We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family beach hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dolphin Tale 2 Getaway
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great family beach hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here with kids age nearly 3 and 6 months. Location by beach was fantastic - lovely touch having a box of kids sand toys for borrow and return. Always loads of beds by the pool and our daughter enjoyed some of the organised activities - we still have Captain Blackbeards Pirate Necklace that was made. The rooms are a bit dated but the apartment was clean and gave us a separate room to chill in while the kids were in bed. Note to people with babies who need boiled water for bottles - coffee making facilities equals a coffee maker so we had to boil the water in the microwave - really missed having a kettle! We stayed end of Nov / beginning Dec and had amazing (apparently unseasonal) warm Florida sunshine every day.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    894
    439
    287
    172
See reviews for
1,510
764
63
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed 2 nights here. Requested an upgraded room for $50 more per night only to be told by the bell staff that all rooms are the same size unless you book a suite. We requested a balcony and when we got to the room the railings are so far apart a large person can fall through if not careful. We were on the 7th floor. Children could not go out onto the balcony at all.

My granddaughter had bugs in her crib "gross". The front desk manager Jennifer said they would come up and spray pesticides in our room which I refused. They would not move us to another room.

There was not cold water to rinse after brushing our teeth, only scalding hot water all day long. That makes you use the cold water and drinks out of their frig in the room. We had no choice in the matter. When I called Travis, the general manager, he was no help either. They don't care about their customers. The parking is also terrible, you can be sure to get some door dings with the close parking spots. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Stay elsewhere to have a good time!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Very disappointing. When checking in, was told for $30 a night, we could have a room with a view. Our room looked out over the roof. First night, turned on shower, no water then scalding hot water. Maintenance said there was a faulty "mixer". We were moved to another room. Asked manager if we could have at least $25 off our bill for the inconvenience he told us those things happen and too bad. I guess I thought a four star hotel might have water for a shower. Concierge and travel desk were very nice. . Front desk not very helpful. Last night music was very loud. Couldn't sleep

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

From the time we pulled in to the time we pulled out it was one issue after teh next. The front desk staff was fine the manager Neil was a real tool. His manager Jennifer not too much better. the lines were ridiculous and everybody talks down to you as if you were a complete idiot. Thee room was nice but when you pay over $300 a night you at the least expect a private balcony but I could see, hear and smell the people above, below and beside me. Come to find out my neighbors had an issue with bed bugs and had to change rooms. The rates are inconsistent there were people on the beach paying over half of what I was paying for the same exact rooms. The children activities were ok but very pricey. The activities staff was amazing. Still long lines at check out and the bellman was fine but the time it took I could have brought down the luggage myself. Overall there are lots of amenities but they are all mediocre. Tradewinds advertisies 5 pools but they are all tiny and the hot tubs are full of children. The gym equipment is old and it looks as if they just repaint it. The amenity fee is overpriced because the free internet is terricly spotty almost impossible to get a signal and parking which is included is touch and go if yoiu can find a spot great if not the attitude is OH WELL.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Hotel was very clean, Room updated and furnished nicely. Pools and hot tub were clean.
Lots of food and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We were there for the wedding, wedding and the reception were very nice. The hotel itsef is fine, location is great, kids club is wonderful. But! you have to pay for everything, parking fee is included in the resort fee. Kids club - $30-$40 for the evening/morning (food included). Beach slide was fun! but $4 per ride. Overall, it is an OK hotel, good but expencive for the beach vacation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Rooms could use an update, and perhaps have quieter portions of the resort, but all in all, lots of good restaurants, but surrounded by plenty more great eateries. Beachfront is key and resort ammenity fee is reasonable for what you get. Friendly staff. Had Gulf View Balcony Suite and were pleased. Immediate access to water activities and Concierge was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more! Island Grand offers 11 dining and entertainment venues including Palm Court Italian Grill, Bermuda's Steak & Seafood along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation that gives you more bang for your beach and comes loaded with more to do than any other place in Florida. It's your perfect Florida getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.