We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smoked mullet excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
1350 Pasadena Ave S, St. Petersburg, FL 33707-3702
727-381-7931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 706 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
New Port Richey, FL
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“smoked mullet excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

had read all the reviews, had talked to friends, been hearing for years they have the BEST smoked fish spread but was still a little hesitant. We don't eat much smoked fish. Arrived on a Sunday noonish and outside tables were almost all taken! beautiful day to sit outside (a little noisy w/passing traffic but that's part of the scene) so we went inside and it was rustic, old fashioned, very clean, shiny wooden picnic type of tables. Server was so friendly! We did try the smoked fish spread and it was ok (kudos on how chilled it was) but the smoked mullet dinner was really amazing. Have never had smoked mullet before and it was a whole mullet, sliced open, server showed us how to remove spines. and then you dig in and watch for bones but it's slow and easy and was really delicious. daughter loved how the fish scales and fins/tail were still there! great presentation. no head. :) warm potato salad rocked. cole slaw ok, a little too creamy for me. fresh tomato/onion/pickle. perfect. root beer is just root beer in a chilled mug but they do their hot/colds well. nothing tepid here. small menu, very clean, folks friendly, just walking thru the parking lot near the smokehouse you pickup the smoke smell on your clothes and it's divine! we made a special trip to go here and glad we did. Cash only, closed Tuesdays. Opens 11:30a.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    125
    39
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Best Smoked Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is a must if you are in the area. Smoked fish abounds, but this is the original thing. The smoke house is in the parking lot and you walk in and talk to the person that does the smoking. It is not fancy, not a romance type place, but the kind of local place you do not want to miss. The portions are very large. We shared an order of their smoked fish dip (always served with saltines... perfect pairing) and an order of their smoked fish. We were full the rest of the day. We went late afternoon and it was not busy. I am thinking it could get quite busy at times. The beer is ice cold, the potato salad amazing and I know of no other place in the world where you can get smoked fish like this. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great smoked fish and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you like smoked fish this is the place to go to. But, the warm potato and the cold slaw are very well done also. The salmon was buttery, and mullet had a greasy skin which you expect and it probably contributed to the sweet juicy smoked taste of the fish. The clam chowder reminded me of the greater northeast Manhattan style loaded with clams and well seasoned. CASH ONLY! Service was prompt. Take advantage of smoked fish spread. What a nice snack with crackers and an adult beverage later on!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dinner plates are large enough to share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had read about Ted's in Coastal Living and wanted to eat there when we were in Treasure Island. We enjoyed the smoked mullet very much. The place was busy and the servers were friendly and offered suggestions for ordering. If you like smoked fish, they have a variety and it's very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best smoked fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Ted Peters for over 30 years. I always get the smoked mullet dinner. It is always good and consistant. The food has never changed, even after poor Ted died. Highly recommended and good change from the typical Florida tourist resturants. All the side dishes are truley unique, like the warm potato salad and cole slaw. Nice atmosphere while sitting outside, or inside by the fireside during winter.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.