We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fantastic and very accommodating!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Super fantastic and very accommodating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tradewinds is our favorite vacation resort when in Treasure Island/St. Pete Florida area! If we have any concerns or wish to switch rooms the staff is very accommodating! There are activities for all ages going on throughout the resort! We never feel as though we are at an all adult/or all family resort! We enjoy the super friendly staff always willing to help or offer suggestions! Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the area!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    808
    392
    254
    160
See reviews for
1382
697
60
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Tradewinds early December in the off season. First, I want to go thru the negatives but don’t judge the overall resort on these comments. I am very judgmental when I am paying $250 per night and drinks cost $10.

• The pillows are horrible. Bring your own.
• The sheets fall off the bed every night so expect room service each day.
• The walls are thin so expect some noise from your honeymooning neighbors.
• The location of the room safe is on a shelf in the closet. Great, if you are 6’5” or taller.
• I don’t know what it is with hotels and resorts but their TV systems stink. Mine kept going out and the remote hardly worked. The elevator was down as well.
• I stayed in a “gulf view” room. Well worth the upgrade. Beautiful sunsets. Only draw back is the “deck” is more like a shelf. 3’x6’. And if you don’t like smoke your neighbors will certainly be smoking on the “deck.”
• As I mentioned, the adult beverages are expensive. And for some reason Saint Pete’s Beach hasn’t gotten on the “craft beer” bandwagon. Expect basic domestics and some imports but nothing in the craft beer niche.
• If I owned the resort I would have sections designated each year for a coat of paint. Some areas look run down while other areas are just fine.
• At a “resort” I would expect the restaurants to have hi-def television.

All this being said the Tradewinds Island Grand is at the center of the beach. It is a five minute beach walk to great beach bars. Good restaurants within walking distance: Madfish and Toasted Monkey. There is a Publix just down the road if you want to load up on groceries for the week.

The beach/bar service is what you expect from a beachfront resort. It is laid back so expect to wait. The hotel service (reception, bell captains, etc) was fine. I plan on returning to the Tradewinds again this winter but this time I will bring my own pillow.

Room Tip: Gulf View Room is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I checked in for a conference and was asked it I would like to upgrade to a beachfront or a balcony view. I decided not to upgrade so the person who checked me in said he would see what he could do. We received a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, living room and kitchen suite in the main building! This worked out perfect because my husband and 3 year old traveled with me and I could just go down the elevator to get to the conference talks.

For the conference I attended, breakfast, lunch, snacks and a banquet that were hosted by the resort. The food and service was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a good resort with lots to do. Good pools and lots of good beach activities. Restaurants were good for a hotel. The room we had was small, but you don't spend a lot of time in the room. What I didn't like was that it caters more to vacation people than business people. I was here for conference and thought the hotel could be more business friendly. But if I wanted to go on vacation , I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights for New Years Eve. We live here in Florida but wanted to stay on the beach. This place is amazing very family friendly so much to do. Food was very good and the staff was so nice and friendly. Can't wait to bring grandkids for a long vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tropical room with a balcony and a view of the beach. Just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Or
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

TradeWinds Island Grand is a great resort. I find it to be nice enough without being over-priced and pretentious. Lots of variety in activities, food places, and great staff. Friendly and helpful. It wasn't their fault it rained and we couldn't use the beach - but they had a boxful of umbrellas at every doorway. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First, the staff at the TradeWinds is outstanding. Helpful, friendly and always around when you need them. This hotel seems to find exceptional people - no attitude, just there to make your vacation great. The property is spotless. Clearly the recent upgrade was done with care. Multiple pools, 2 hot tubs, the charming the canal that meanders through the property and the adorable swans. We loved the water slide - huge, inflatable and what a blast. No way does it block anybody's view. It goes up in the morning and deflates by 5. The beach is spectacular. Acres of wide white sand,warm shallow water, cabanas and lots of water activities including a jet pack! Our room was in the Breckenridge building. It was spacious with a kitchenette and a private balcony looking over the Gulf. We loved the comfy beds, fresh linens and beautiful sunsets. Housekeeping was perfect. They were prompt - in and out of our room while we lounged at the beach. Everything was spotless when we came back for a nap. We LOVED all of the restaurants at TW, especially Bermuda for breakfast. The fresh pastries were made there and they were spectacular. We loved the spa too! Who needs the Bahama's when you can enjoy the TradeWinds and beautiful St. Pete Beach! We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.