of the Tampa Bay area since 1987. Designed for children 10 and under, the 23,000 square foot museum is filled with exhibits and activities to stimulate learning through creativity, play and exploration. The museum also offers a national award winning preschool, camps and afterschool programming, field trips and community outreach programs.
Austin, Tx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“AWESOME for kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My 8 and 4 year olds LOVED the museum. Hands on, not too crowded, and things that we don't see in other science museums. Definitely worth the trip for the afternoon, especially if it's raining at the beach.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    15
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Day of Hands on Fun for the Whole Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great indoor activity for a chilly, rainy day or anytime for that matter.
Lots of hands on imagination play activities to keep the kids, adults too, busy for hours. Lots of different activities for all age groups.
Took our Grandkids, couldn't get them to leave, they were having so much fun.
There's a Tree House with slides & climbing areas, Imaginary Pizza Shop, Fully loaded Market Place with Bakery, Pet Vet Station, Giant Building Blocks, to mention a few. It's a little pricey, if you are a large family. If you do not have a Membership, look for discount coupons & specials online or in Area Attraction Booklets. We found 2 for 1 coupons in a Local Area Magazine.
There is also another Attraction, The Sunken Gardens, adjacent to it, for an additional admission price. We didn't have the time to go there, but heard that it was worth a returning visit to go to with the kids.
Great Explorations was a good choice & a fun day. Glad we decided to check it out.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Touch Museum South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I find it hard not to compare this place to the Please Touch Museum in Philadelphia, given they are the same idea and that's where we really moved from.

Great Explorations has a lot of nice stuff. My son particularly liked the big fire truck and the fireman jacket and hat. My oldest loved the hurricane machine, but that's an extra charge ($2) My littlest liked the sand pit (which appears to be full of kitty litter). My favorite part was the fish sounds exhibit.

If I have one complaint about the place is it's a bit on the small side. Unlike the PTM, you can pretty much see the whole place and do everything in about 20 minutes. One thing that's good about that is it's hard to lose your child there. At PTM I was always very cognizant of where the three of them were and was pulling my hair out trying to keep all three at the same exhibit. At GE you can just man the door and let them go where ever they want.

The staff was really nice and seemed to care about their jobs. Exhibits were for the most part clean and in working order.

It seems like a good place to have a kids party; the smaller size being an advantage for that. Per the website there are several options for a party, including renting out the whole museum for 2 hours!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A good enough place to go to get out of the heat or rain, but I've been to way better! The toddler area is too small and doesn't have enough activities. Older children (about 7+) get get bored too quickly. Because it is so open it gets noisy and chaotic. Not enough staff manned at stations and honestly they could maximize their space better. There is one lady at the front desk who shouldn't work anywhere. She gave me lots of wrong information and then lied about the reciprocity program. Next time I'd rather drive to Glazer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcas, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a well-kept, fun place for kids. There are many activities for a variety of ages; I had come with a two and a four year old. A pizza kitchen, fire engine, ball pool, grocery store and much more. All were great fun! Since I was supervising two kids,it turned out to be slightly worrisome, as they could disappear quickly. The employees didn't interact with the kids other than making sure they didn't take items out of their designated areas. They were not friendly or interested in the kids. Also, there was no family restroom and no child sized toilets or sinks. All in all, it was an goof afternoon, but I wish the staff were friendlier!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Explorations Children's Museum also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Great Explorations Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Explorations Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.