We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE BEACH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOVE THE BEACH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great hotel. Loved the inflatable waterslide and the cabanas on the beachfront, as well as the pool games and movie night. Staff is very nice and helpful. They always have a smile on their face and are willing to help. Had a great time, can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Angela, glad to hear you enjoyed the beach and our staff. We hope to see you back on the beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,103
    911
    449
    288
    175
See reviews for
1,538
774
63
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,013)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a few days here as a break from the manic parks of Orlando. I will be very brief. The beach is magnificent, there is plenty to do, the pools are great and the entertainment is fine.

However, the rooms are like cells. We paid the best part of $200 a night in a room with no space, a bathroom so small the sink was in a separate part, the shower literally dribbled out and for the amount charged i am sure we could have got better value for our money.

The hotel is dated frankly. And I doubt very much we will return.

Room Tip: Spend real money to get a suite! Or you will end up in a cell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

1- Zach Caruso is the entertainment @ Salty's today and he is rocking the place in spite of a rainy start.
2- The bartenders (Elaine, Adrienne, Jenn, Ban, & David) are top shelf. Excellent service, perfect location. Think you're down in the Islands. :-)
Love this place can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thank you Salty's! Adrienne, Elaine were the best bartenders ever! Be sure to ask for Mary C. at the front desk when you're checking in - She's AWESOME! We listed to some great music at the hut. Phillip from security was very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family enjoyed the pools, the inflatable waterslide and the cabana chairs on the beachfront. There are many opportunities to view wildlife. In a courtyard pond we saw frogs and fish, the paddleboats cruise along with swans, ducks and fish and of course the ocean gave us some peaks of dolphin and rays. It was a wonderful experience.

We found the staff to be very accommodating with every hiccup we encountered and anything that wasn't right was made right quickly. For example, we had been hopeful to use the water equipment (trampoline, etc.) but both full days we were there the equipment was not put out due to shallow water or pending weather issues. We were refunded and the kids were able to adjust to the disappointment. The grounds are well kept and very beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a penthouse suite (7th floor in main building) and had a view of both the ocean and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We love this place! We have stayed here several times and will continue to stay here when we take our "staycations". There is everything for everybody here. The kids love the activities and attractions while we adults love the atmosphere of the tiki huts, the beach cabanas and the beach itself. The food is spectacular with something for everyone. Simply WONDERFUL!!!

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room in the place. Depending on your preference, the ocean front is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
John, thank you for continually choosing us as your staycation destination! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had vacationed at the Island Grand 7yrs ago with our family of five. To this day it is still one of the best vacations we have had. Fast forward 7yrs, and now with 3 teenagers in tow (dropping one of at the University of Tampa), we were hoping to be able to recapture some of the vacation magic we had experienced prior. The Island Grand did not disappoint! While exactly as we remembered, it has been maintained and updated throughout. Gulf front suite, restaurants, and bars were all top notch. Each and every employee went out of their way to smile, say hello, and to see if we needed anything.

I would recommend the Palm Court as a must have dinner. Bermuda's for breakfast was equally impressive. For afternoon cocktails it was straight to the Tiki Bar before dinner. The addition of the Guy Harvey resort just a short walk down the beach offered us even more dining and cocktail options. Definitely stop by for a lunch and a drink at the "Sandbar".

The beach has remained huge and clean with the included beach cabana a nice touch! The newer version of the giant beach slide we remembered with 3 young children was an even bigger hit with our 3 teenagers.

With a built in excuse to visit our son at college, we will becoming Island Grand regulars!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Wow! So glad you were able to return to us after 7 years! And we're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more! Island Grand offers 11 dining and entertainment venues including Palm Court Italian Grill, Bermuda's Steak & Seafood along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation that gives you more bang for your beach and comes loaded with more to do than any other place in Florida. It's your perfect Florida getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.