We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just love this place! Very beautiful gorgeous location. We have been coming back for several years now. I would highly recommend it. A great place for a little romantic getaway. The new renovation on the rooms looked great. The staff is always wonderful. Judith is the best bartender! She is our favorite!! Ask her to make an amazing frozen Sangria Rita especially sitting and relaxing on the beach in the cabanas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    822
    404
    263
    161
See reviews for
1,401
714
62
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its location, kids activities and what looks as nice
rooms.
Oh, boy have we been wrong.
Day 1 of 5: door to room cannot open need to wiggle it a lot until it opens. Sliding closet door out of place so we just kept it open.
Day 2 of 5: oh what a night!!! The air conditioning is so loud so every time it kicks on you wake up. It is so loud that every time it's on you have to turn the TV volume to 30+ in order to hear the TV. The mattress is so soft and has a tendency to tilt inwards so the entire night I felt as though I'm sleeping inside a bowl with the sides raised. since I slept with my 6 years old son we basically we're sinking in the center of the mattress.
So I called front desk and immediately the girl is telling me that we've been given an upgrade so they can down grade us and everything will be better. So I'm asking to speak to a supervisor cause I'm not here for an upgrade, I just want things to be repaired. JENNIFER the supervisor is telling me the engineering can fix all the issues and she is sending someone to take s look.
Someone came up and checks the door and decided that the lock is broken and he will bring a new one to replace it. Great! About the mattress he will let housekeeping know since its their issue. We left for the pool at that time (10:30am) and he said he will take care of the AC. We come back to the room at 3:00pm dying to Take a shower and take a break from the sunny day to find that our key doesn't open the door at all, I found a made in the hallway and asked her to open the door for us until Ill go to the front desk to fix the issue. 10 minutes later we hear a knock on the door and someone with a wood board arrived to put the board under the mattress to fix the sinking affects. We asked them to give us 20 minutes to shower And come back (where were they since 10:30am? That we were not in the room?)
Well we finished showering and we wanted to take a nap. I called front desk to ask about the wood board that was sitting outside our room waiting to be inserted under the mattress. Housekeeping arrived and told us that he didn't know he had to do that since the guy who brought it up left for the day so he was asking me what he needed to do. Well, board in place, no miracle there!
Day 3 of 5: the AC is still very loud I don't think anyone took care of that or even addressed the issue. I didn't call again yo complain, I just wanted to enjoy the day with my family. We left for the beach again returning a little after 3:00pm to find that housekeeping never had a chance to clean our room and replenish clean towels and shampoo. My husband saw a made at the hallway and Asked her for some towels so we can at least take a shower with a 6 and 4 years old tired kids.
Day 4 of 5: again rough night of sleeping due to very loud AC. We left the room and returned after 3:00pm to find the made just entering our room to clean up. Again we have to wait.
Well, one more night and we return home. We have some friends who are arriving on Thursday April 25-29 who we are going to share this experience with and highly recommend that they will make other arrangements for a hotel and since if they cancel before Wednesday they won't loose anything.
I would expect a phone call from front desk to follow up that all issues were taken care of and we are happy but I guess it's not the hotel's priority.
I have to say that the staff by the pool, adventure center and the restaurants were very nice and accommodating.
I'm sending this to the manager on duty in hopes that they take care of things hoe future guests.
I'm for surf not rev commanding or returning to this place ever again. I came here to rest and not to keep reporting problems to management.
Shoshy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Salty's tiki bar has great/friendly service, a wonderful view, great ambiance, and wonderful patrons - including Rich, a great guy who happens to be a Mailman from Boston (Arlington).

Come visit and make sure you say hi to Elaine and order a Dirty Martini!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Relax your private cabana on one of the most beautiful beaches in the US, stroll over to the Tiki bar by the adults only pool and order up a tasty tropical cocktail while the guitarist on the patio croons a little Jimmy Buffet (thank God the Tiki bar is open). The rooms are newly renovated (not that they needed it), comfortable beds, mini fridge, sink and microwave. It's our perfect escape.

Room Tip: We love the waterway view room with a King bed - I love watching the swans from the balcony on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel offers everything you could possibly want in a beach resort. Beautiful hotel and accomodations, world class beach, 4 pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, spa, bars and restuarants, plus activities, activities, activities. You can do as much or as little as you want! Hands down my favorite place to go!! Kids and adults will have the best time ever!

Room Tip: our room was in the Jacaranda villas which was perfect....close to the main lobby and the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were at the Trade Winds for my husbands conference. I had a great experience with the kids. I loved the beach with the easy to reserve cabanas, the pools and all of the activities. The staff was always very engaging and very helpful. The resort was clean and organized. There were always towels available and easy to find drop bins for the dirty towels. They also make it easy to recycle and get snacks and drinks. There are several kids pools and I especially liked the shaded pool for when the kids had had enough sun, but not enough swimming. Between the beautiful beach, pools, kids craft activities, paddle boats, restaurants and ice cream we could have kept busy and happy there all week. If we had a car it would have been nice to stock up on drinks and snacks from a local store rather than the resort.
We did love our room, but our bed was very uncomfortable. Hopefully that is not the case in all of the rooms because I would love to return there and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: View of paddle boats Suite with small kitchen Ask to check out bed first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Island Grand. It has all the amenities we needed and more. In addition, the great location on the gulf makes your stay even more enjoyable. The Island Grand also has a wide variety of restaurants to choose from for any occasion that may come up. There are many activities to choose from or just relax on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.