We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Overnight at the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Postcard Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Postcard Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Postcard Inn on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick Overnight at the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were in town for the Corey Fresh Market and needed a nice place to stay. We were very happy with the accommodations it appears to be an older hotel that is being fixed up to look real trendy. The two queen beds and sofa made for a comfortable night sleep for the five of us. Breakfast was good at the on-site restaurant and the bartender on the beach was real nice (can't remember his name right now). We love that they have Tito's Vodka! Pool was very large and clean.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the parking lot, which wasn't a big deal since we were only there one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear ThriftTraveler1226,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you had an amazing stay while with us and also wanted to thank you for participating in the Corey Fresh Market!

We look forward to having you back soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    346
    194
    158
    146
See reviews for
273
438
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you're 20 something and looking for a beach-week atmosphere and cheap place to stay, this is the place. Everyone else should probably look elsewhere. There are no frills and nothing of what most people would consider "basic" amenities, like a free cup of coffee in the morning, or in room control over heat and air conditioning. You better like whatever temperature the management decides upon because there is no way to control it, not even a fan if you want to drown out the outside noise. If your goal is to lie on the beach or poolside, both are beautiful, but there is no lifeguard, no one to make sure you have a beach towel, and even the beach side snack bar never opened while we were there. There are no hotel-related beach concessions that we found (other than chairs and umbrellas for a fee). So, if you want to rent jet skis, bikes, kayaks, or If you want even the most rudimentary service, you'll have to go elsewhere. Our family of 4 spent five nights here in two different rooms (3 actually, if you count that they didn't have adjoining rooms as promised and we couldn't get into the first room assigned because of lock problems). There are no rugs, mats or carpeting. There will be sand (which isn't an issue until you get in or out of bed)! The bathrooms are European small, making some of the daily routine a little tricky. Although newly tiled, the renovations did not extend to include replacing cheap doors, shabby trim, and rusted metal shower hooks. Doors were removed from the center sections, but the hinges were just painted over. You will hear other guests, especially in the bathroom. We listened one morning to a guest above us apparently getting violently sick from what we guessed from the dialogue was too much partying the night before. This is more of an out-of-date motel than a hotel. We found one excellent staff member--Kendra. The rest ranged from inept, to passive aggressive, to hostile. One staff member called after us to 'have a nice day' in a very sarcastic tone. When we did not get the room arrangement promised (and re-confirmed) which then required us to move the next day, the management rewarded us with two free drink vouchers, which the bar then refused to honor, claiming they had not been 'validated.' We saw in a coupon book we picked up, that we could have gotten free vouchers anyway with just a coupon. The desk staff later told us there was no such thing as 'validating' the vouchers and they should have been honored. Instead of helping us or otherwise compensating us at that point, however, we were told to 'take them back to the bar and tell them they had to take them.' One feature we had looked forward to was the fire pit in the common area. Again, the staff ruined the experience with what we can only conclude were rules they made up on the spot because they wanted to go home. One night, two in our party sat down to enjoy the fire before 10pm only to have staff just shut it down, saying that it always closed at 10. The next night, there were people there until 11:30. Again, when we were enjoying the pit with other adult guests just chatting pleasantly and finally 'warming' to the Postcard, another staff member came by and told us that he wasn't telling us to leave, but that the sprinklers with 'nasty recycled water' were about to come on and we should probably leave. That turned out not to be true. The entire time we were there, the sprinklers never did come on once. What did come on with precision was a blaring stereo speaker just feet from our door that stayed on from 10am to 10pm every night. Since we had no fan to drown out the noise, we were stuck with it. The card keys turned out to be a huge problem. The first night, we never did get into one room--the management moved us, saying the lock was dead. This turned out to be the norm. The locks often took 3-5 tries to get in, and sometimes required going back to the front desk for help. We have never had such a problem with locks anywhere in the world. We tried the restaurant--once. While waiting for our food, an enormous palmetto bugs (Florida version of the smaller, northern cockroach) walked across the wall. Our waiter, who was otherwise very attentive and congenial, managed to get it to the floor after it reached the bar glasses and squash it in front of us. The restaurant is also rather small, resulting in long waits if more than a few people try to eat there. They have one coffee urn where you can buy coffee with free refills until a set time for just under $3. With so many people, however, they do run out, and it can take 15 - 20 minutes before a fresh batch comes out. There are expansive large areas in the lobby some with attractive, inviting seating, but unfortunately, not much else to attract people there--we rarely saw anyone sitting in them. After leaving, the property sent us a detailed survey form which we dutifully filled out in great detail. Then, consistent with our experience at the Postcard Inn, got no response--nothing. Not even a 'thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.' We really wanted to like this place and we think we gave the management more than ample opportunity to 'make it right.' If you're really curious, wait a year until they get their act together. We could go on, but you should have a pretty good snapshot of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Maryland54,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I'm very sorry to hear that you had such a bad stay while with us. As I understand it, there was a glitch with our survey system and although you did not receive an automatic response, our General Manager has reached out to you to resolve this matter. Please feel free to contact me directly if this is not the case, as we would like to ensure you are satisfied with the resolution.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponce inlet
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

News years eve at St Pete's Beach! Busy hotel with lots going on. Fun, clean and totally eclectic. Mostly younger group, but still there was a good mix of ages. Nothing fancy by any means, but good. Was recently at the Casa Camper in Barcelona, similar style, but not up to Casa Camper yet.
.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear barb I,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you had an amazing time with us on New Year's Eve! It was a very fun party and a great time for all of our guests! I would like to take this moment to let you know that we are in the process of renovating the guest rooms to better your experience the next time you come to stay with us. Some of the improvements include new tile flooring, sound-proofing and new doors and locks.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I enjoyed my visit to the Postcard Inn and thought the location and view was great. The poolside service was good as well as the Tiki bar. The people who were staying at the hotel were friendly and everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves. Relaxed atmosphere. The food was also reasonably priced and very good. I am currently setting up reservations for my son and his fiance's honeymoon - that's how much I liked the Inn!

Room Tip: The tiki bar and poolside service was great. I loved the lobby and the homey feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear marishka s,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. I'm glad to hear you had such a great experience. I would like to note that we are in the process of renovating our guest rooms, which include replacing the flooring, new doors and locks and sound-proofing! This should significantly enhance your next visit with us! Also, I'd like to thank you for referring your son and his fiance to us for their honeymoon. One of the best compliments we could receive!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Enjoyed the property itself. Staff, restaurant, decor, pool, etc. Right on the beach, excellent location. Walking distance to many dining options. Loved the decor of the room, did not like the thin walls. 2am each morning there were people in the parking lot and the room upstairs making a bit of noise. AC/Heat may or may not have worked.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear offislandmom,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I'm glad to hear that you had a great time while with us. I would like to note that we are in the process fo renovating our guest rooms. Some of these improvements include new tile floors, sound-proofing and new doors and locks. This should significantly enhance your experience the next time you come to stay with us!

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

rooms have paper thin walls. Tiki bar was terrific, and restaurant was top notch bbq. Pool area was very nice. Best part was the location though, as it was right on the beach. I would recommend spending a couple of extra dollars to get a garden side room, as the other rooms overlook the parking lot.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in a garden room, for our entire two week vacation to St Petes Beach, all I can say is basic but clean, hotel accommodation.
Excellent restaurant, beach bar, and the beach wow.
Opinions vary reading the various reviews, but we found and experienced a generally well run establishment, with friendly staff and an excellent location, for the many excellent local restaurants, shops. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear martyboy,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. I'm glad to know you had a great time while with us for a long period of time and got to experience the property fully. We strive to provide our guests with a unique and relaxing experience and our team will be happy to hear your comments.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Postcard Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn on the Beach

Address: 6300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From décor to dining, Postcard Inn is the Great American Escape. Rooms at our boutique St. Pete Beach hotel feature vintage lamps, surf photos, and old school desks and couches, modernized with WiFi and flat screen TVs. Many rooms have pool and ocean views, too. Postcard Inn offers two main drinking and dining options; the critically acclaimed Beechwood BBQ and PCI Beach Bar & Snack Shack. Enjoy excellent burgers and ice-cold beer all day long. Plus, if you have to mix business and pleasure, or are just looking to explore, downtown St. Petersburg and Tampa are both short drives away from the Postcard Inn in St. Pete Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Postcard Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postcard Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
St Pete Beach Travelodge
Travel Lodge St Pete Beach
Travel Lodge Saint Pete Beach
Travelodge Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Travelodge
Saint Pete Beach Travel Lodge
Postcard Inn On The Beach Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postcard Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.