We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place for a vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Postcard Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Postcard Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Postcard Inn on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding place for a vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for my son's wedding and were treated so well by the staff. The rooms are each unique and comfortable. It is a great place to have large family gatherings but realize this is a vacation place for all ages and some individuals will get loud with the excitement of fun. They had access to all you need for a great weekend away as well. Pool, Beach, Snack Shack, Bar, Volleyball, and access to rental equipment for water fun.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For less noise ask for a room on the outside or close to the lobby on the inside. For fun close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear ChrisRomot,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience with us. I'm glad to hear that you and your family chose us to host your son's wedding and that everything was great with your stay. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team as they love hearing the impact they have on our guests' experience.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    345
    194
    158
    146
See reviews for
273
436
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

For the price I have never stayed in a worst place. Retro but....The staff was nice. The rooms not so much.....The beds were uncomfortable. We had to carry our own luggage upstairs. Their are no elevators. The electric in the bathrooms are on the other side of the wall from the sink & mirrors were the on off switch for the overhead lights should be. You have to close the lid on the tolet in order to be able to flush. We got one bar of soap...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Vicki187,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to read that you did not have a great time while with us. I would like to note that, although we are very casual with a no-frills approach to your beach getaway, all the lack of services you mentioned are provided upon request. While we do not have elevators as we are a 2-story building, we certainly have the staff willing and able to assist any guests with their luggage needs. Also, I'd like to note that our beds are Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses and we rarely receive a complaint regarding the beds. It is a little concerning and that mattress may need to be changed out. If you could please email me directly to discuss, I'd greatly appreciate it! Jflanery@postcardinn.com

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed this weekend for a Bachelorette Party, looking to hang around the pool, the beach and the bar with some girlfriends. We checked in on Friday and we had a great time, the pool wasn't really crowded, the bar had some live music and the bartenders were very attentive. However, since we were looking forward to hanging out on the beach the next day, we went to bed around midnight, and it was so incredibly loud! The clientele here is not family friendly what-so-ever, at least on this trip: explicatives being hollered all night, hearing a conversation in the room adjacent to us (not mumbled, full out conversation), having a car roll by at 1am? It sure didn't sound like a suitcase, it sounded like a beverage or housekeeping cart. The next day was fine but we went down the beach away from the property because of the other guests or locals or whomever they were all over the place, it looked like we were in Panama City Beach or something, college kids everywhere and not polite ones either. Some of the girls in our group even got into an argument with a kid not even staying at the hotel for cannonballing in the pool just to splash guests and using inappropriate language. Our room also didn't even get serviced so I asked two housekeepers for extra towels and they were very friendly.

We had dinner on property Saturday night, and there were a ton of large parties and the service was very slow, we even made a reservation, I checked in for it, and the host gentleman told me it would be a few minutes, the table was just finishing, no problem, 15 minutes later we went into check, after sitting in the lobby and the table is sitting ready to go, no one even came out to get us. The quality of the dinner was so-so, I was really looking forward to it, the short rib sliders were very dry, which surprised me, but the mac and cheese was awesome as was the shrimp with jalapenos and bacon. Our server was very nice but everything was pretty slow, and it was the final four but still, a ton of large parties probably slowed everything down.

I didn't stay the second night as I am not a college kid anymore who wants to deal with nonsense that spring break brings. There were two weddings over the weekend that were lovely, but how lovely can it be with drunk frat guys walking through it? Overall the staff was friendly enough but I am too old for this hotel and the shenanigans going on here.

Room Tip: I was "upgraded" to a courtyard or garden view, but the other room in our group faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear BellieRue,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent experience. I'm sorry to hear you had some challenges with select guests or visitors. I noticed that you commented it was the Final Four which puts you at our hotel during Spring Break for the local universities. That time of year is extremely busy with locals and has since calmed down significantly. We are still very lively on the weekends but the clientele is now much more varied than during spring break, with people of all ages enjoying our hotel. I can only hope that you are willing to provide us another chance at some other point in the year. I do note that you live locally and we would love for us to be your stay-cation choice!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here while researching wedding venues in the area. Absolutely loved the views and was very pleasantly surprised by the rooms. Did not have high hopes for the rooms as we arrives and parked around the side, thought it looked a little run down - but that is what their style is - a '70 surfer motel. Very creative fixtures and features - but please do not expect luxury accommodations, this is fun and young. The bar was a lot of fun too - sitting sipping our drinks in giant charis overlooking the sunset was so much fun! We also go to see a wedding in progress which was fun.

Room Tip: The little bungalows around the pool look like they would be worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Marie P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I hope you enjoyed the wedding ceremony and are still considering us for your upcoming nuptials! One of my favorite parts of our beach are the over-sized chairs as well and we love the vibe that we exude.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a renovated old-school hotel on the beach that the owners have tried to renovate into a modern, shabby-chic hotel, but didn't get it quite right.The rooms were awful. Small, dark (only one window and no overhead light), no fridge or micro, bathroom door didn't shut...can't remember a hotel room with a worse shower - aside from a cruise ship. There were some positives: The public areas were nice, including a large pool in the middle of the complex, nicely landscaped and live music. Towels are provided, and staff was very nice and helpful. It's also just a short walk to the beach, and this is toward the north end of St. Pete Beach, so it's not as crowded as the area around giant Trade Winds, which is just to the south. While we had a great time, we wouldn't go back. It's probably a great place for college kids looking for an inexpensive place on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard or pool, at least you don't walk out onto the blacktopped parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear LKM2012,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit to us. I'm glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some aspects of your stay but wanted to take a moment and address some of the negatives you mentioned in your review. Since we have renovated our rooms recently, we have addressed a lot of your concerns that you have mentioned. I would like to note a couple of items that weren't quite accurate. All guest rooms have at least two windows, side by side, while the poolside rooms do have 3 windows with an additional window on the opposite side of the room allowing for better lighting. One of the items that has not been addressed in our ongoing renovations is a floor lamp to provide additional lighting and we are currently sourcing these for all of our guest rooms. All of our shower heads are Speakman, which are an industry standard for low-flow efficient showers. I apologize if these weren't up to your standards. Lastly, while not all rooms come with a refrigerator we do have them available upon request and our poolside rooms will have kitchenettes installed with the upcoming renovations of those rooms.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and I hope you feel confident that we are constantly seeking ways to improve our guests experience. Hopefully, you are willing to provide us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Still here and loving it!
Exactly like pictures; if you want to step back in time and enjoy the service and picturesque beaches this is the place for you!
Our rooms are in the garden area; and towards parking lot.
Both quite at night- didn't hear anything at night except for rain and an occasional car. Safe and secure; updated without loosing the flair of it original coolness.
Absolutely recommend based on service alone- but the hippy chic design of the rooms and lobby make it a must stay.
Look forward to our next trip to Postcard Inn and we haven't even left yet!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear DebbieY58,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review while you were with us! I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to sharing your comments with the team. We love hearing that we have succeeded in our goal to provide excellent service in a unique atmosphere.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Another vacation to St Pete for spring break was excellent. The Postcard Inn is great value for our family and the kids loved the pool. The room was modern, clean, and colorful. The staff did a great job of taking care of all of our needs. The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly, The food was also good. We will be back on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Thomas M,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit with us! I'm glad to know you and your family had a great time while on your spring break and will be happy to share with the team! We pride ourselves on providing a fun and relaxing get-away for a variety of individuals and in your case we have succeeded!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Postcard Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn on the Beach

Address: 6300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From décor to dining, Postcard Inn is the Great American Escape. Rooms at our boutique St. Pete Beach hotel feature vintage lamps, surf photos, and old school desks and couches, modernized with WiFi and flat screen TVs. Many rooms have pool and ocean views, too. Postcard Inn offers two main drinking and dining options; the critically acclaimed Beechwood BBQ and PCI Beach Bar & Snack Shack. Enjoy excellent burgers and ice-cold beer all day long. Plus, if you have to mix business and pleasure, or are just looking to explore, downtown St. Petersburg and Tampa are both short drives away from the Postcard Inn in St. Pete Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Postcard Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postcard Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
St Pete Beach Travelodge
Travel Lodge St Pete Beach
Travel Lodge Saint Pete Beach
Travelodge Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Travelodge
Saint Pete Beach Travel Lodge
Postcard Inn On The Beach Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postcard Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.