We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“A Perfect Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The TradeWinds is the perfect beach getaway for anybody with a taste for the perfect blend of fun and relaxation. We happen to be parents of an adventurous 11-year-old girl who loves the giant slide, the paddleboats and most of all, Redbeard the Pirate, who's Saturday stories, songs and shark-tooth necklaces she finds particularly dazzling!
But long before we we were parents, we were married in a beachside ceremony at the TradeWinds. The resort helped organize and execute the event and following reception flawlessly, providing us and over 60 guests with beautiful memories. We make it a point to return year after year.
So whether you're looking for a great place to bond with your family, or a romantic place to start one, the TradeWinds never fails to accommodate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,949
    804
    392
    253
    159
See reviews for
1380
693
60
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have been going to Tradewinds Resort for the last four years as one of our mini vacations, since we live in Tampa Bay. Always have had a wonderful time and you couldnt ask for a more well rounded resort everyone on the family- including the family pet!
Im not one to complain, even when I should, but acouple of unexpected problems did arrive that I felt I had to make it known and felt that the issue in hand should be addressed!
Then I met Doug -lets just let him be known as the ' Director of Happiness', listening to my every whim, Director Doug had no problem in making me feel as if nothing had happened and made good to my family and I. Bravo, Doug- keep up the excellent work and we wil be back next year same time same date.
Danica Worley-Malay
Tampa, Fl.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had the entire family meet att he TradeWinds Island Grand to celebrate my mother-in-law's 90th birthday. It was a hit! Everyone had a fabulous time. The resort was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We ranged in ages from 3 to 90 and everyone had a ball. There was something for everyone. We can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We picked this hotel because they claimed to be kid friendly with kid actives. First of let me talk about our room.. We had a suite with the Garden View. We were on the 6th floor and actually could see the ocean. It was a good ocean view too. First day we went to cook dinner... Stove top didn't work. Call and maintence was at our room in 10 mins... Crazy fast. He fixed the stove, apparently the cleaning lady didn't plug the burners in. Then the next day we went to the beach had fun. Came back up to the room and both kids slipped and fell on the tile floor. Cleaning lady had turned it down to 68 degrees, our lovely door had a 1" gap under it to the outside. I stuck my hand under the door to the outside. Which brought in all the moist air from out side mixed with the 68 degrees and covered the floor with condensation. Called maintance and they fixed it this time was more like 40 mins.

Second day paid for the tie die activity... what a waist of money. My 8 year daughter didn't do anything. They had her sit in a chair and watch the teenage kids who were running do it all. I should have just bought a shirt at the gift shop. The point was for her to make it not watch.

One day the cleaning lady only cleaned 1/2 the room left all the trash, left the towels on the bed and left a bottle of her cleaner in the kitchen. The next day our room was never clean.

Movie Night was canceled on the change of rain... there was absolutely no rain or wind for that matter. The hula hoop contest was also canceled on the chance or rain.

Next night at 9:30pm a Rock Concert started outside of our room. Seriously a rock concert in a kids resort at 9:30pm. I called the front desk they said it would end at 10:00 pm... 10:45 they finally stopped.

The Pirate Show... granted it was free but it was the saddest excuse for a pirate let alone a show. It was bad.. 8 families got up and left before we gave up on it. The jokes were dirty, were talking sexual content. I expected to see the pirate drive off on a Harley motor cycle, not in a pirate ship. Come to think of it he was dressed like a Harley Rider.

Apparently the hotel in undergoing renovations... we were not lucky enough to get a room that was finished... we had mold growing on the air vents and water stains on the ceiling. The outside walk way was carpet.... mildew covered carpet. The beds were also rock hard.

The beach was awful.. Granted it’s not the hotels fault but it needs to be said. I would say the beach was 80% broken sea shells and 20% sand. I thought St. Pete’s beach was suppose to be one of the better ones but Destin Fl was much nicer and real soft sand.

For the Kind of money you have to spend to stay here it was not worth the money, especially when all the activities are canceled on the chance of rain. Or the ones they do have the kids just sit back and watch there stuff get made for them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a nice one bedroom suite with full kitchen overlooking the Gulf with our 2 kids in the their early 20s. Although there is an adult side of the resort at the Sandpiper, we chose to stay in a newly remodeled suite at Island Grand. Suite was very nice and included free wireless, but the air conditioner rattled. The resort is centered around young kids and we found it loud, especially the night activities at the pool sitting out on our balcony. The view from our room included a huge water slide.There are not many choices for restaurants in the area other than on the resort within walking distance. Beach is wide and pretty, and free beach cabanas were really great. We asked for a second one even though each room gets one, and they were very accomodating. The concierge told us there is a free beach cab from the hotel but we were by a guest told its more like a big golf cart and not insured so beware. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Elevators are hot and slow. There is a small store in the lobby and a large grocery store about a half mile away. The resort has one adult pool on this property that was a welcome relief with a Tiki Bar attached. There is a convenient beach trolley that runs up and down the Gulf.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Brilliant location, brilliant hotel and amenities. Go and see for yourself. Dated. You must be joking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Finally had an opportunity to see first hand what other industry collegues had told me about over the years! The Tradewinds Resort was even better that I imagined, and even though my time was limited, I'm so glad that I had the chance to see and explore the whole place. From the ease and comfort of check in to the expansive and impressive meeting space not to mention the exciting variety of fun activities all over their beautiful grounds, I just couldn't have been more impressed. And also during my stay I had the pleasure of participating in some of the most exquisitely catered group functions I've seen in a long, long time, and that's saying a lot as I've been doing industry events all over the world for a number of years now! I would definitely give this facility high marks in all areas, and look forward to returning with groups or on individual stays in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.