We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   875 94th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Mitlon, WI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here one night, needing a room before checking into our rental home. Glenn not only gave us a room at a small discount, but also upgraded us to a suite. I had the opportunity to watch Glenn interact with other guests. He was very welcoming, cordial, and wished others to have a safe travel. This hotel was very clean and updated (only 3.5 years old). Our room was very comfortable and clean. It was quiet and I appreciated a hvac unit that would turn off when the room reached a desired temperature. I have nothing negative to say about our stay and recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share just how wonderful your stay with us at Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg was. We strive to offer the utmost in customer service and cleanliness, and truly appreciate that it does not go unnoticed. We have worked very hard to make this a "top ten" property in St. Petersburg, Florida. And you are correct, this is by far the newest Comfort Inn & Suites in St. Petersburg. Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to serving your family and friends when they visit our beautiful city! Best regards, General Manager and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
30
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked 4 rooms for 5 nights in this hotel and by the second night we felt like we were home. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We needed a meeting room for 2 days and asked the hotel if they could help us with that. We found Tara at the reception desk, who did all her best to find us a solution and called the manager of the hotel. He was so kind as to offer us the breakfast room (as they don't have a particular meeting room) at no cost!
Whenever we needed assistance with anything, they were all happy to help. I have to mention here Glenn from reception, a truly special person, who had a big, genuine smile on his face at all times and we could also have conversations with him about non-hotel related matters.
All in all, I can only recommend this hotel for everyone, visitor or on business!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg for your trip to Florida! We are so happy that you found it to be a great value, and even more pleased that you found the rooms to be comfortable and clean, and that the service was extremely friendly.

I will pass along your compliments to Glenn, he is indeed a truly special person and a valuable asset to this company. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Sunshine State! Best Regards, General Manager, FL947. Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I am a female who travels by myself for business. I feel safe and secure here. The establishment is very friendly, and always helpful. The rooms are very nice, and clean. I have stayed here approximately 5 times over the past two years and have no complaints. Everything they advertise is TRUE. Rooms are very roomy, quiet, providing a desk, couch and separate area in the king room with the bed. Refrigerator, microwave, coffeepot, blow drier, iron, and internet. Beds are comfortable, showers provide plenty of hot water, free breakfast with something for any taste or diet needs. There is a pool, exercise room, vending machines, and computer room. This place is privately owned, and they treat guest like they would want to be treated. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great place to stay when traveling for business, or visiting in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn947, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg for your business travel needs. We cater to a very large number of corporate and business travelers who choose this location for all of the reasons that you described in your review. We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to serving all of your future corporate lodging needs! Sincerely, General Manager Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiantown, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We got a suite and the rooms were dirty. Toliets wouldn't flush properly. I had to take my own towels down and get more. They didn't have enough towels. The door in the bathroom was dirty....like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Checked in to this fairly new property (~4 yrs old) to escape a water heater-less Labor Day weekend. Paid a typical price for this type of chain ($85 for King), minus 10% AAA discount, plus 12% tax. It was reasonably comfortable, quiet, included free extensive breakfast, and had lots of hot water!

There are some downsides to this hotel, some of which are typical of this type of chain, and some are location-specific shortcomings. None are serious enough to bump this place below 2 stars.

1) The pool is tiny and on the NE corner of the building, thus quite shaded. It was still Gulf temperature, about 84, and clean. However the jacuzzi is no longer in use, and sits half-filled. They do not claim to have one on their own website, but the main Comfort Inn chain website clearly shows a jacuzzi bubbling away at this location. When I asked at check-in, the clerk said they hadn't had one for about a year, and sounded annoyed.

2) The staff is not very friendly here. Not unfriendly, just a bit abrupt and indifferent. They don't seem interested in their visitors, and the place seems understaffed. At one point, a clerk or asst. manager was seen in animated conversation with a employee or girlfriend in the parking lot out front. Not very professional.

3) The room was big enough, the bed comfortable, climate control worked well, though lighting was a tad inadequate. The energy-saving bulbs take a while to brighten fully. Curtains billow when the A/C comes on, a common problem, usually solved by leaning the hotel's informational binder against the curtains. (There isn't one.)

4) No information whatsoever is provided at check-in. No assistance with best place to park, no info on breakfast hours (it is placarded), no info on pool (again, placarded), no info on wireless, phone calls, business center, etc etc. We had to call the front desk to obtain the UN and password for wireless connection.

5) Wireless service is horrible. You can barely get a connection anywhere in the hotel, and even when you're connected, the signal is so weak that most apps fail.

6) The breakfast area, with tables, coffee, and a TV is locked outside of breakfast hours (6:30-9:30am). So no coffee service (probably a good thing, see #7), and no place to sit down and eat any takeout you bring in. We ate in our room, where there is only a small work desk, so we dined on the bed. Icky.

7) Breakfast was decent (though the eggs are powdered) with one huge exception: the coffee was HORRIBLE. Really burnt-tasting. Stick to tea or go get some coffee elsewhere. The in-room coffeemaker coffee was only slightly better, but watery.

8) The bathroom totally fails the "knee test." The door clears the front of the toilet by about 1/4 inch. Not a big deal, but don't let your partner open the door while you're on the can or you'll need arthroscopic surgery.

9) The TV was a very cheap LG flat-screen, whose picture had been so badly adjusted that it was ugly. After fixing that, I noticed that the remote requires many discrete presses to change the volume- no continuous control. A minor annoyance.

10) Room key cards fail to work at any of the side/alternate entrances, probably for security reasons, so you have to go in and out the front. (They don't tell you this either.) The side doors are sometimes propped open, which totally defeats the point of having any security.

At this point you may be thinking, "Other than that, Mrs. Kennedy, how was the motorcade?" Well, it WAS a comfy bed, a quiet room, free breakfast, no unpleasant smells (other than the coffee), and lots of hot water. But I don't think anyone who's ever stayed here will be eager to ever come back again. Some basic hospitality training would help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a room with a king bed, but when we got up to our room, we saw two beds.
Went down again to ask if something had gone wrong with our reservation.
Front desk just said that no more rooms with a king bed were available. I think the lady at the front desk had to tell us before sending us to our room and apologize. No service at all...
The room is nice, not that big but ok. Breakfast is the average breakfast.
We had a room at the back of the hotel. (Read literally on the highway, with the along coming noise of traffic even when with the window closed.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to see and bet on the Preakness at Derby Lane. The hotel was in a good location for our needs and the rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast at the hotel and the selection was your average continental breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and would definately return for the Belmont!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway

Address: 875 94th Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All spacious guest rooms are air conditioned and come equipped with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, flat-screen televisions, pillow-top mattresses, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms feature sofa sleepers and whirlpool bathtubs. Handicap accessible rooms are available. This is a 100 percent non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Saint Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn And Suites Saint Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.