We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to love - but not for everyone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Postcard Inn on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Postcard Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Postcard Inn on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So much to love - but not for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just got back from a stay at PCI. First of all, the good: This is a laid-back beach resort that has an "old Florida vibe". The rooms are decorated beautifully. It's like an Instagram photo has come to life. The entire concept of the hotel is cool - they took an old (think Route 66 - roadside Americana) beach hotel and completely updated it.

It does, however, draw a young and very partying crowd. Tons of drinking in and around the pool and people behaving the way that they do when they've been drinking all day. If that bothers you, this is not the place for you.

A few things that could be improved - With the exception of the beach attendant, who was friendly and happy - the staff was a little too cool and aloof for a hospitality industry. We were not given wristbands for the pool or a Wifi card when we checked in and had to ask for one, and the pool area was not kept nearly as clean as it should have been. We also had security bang on our door late at night, and then open it with a key card. The lock was on, so I had to get up and the security person was not dressed officially. He said he needed to get in because our bathroom was flooding the room underneath (it wasn't). No apology for opening the door or banging on it at night. The whole thing was just weird and a little unsettling and could have been handled much more professionally. Honestly - this hotel has SO MUCH POTENTIAL to be incredible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. Although you enjoyed your experience it sounds like we fell short in some areas regarding service. We apologize for the issue with security disturbing in the evening. We have shared your feedback with our team members as service is always a focus of ours. Please contact me directly if you'd like to further discuss this challenge.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    403
    217
    169
    162
See reviews for
296
486
48
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay that was great! The service from the front desk couldn't have been any better! They were very accommodating to all of our request and very friendly. The restaurant just recently started serving breakfast, so it was still in the transition phase, with the food being great one morning to so-so the next, but it offered great hours to serve from 7am-11am (or a little later if needed). The bathrooms are very small, but all the decor was freshly updated and fun! Overall we couldn't have been happier!! Thanks PCI for a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the kind words about your recent experience. We love sharing comments like these with our staff. Thanks for your business and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am a local and booked on priceline. it was suppossed to be a 3 star hotel.. 1/2 star at best.
Very loud,, right by the service elevator and rain came in thru under my door. No elevator for guests, if you stay on second floor pack lightly or you will have to lug your bags up the stairs. Understaffed and moldy. No refrigerator and bad lighting. Staff will not help you with anything. The worst hotel I ever stayed at....save your money.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here....crappy, crappy and crappy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your experience. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your experience. Although we do not have an elevator on property, our friendly staff are always willing to assist if anyone would need assistance to our 2nd floor. We also now have refrigerator/microwave combos available upon request. Please contact me directly if you'd like to further discuss your experience.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I arrived fri July 19 for a long birthday weekend. Our room for the 1st night was considered there classic room, not much to talk about just slightly above a motel six, however the bed was very comfortable, the down side of the room is it faces the parking lot. The next morning I requested an upgrade and the front desk was very accomodating. I really have to let you know the staff here is wonderful. So we were upgraded to there garden room on the 1st floor same type of room as the classic just a much better view! The garden area was one of our favorite places to be in the evening lots of comfy outdoor furniture to sit and relax on! The average age of the weekend crowd is 20 30, so if your looking for quiet place this is not for you. The tiki bar on the beach is very popular. The pool and beach are both wonderful plan on spending some cash for a beach cabana and you will definitely need it. Ok so with all my wonderful praise why did I rate the hotel poor, unfortunately on the last night we killed 2 coach roaches in the bathroom and because the walls are so thin we could hear in the room next to us they were having the same issue. Also the next morning in the hotel restaurant a cock roach ran across a table where customers were eating breakfast. I did let the front desk know of the pest problem and she advised me they have a company come out to spray every other week. Perhaps they need to come out everyday until the pest are gone. So sorry postcard inn I won't be planning another trip to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent experience. I am so sorry your stay did not go well for the entire length of your visit. We do have an aggressive pest control program which is necessary with our exterior entrances. Some of the improvements we have upcoming in the near future include new guest doors and locks and sound-proofing of the guest rooms. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great stay. Please contact me directly if you'd like to discuss in further detail.

Thanks,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Checked into our room and the first though was ... it could be worse! Rooms are nasty. Bathrooms are nastier. The walls are peeling. Bath faucets squeak loud. The bathtub had water under the liner so when you step on it, it squishes from one side to another. We heard full conversations from all the rooms sharing any walls with our room. When neighbors turned on water, it sounded like it was next to our ears. Pot smell filled our room from next door. Husband kicked huge cockroach. We ended up calling priceline at 1am, got our money back, packed up with our 4 month old and went to another hotel at 2am. This hotel should not be rated anything over 2 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience. We are very sorry you did not have an enjoyable visit. We'd love to make this right for you. Please contact me directly at jflanery@postcardinn.com. We have issued you a refund via priceline but would enjoy an opportunity to make this experience up.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked the hotel as a couple and our 9 year old from July 5 to 12th. Our parents who are in their 70s also joined us. We all loved the location and the staff was very good, however, the noise was unbearable. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the other rooms. Also, the hotel plays music too loudly on speakers throughout the courtyard from 10:00am till late at night. This is definitely not a hotel to relax. The bar and adjoining public parking attracts party crowds, adding to the noise at night. The staff was helpful and the decor was cool-looking.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jflanery, Manager at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your experience. We strive to provide excellent service in a laid back atmosphere. I'm sorry the rooms were a little noisy. We have heard this comment before and are addressing this by soundproofing our rooms by the end of the year. Hopefully we will see you come back and enjoy this and many other improvements we are making for our guests.

Sincerely,

Jeremy Flanery
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were impressed with the people who work at this hotel, from the general manager who spent quite a long time chatting with us in the lobby/reading area, to our waitress in the restaurant, to the desk help and the cleaning people. Everyone was friendly.
The decor is a kick! Not quite as upscale as the website looks, but once we saw what they were about it all fit. Everything was clean, if sometimes in need of repair.
We loved being on the beach, and the bar is great fun. Our first night it got very raucous and we felt a bit like grandparents watching a wild party; I imagine some people might be put off but we love a good show. It is a younger group for the most part but there were families there also.
It is a good value for being on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Director of Sales at Postcard Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
I like the Retro Surf Funk title. We are funky type of place. Fun, Fun and more Fun. You are never to old to have fun. Thank you for your review and I will share it with the staff. We all hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Postcard Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postcard Inn on the Beach

Address: 6300 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Postcard Inn on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From décor to dining, Postcard Inn is the Great American Escape. Rooms at our boutique St. Pete Beach hotel feature vintage lamps, surf photos, and old school desks and couches, modernized with WiFi and flat screen TVs. Many rooms have pool and ocean views, too. Postcard Inn offers two main drinking and dining options; the critically acclaimed Beechwood BBQ and PCI Beach Bar & Snack Shack. Enjoy excellent burgers and ice-cold beer all day long. Plus, if you have to mix business and pleasure, or are just looking to explore, downtown St. Petersburg and Tampa are both short drives away from the Postcard Inn in St. Pete Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Postcard Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postcard Inn On The Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
St Pete Beach Travelodge
Travel Lodge St Pete Beach
Travel Lodge Saint Pete Beach
Travelodge Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Travelodge
Saint Pete Beach Travel Lodge
Postcard Inn On The Beach Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postcard Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.