We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small menu, good smoked fish, bring cash.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish

Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish
1350 Pasadena Ave S, St. Petersburg, FL 33707-3702
727-381-7931
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 768 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Small menu, good smoked fish, bring cash.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant has been around for quite some time and is a local landmark in the area. The menu is small (choice of only 6 sandwiches) but the majority of visitors come for the smoked fish dinners or smoked fish spread. During today's visit we had the smoked fish spread for $6.99. The flavor is excellent and one order is sufficient for 2 people. Remember to bring cash as they do not accept credit cards. There is beer available for purchase but you must order food in order to have any alcohol .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    125
    39
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ironton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here and it was amazing. My daughter had a boring hot dog and chips. The real treat was the smoked salmon dinner that my husband and I shared. One dinner is big enough to split for lunch unless you have a very hearty appetite. The smoked salmon was amazing and the warm potato salad was excellent as well. This is a must do on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Incredible Smoked Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We saw this on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and had to try it while in the St. Petersburg area. It was very, very good. We both had the lunch portion of Smoked mahi-mahi, which was 3/4 lb! Don't forget to try the German potato salad and the smoked fish spread, it was also very delicious and unique!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A reason to visit the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We didn't feel like eating there because of having to pay for a plate fee if sharing. We also weren't in the mood for potato salad and coleslaw. I'm glad that the smoked fish ( mullet) was all we bought because two fishes cost less than a meal. When we brought them home, we had some ritz crackers. The fish is 100 percent delicious. Tender and flavorful without the salt overload. I wish they had mackerel, but Ill be sure to come by if I ever am back in the area. Do not miss out on this!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“BEST Souvenir”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you like fish, and smoked, you cannot miss this! Its practically next door to another cool spot (Fl Orange Grove Winery) and really cool to see the smoking shack but the fish is OUT OF THIS WORLD. This will be a must stop to bring a stash home every time we pass this way.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish also viewed

 

Been to Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted Peters Famous Smoked Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.