We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dolphin Tale 2 Getaway
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alabama
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice beach stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Trade winds is sprawling and offers some nice extras. Several pools, paddle boats, and a giant slide are some of the perks. A number of restaurants are on property plus an ice cream shop. Our room had a balcony with a view of the beach. We also had a small fridge and a microwave. We paid a little more for this but thought that it was worth it. There is plenty of parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Breckenridge so we had a nice beach view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    894
    439
    287
    172
See reviews for
1,510
764
63
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the TradeWinds Island in April and loved it. The kids and adults had fun on the 3-story slide on the beach. The beach and water were wonderful. A great night time recommendation was St John's Pass which is a few miles north of the hotel by car with many restaurants and a boardwalk. A restaurant across from the TradeWinds, Skidders, was less costly than on premises and had a good breakfast.

The beach slide was free as a TradeWinds guest, however, the water inflatable area was a cost. Glad we didn't pay for the water inflatable area as it had a leak in one of the structures so it was taken down. Water inflatable area did not get setup on the last day we were there for whatever reason (as its sub-contracted from hotel). Wouldn't recommend paying for it.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are found facing the north or south. Beach facing rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four nights at the beginning of our holiday in Florida. This hotel is very convenient after the long flight from the UK.
We asked for a quiet room and that's what we got. This hotel is very much geared up for families so to some extent I don't feel we were able to get the most out of it as a couple. The room was very comfortable with two large separate beds which is often the norm in the USA. The hotel complex is on the beach. We spent some time in one of the complimentary cabanas on the beach which was very comfortable.
I can't comment on any of the restaurants in the hotel as we didn't eat there. We had breakfast at Skidders and dinner at Silas Dents both across the road which I can recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this resort for a conference this week. The rooms are very spacious, the staff very courteous,helpful and friendly. There are 5 bars ,5 pools , a giant waterslide and a free cabana with your room price. Food although not gourmet, was good. Many nice intimate restaurants close by cab. We chose Cafe Luna just 5 minutes by cab and it was delicious. This hotel is perfect for families, couples or large or small conferences. They managed so well the ever changing weather conditions and made things look easy to provide. I need to say that blonde curly hair conference staff leader in the front lobby area should get a raise. What a team leader. She kept multiple conference attendees focused, fed and happy. She gets a 5 star rating. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any of the above reasons. And be sure to check out the bar crawl. Pick up a passport for the bar crawl at one of the bars and after having a drink at each of the 5 bars and one appetizer you are given a free t-shirt. Nice touch

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wish I could write a glowing review, but sadly I can't. We arrived at 3.00 pm and our room wasn't ready. We had to return a hour later. The receptionist spouted out a mantra which was said at such a speed that it was hard to comprehend. The greeting both from the man at the entrance barrier or reception was far from friendly.
We knew that there was a "resort fee" which was 35 dollars per night. Quite what you get for this still isn't clear. Use of the swimming pools? Use of a cabana? Frankly I have stayed in far better places without any extras.
Our room had a sitting room, bedroom and an efficiency kitchen which was useful.
However the bathroom was very dated with a poor shower (no tub) and absolutely nowhere to put our toiletries. To sum up this resort is great for families, but not the ideal place for couples. The noise in the pool areas was horrendous. I would never want to stay here again and frankly if the accommodation had not been paid for in advance we would have left immediately.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This the second review about this place, the first one was removed...

This place is awful. Overpriced, poor attitude of staff, overcrowded, they actually sell day passes to locals, so chairs at the pool are hard to get. Food is shamelessly overpriced and inedible. We paid full price, $550 + $35 a night to be elbow to elbow with trailer park trash. This place has tremendous potential but is so poorly managed that you should just run away. The extra people at the pools causes tremendous chaos. I was watching my 5 and 7 year old in one of the pools (no lifeguards) and a little girl, about 6, started crying and asked me to help her find her parents. I helped her look for her mom and dad, great parents abandoning their 6 year old, who we eventually found. When I got back to the pool my 7 year old daughter told me that a man had tried to take her out of the pool. This is true, the Pinellas County Sheriff took a report on 3/29/15, call them if you don't believe me (727-582-6200). Additionally, when we got home i got an email asking me to complete a survey, I completed the survey factually and unemotionally, not even getting into the attempted abduction of my daughter. I received an email from and administrative assistant which said we are sorry that...and then listed the items in the survey that I mentioned were sub-par; the items were in a different font size. Clearly this was just a cut and paste email that they send, with no sincerity.

As to the incident with my daughter, I will compliment the security staff, as they flooded the area with officers, and they brought in the sheriff's deputy. The good is that they took this issue so seriously, the bad is that they had to start checking people for room keys or wristbands; my point is that if they did not allow so many non-guests into the resort, perhaps it would be safer. Also, the day trippers were not shy about bringing in their own coolers of Busch beer (yes Busch) and lining them up on the edge of the pool...THEIR IS NO OVERSIGHT AT THIS PLACE

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 5th year at Tradewinds! Every year it gets better and better...love this place. This year we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite gulf view and it was near the pool, one of my favorite room by far! Staff is always amazing and very helpful!! So many things to do mini gulf, spa treatments, dive in movies, s'mores and sandbox (at Guy Harvey), paddle boarding, paddle boat, bungee trampoline, painting crafts at the Konk Club (my daughter loves going there), water slide, cabana time (don't forget to your reso for front row, so worth it), making shake tooth necklace with cpt red beard, the pirate show, and corn hole...yes we did it all. We had a amazing dinner (1st time) at Rum Fish Grill, service and food was great!! We also dined at Guys Gulfside grill they have the best fish tacos!! Bermudas steak and seafood is always great we had a nice bottle of Chardonnay from Napa, nice recommendation from our server! Lunch at the flying bridge the seafood chowder and couch fritters is a must have!!
Once again a wonderful stay at Tradewinds Island grand!!!!!! can't wait for next year!!

Room Tip: upgrade to a gulf view...it is worth $!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more! Island Grand offers 11 dining and entertainment venues including Palm Court Italian Grill, Bermuda's Steak & Seafood along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation that gives you more bang for your beach and comes loaded with more to do than any other place in Florida. It's your perfect Florida getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.