We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Po' Folks

Po' Folks
2001 34th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33713-3607
727-327-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 724 restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Was shopping nearbye and looking for somewhere to eat. Drove passed and saw the full car park and decided to go in. Glad we did. Food was good, tasty and cheap. Easy to see why the place almost full. Would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    44
    29
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food is great along with the service. The prices are very reasonable & you get plenty to eat. It is a bit crowded & is a family style atmosphere (large open room with wooden tables & chairs) so if you are looking for a quiet cosy place to eat this isn't for you. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to eat here after driving by for a few weeks and seeing people always outside in line to get in. The service, food, and prices are all great. The restaurant is also very clean. I lived in the south for nine years, so I can say I know what good biscuits and chicken tastes like and Po' Folks definitely made the grade. I also had the fried okra and apples and everything was seasoned to perfection. We also got the fried green tomatoes and they were excellent.

The only negative was the white gravy was just so so; but I would add I believe that good gravy is really hard to make for most restaurants outside of Georgia, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, and Kentucky. I will go back again and would recommend this place to anyone who is in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Peoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Po' Folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

First time eating there, really enjoyed the food. Great service, nice family restaurant. The fried chicken was outstanding. Their cornbread was amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

fantastic country food, decor is a little dated and the servers were nice but nothing spectacular, definitely would come back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po' Folks also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL

Been to Po' Folks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Po' Folks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.