We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business and pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dolphin Tale 2 Getaway
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great for business and pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were here for seminar and a little R and R. I spent several days in meetings and my wife got to enjoy the beach and amenities. Check in was easy but a little slow due to a lot of volume. They explain all the charges etc at check in and that was a little overwhelming but glad they did so.
Good place for meetings. Room temps were perfect and no glitches with A-V equipment.
The meals prepared for the meetings were very good. First meeting in 20 years I have been attending that had strip steak as one of the food choices.
I agree with some of the other reviewers in that the place could use some refurbish. Looks like they spent a lot in the public areas and little in the room areas.
Our room was clean and quiet but a little dated. The bed was comfortable and the room had a lot of outlets for chargers etc.
Ate at beach side cafe and food was good and reasonable for a resort.Breakfast buffet at Bahamas for 16 was the best food deal there.
Bartender doesn't realize drinks should have more than just mix in them. Had several adult beverages and never did taste and alcohol. At ten bucks a pop a little booze would be nice.
Beach is nice and clean with plenty of cabanas available.
Resort was very busy but never seemed crowded any place we went.
Yes things are pricey but you don't have to leave for anything.
Great place for kids with the largest water slide on beach.
New dilemma for us,Trade winds resort or Lido Beach resort.

Room Tip: We were in 7225,no window or view but separate entrance from hallway and next to penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    832
    407
    268
    161
See reviews for
1,418
725
61
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The wife & I were there for a week up to labor day, and I must say that the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Plenty of things to do, and a lovely beech front for doing nothing but laying in the sun. The place has several pools for families an a adult pool too, also plenty of places to eat right at the resort. Our only complaint would be concerning the terrace that came with our Oceanside view room, it was very narrow and not enough room to really stretch out. Other then that it was a great place to stay on vacation.

Room Tip: Couples request an Oceanside room, families request a room on the lower level and off the pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I want to commend Denise@Beefs and Ivan@Beefs for making up for my horrible experience at Guy Harvey Outpost. I have been visiting Island Grand for 4+ years and I have always gotten excellent service from their employees, great food, beautiful beach. This year it was booked for my traditional stay during the Labor Day weekend and I booked at Guy Harvey Outpost assuming I would get the same great service ----- WRONG.

I got their, no were to park to check in, no bellman, Derrick at the font desk really did not seem to care. The other guy at the front desk seemed to also think it was a joke.

Among all other things the same day:

The guy in the parking lot wanted me to park in the bushes, were my car was as risk of getting hit.
No toilet paper in the room
Hamburger smelled like cow
No creamer or sugar in room

I was definitely not going to eat there anymore, so I went to Beef O'Brady's the next day for lunch. While having lunch I told my server Denise about my ordeal; she felt something needed to be done. She told her Manager Ivan who apologized for all my grief and picked up my food tab. Thank you, Ivan and Denise I will promise tho be back at Island Grand.

For you Guy Harvey Outpost, never again. Step up your game, you seemed understaffed and some of your guest services employees need to be retrained or let go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Slightly expensive but so worth it when travelling with older children. The restaurants and bars are superb. Fantastic food at several restaurants. Kids particularly loved the Pizza Hut and ice cream counter. The beach is fantastic.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex,uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On arrival its very welcoming. Free self parking which was very busy at the weekend. Check in took a while and hotel was always busy with a wedding or convention going on. Walk to the rooms in open corridor was very wet if it was raining and wind howled down the corridor sometimes at night. we were 5th floor in Jacaranda. We were very suprised to know they had just spent $20million on refurbishments. There were 2 standard doubles in the first area. Storage for 5 was very limited to one small drawer for 4 people ..where is the 5th person supposed to put their clothes ? Bathroom fine.Like one youd get at home, basic .Living area was ok.table and chairs for 4 only.kitchen VERY basic and no where to actually put any food except on top of the fridge which was not cleaned.pan handles all lose, no kettle so had to boil water in dodgy pan. thankfully it had a toaster and microwave for breakfast made easier. 5th bed is the sofa which is infact bigger than the double beds..just the usual palava getting it out each day. Kids loved the slide on the beach which was free for guests, as was ONE double cabana which you can prebook the night before. There are 5 of us..where are the other 3 supposed to sit ? Told we would have to pay for extra cabanas $15 each per day and we would need 2 extra..i dont think so..felt cheated especially as there were LOADS of unused cabanas when we were there. so stayed by the pool on free loungers.large pool shut on arrival so 3 kids (who cant use adult pool of course) had to use the small pool near the kids club.Didnt eat at the hotel as restaurant seemed a bit too glam for families. We did have lunch at the Flying Bridge $10 for cocktails (Im not sure they ever put alcohol in it as i get light headed quick but didnt with these)Lunch was nice but a bit samey.The staff at flying bridge in particular were great. I think one was called rob and he was always offering really useful information to make sure we had the most from our stay. Beach guys generally miserable and not very forthcoming or friendly. made us feel we were interupting them most times if we aproached them. Mini golf,hmmmm.. enough said. This hotel was ok..average. suprised Virgin recommend it to be honest. Felt like a slightly upper class motel at times so i was really dissapointed.Loved watching the dolphins. we upgraded to a gulf view and it was lovely, just not sure why some had proper balconies, our balcony was about 20cm deep so not really a balcony at all. Air con was great during the day but seemed not to be able to cope at night for some reason. An average hotel, no thrills except a big slide and a cabana if one is enough for you.

Room Tip: Only recommendation is to have a gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great hotel. Loved the inflatable waterslide and the cabanas on the beachfront, as well as the pool games and movie night. Staff is very nice and helpful. They always have a smile on their face and are willing to help. Had a great time, can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Angela, glad to hear you enjoyed the beach and our staff. We hope to see you back on the beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a few days here as a break from the manic parks of Orlando. I will be very brief. The beach is magnificent, there is plenty to do, the pools are great and the entertainment is fine.

However, the rooms are like cells. We paid the best part of $200 a night in a room with no space, a bathroom so small the sink was in a separate part, the shower literally dribbled out and for the amount charged i am sure we could have got better value for our money.

The hotel is dated frankly. And I doubt very much we will return.

Room Tip: Spend real money to get a suite! Or you will end up in a cell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.