We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOO little time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Busch Gardens Stay & Play
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Peters, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“TOO little time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great Hotel. I Was here for a conference and plan to come back. Very kid friendly but was good for all ages. .Restaurants were very good and had plenty of variety. Be sure to visit the fish aquarium at Paul Harvey's Restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view. Magnificent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    854
    423
    278
    168
See reviews for
1,455
743
62
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Overall, our stay at the Tradewinds was just okay. Our room was average, it was located in the older section of the resort near the pool, which was very loud. I would recommend this resort to families, but not couples.

Also, if anyone has any issues with mobility, such as a wheelchair, scooter or walker. I would only recommend staying in the main building. The ramps and boardwalks getting to the other parts of the resort can be difficult to navigate.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Clearly this is one beautiful spot to be. Gulf of Mexico steps away from my room. Restraunts galore. Everyone (staff) has been very polite. Family friendly with pools, paddle boat rides and a giant slide on the beach! If you haven't been. Come on down. My second time here.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The resort is beautiful and quite relaxing . But can also be exhilarating if you want. Variety of food and drink options / restaurants. We were there for a long weekend for a wedding . Our rooms were all outstanding . We had 5 rooms including one for handicapped, one for family with small children, one for older couple, and 2 young couples. The bell staff was amazing. They helped our family tremendously getting them everywhere by golf cart. We tried all the restaurants and the food quality was very good. The staff, whether wait staff, housekeeping , or front desk , etcetera were so helpful and friendly. Although many might consider the resort to be expensive, we felt that we truly got a terrific experience there.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for a week -- Feb 21 to 28, and it exceeded our expectations. Our room -- seventh floor Breckenridge with view of the street (we had booked thru Expedia) was very comfortable, very clean, with all amenities, coffee maker, roomy fridge, microwave. The showers were hot with good water pressure. Palm Court restaurant was the best dinner we had all week, with Rumfish (in the sister hotel) coming second. This was a surprise. We loved the little bar with the fireplace and live entertainment (it had "shark" in its name and was hidden in a small building in the middle of the resort). The weather was not great, so didn't get to check out the beach or pools, but it was warm enough for golf which we did 5 days out of 7. All in all, I was very pleasantly surprised. Have been coming to SPB for years, always staying at a condo, and was somewhat disdainful of the beach hotels but this one was great!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As a BlueGreen Premier owner I stayed in the Breckenridge building. The resort is old and run down and the walls are paper thin. On Saturday night, Feb 28, 2015 there was noise so loud coming from the pavilion outside my window on the 4th floor that I was unable to hear the tv in my room which was turned up as high as it would go. I called the front desk 5 times to report the disturbance. I was told that the party had a contract with the resort and that they could play their music until 10:00 PM. After an hour, I called the local police and reported the disturbance. Avoid this place. Anywhere on St Pete's beach is better than this dive.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the time you are greeted at the gate,an called by name as they gladly open your car door you feel welcome. Guest services is knowledgable of the accomedationsan get you checked in, in a timely manner.Then the awsome adventure begins! There is so much for you to do on the properties resort. Five restauants on the Grada resort. Then you have the Guy Harvey resort two doors down.Swim with the fish while others dine or be a guest to Sunday brunch which is awsome. Ask for Melissa M for excellent service.She can tell you the history of how Guy Harveys aquarium came about! Just let go at a cabaña, or go down there famous slide, or paddle boat. Awsome Resort worth the money!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.