We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape from NY winter!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great escape from NY winter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I'll preface my review with the fact that I did not pay full price for our room. We were able to score a last minute deal on travelocity for an unnamed 4 star hotel for $108/night (plus the usual dreaded resort fee $35). We had guessed it would be trade winds. So my review will be skewed by the fact that I didn't expect much. I feel the resort is more a 3-31/2 star resort. 4 stars lead me to believe it is a luxury resort, and while it is clean and enjoyable it is not luxurious. I called to request a king bed the morning before we checked in and the hotel accommodated us. I believe all of the rooms are suites, we had a separate living room which is nice for watching a little TV at the end of the day. I also appreciated the kitchenette, as we bought cereal, milk and fruit from publix for a quick and easy breakfast. As others mentioned yes the room had a bit of a damp smell to it but that is to be expected by the beach. The bed was clean as was the bathroom. The carpet looked new. We were happy with the room.

I had read reviews stating that the resort food was so-so and we ate off the resort for the weekend. There are restaurants within walking distance (Agave), use yelp. We also drove to downtown St. Petersburg one afternoon to walk the pier and had lunch downtown at Acropolis, which was delicious. We did eat at the resort pizza hut during the super bowl which was good and expectedly overpriced. They had a giant outdoor projection for the Superbowl with heat lamps and tables set up which was fun. The pools are heated but still too cold for us to swim in 70 degrees (february) but many people were enjoying them. We did enjoy the hot tub. It was especially nice that the hot tub was open till 11pm. We enjoyed relaxing there one night. The beach cabanas are great and comfy for watching the gulf. The beach is beautiful! The sand is soft and the water is clear. We enjoyed walking on the beach everyday. You feel like your in the Caribbean or Mexico. the resort was not crowded for the weekend we were there.

Flaws- few and far between.
1. The hot tubs (2) were packed with children during the day, it would be better if there was a hot tub in the adults only section
2. The water pressure in the shower was terrible! Yes it was a rain shower head but not much water. It would be difficult to wash all the sands/salt out of your hair if you went swimming at the beach.
3. We happened to receive a handicap accessible room and the curtain was not long enough as the water would end up all over the bathroom. We put extra towels down to soak it up and keep us from slipping. Housekeeping did clean it up every day.

Overall, yes I would go back if I paid the same rate. Had we paid $400/night as some reviewers stated I would have been underwhelmed. I would definitely recommend this resort to families with young children. The pools, mega slide etc would keep them busy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,907
    765
    356
    238
    157
See reviews for
1307
678
57
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the TradeWinds. This was our first visit, both to St. Pete's beach and to a TradeWinds facility. The facility was recommended by the company hosting a course, and we were very happy with the recommendation. The room had a beautiful view of the sunset every night. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and there were plenty of options for food and entertainment (karaoke night, live music some evenings, etc.). The facility is located within walking distance to many nice restaurants. The beach is very clean and the cabanas are great (we stayed in the slow season, so there was no difficulty getting a Cabana). We were a little disappointed that the staff closes the cabanas at 5 when the sunset didn't occur until after 6, so you have to give up the chair cushions, etc., wish they would wait until after sunset. We scheduled massages with the spa located in the Tradewinds, and the massages were great! Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend it to family and friends looking for a nice, safe and fun place to stay when visiting St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We only stayed at Tradewinds for 2 nights and we didn't utilize all the activity they offer, but we loved being right near the beach and we had a view of the ocean from our room, as well as seeing the sunset from our table when we ate dinner. The cheapest room was still large compared to other hotels and the food in the restuarants was excellent. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Frequent visitor. Great last minute getaway. Activities included in the resort fee were excellent. The price in the past was less but the latest resort fee included beach cabanas, all day slide passes for each guest, wireless internet from anywhere on the property (including the beach), etc.

Room Tip: Parlor room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We selected this hotel mainly because it was pet friendly. They are pet friendly, but the hotel is old and charging fees like a high dollar resort in Hawaii. They charge 35 dollar resort fees per night, plus 30 dollar per night for the pet. The resort fee is fine if you have kids to enjoy the facility. If not your paying 35 dollars for a newspaper, self parking and the Internet. The pools are not heated, dogs are not allowed on beach even with a leash. I was miss led on price, pets are in suites only rooms so be careful when booking . These rooms cost a lot more. Pet activity areas are very small.
Hallways were very dirty, bathrooms were so small they put the sink in the hallway. This hotel is just way overpriced. Breakfast buffet was 17 dollars a piece and did not look good or have much. No balcony in pet suites. Total price over 400 a night. Jan 13. Nothing available to use, even had to valet park because they were laying tar on the parking lot closest to our room. Hotel is very spread out, so really long walk if we did not valet. I always stay in nice hotels, but this one is way over priced, my advice choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great visit in Jan 2013 ! We used Bluegreen Vacation Club Bonus Time and loved the area. Tradewinds is awesome. Right on the beach, beautiful premises, all personnel & restaurants were first rate. You would not have to leave the resort for anything. All pools were clean, and had a festive atmosphere - The resort is close to areas of interest. We will go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Island Grand twice, once in the spring and once in the summer. It is a nice place; Clean, nice, grounds, decent location, beautiful landscaping and beach front. The beach cabanas are nice - take advantage of it because you pay for it with your daily resort fee. We fly to FL so being able to use a cabana and having beach towels available is great. There are several restaurants on site and three or four pools on location. It is crowded but that's to be expected at a larger resort. I've stayed at nicer places at the beach before but I've also paid more to do that as well! I would obviously go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.