We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
1350 Pasadena Ave S, St. Petersburg, FL 33707-3702
727-381-7931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 739 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
San Ramon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I started eating here when Ted Peters was still alive and continue to return whenever I visit St. Pete. The ambiance is quaint and the smoked fish fantastic! The staff is always friendly. Check out the silver dollar on the bar. (Full disclosure-Ted was my great uncle and my 2 cousins are doing a terrific job at continuing the tradition, but that still shouldn't detract from my love of the food and the people)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    115
    35
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

It's a very unpretentious place (looks like a shack on the left side of Pasadena Avenue, on the way to Tyrone Sq Mall). We ate in the restaurant, and we also did take-out. Service is excellent - they serve beer too. The smoked fish is very good although a bit pricey - I guess quality does command a premium! Be aware that they only take cash in the restaurant. Ted Peters is definitely worth a visit even if you are not a fish lover as they also serve other foods, like burgers and ribs...It's been around sine the 1950's. The food is excellent, and freshly made. We have been eating here on vacation since the 1990...Our son took a piece of smoked Salmon back home with him to Canada and loved having it for dinner once he returned from vacation. I hope that they continue smoking their great fish for many years to come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sometimes simple is best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Driving along the coast of St. Pete's by the Gulf of Mexico is great in itself. What could possibly add to the beach and the sun? The freshest smoked fish one can buy. We decided on whole fish to go- mullet- still in the smoker. Still warm. Next door is the restaurant itself, casual, with picnic tables. Although tempted to try the spread and numerous other local items, it is cash only. So remember that - and not open on Tuesdays. Everybody has their favorite smoked fish - but one right out of the smoker is the best.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Delivers a good product in distressed wrapping...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This road side dive is always on our hit list when we are on the west coast of Florida. Nothing has changed in the forty years since our first visit except the price.

We ordered two servings of the Mahi Mahi that was lightly smoked, perfectly juicy and a great flavor along with a a side of German Potato salad. The fish is served with two small containers of different sauces, a pickle, tomato and a onion slice. We had two canned beers. The only draft they offer is Miller High Life, an odd choice for a single draft served only a few miles from Busch Gardens. We got a pint of smoked fish spread to take home. The total bill came to $60 including tip to our efficient waitress.

We then walked over to the smoke house, about fifty feet from the main restaurant, and ordered a serving of smoked salmon and the Mahi Mahi to take home. It is $18 a pound and is wrapped in plastic and a paper bag. Even it you don't take any fish home it is interesting to see how the smoking process is carried out.

As others have mentioned, don't go here expecting a comfortable atmosphere. It is open to the elements. There are only two one hole bath rooms and it can get crowded.

Do give it a try for the experience of just being there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Landmark Restaurant in St. Petersburg Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've visited Ted Peters dozens and dozens of times over the years. Located in South Pasadena on the way to St. Pete Beach, Ted Peters is one of the original businesses in this area. Known for their smoked fish (mullet and mackerel) and smoked fish spread sandwiches, the fish are smoked right on the premises in a little smokehouse. The German potato salad and the Manhattan clam chowder are delicious! Top it off with a frosty mug of root beer. Not into fish? Their hamburgers are very good also. It's a local institution of long-standing, and the locals always know...FYI: CASH ONLY

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.