We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still like this property 3 years later” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
new york city
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
214 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
450 helpful votes 450 helpful votes
“Still like this property 3 years later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We returned with our kids who are now 3 years older. Some things got better -- they got better paddleboats that are a lot easier to maneuver. The water pressure in our room was decent this time. We still like the 2 bedroom suites facing the Gulf; they were in excellent condition and the views are great. No problems with waiting for elevators this time around. Either our standards went up or something went awry in the food category -- breakfast buffet at Bermuda's is awful and a la carte breakfast was fair at best. Dinner at both restaurants was not bad but nothing great and the hotel could sure use a pastry chef; all the desserts at all food outlets tasted packaged from the outside and pretty poor and everything on the breakfast buffet is packaged. The best bet there was Flying Bridge where the kids ate kids dinners well but food for the adults was again fair. Nevertheless, the kids have lots of fun with the bungee jumping, pools and jacuzzis, and the pirate show on Saturday night was a hit with them. The babysitting service the hotel uses is very good. We'd come back again but we're not thrilled with the food situation. Snappers across the street was good for fish; the Don Cesar hotel also has good food and real desserts. We were told the Frog Pond was good for breakfast but we never ventured out; didn't want to waste an hour and a half going off property to eat brekke. We were a bit unlucky with the weather -- sunny but highs in the upper 60's when it should have been 5-10 degrees warmer; but the kids didn't notice and aside from the swimming pool it didn't affect our activities. The gym is excellent and the spa was fine and reasonable. The staff is really friendly and we notice and like that. Great value for money, but it would be even better if they upped the quality of their food offerings. I don't think though that their clientele will support it; we got the feeling that a lot of people there bring in food from the outside or cook in the rooms. So you gotta just enjoy the property and know that the food is something you have to put up with, if you are counting on anything above basic Marriott-quality.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,907
    763
    354
    238
    157
See reviews for
1305
677
57
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a great experience at the TradeWinds Resort. We were impressed by how friendly the staff was, they made us feel very welcome, like we were with family.

The resort is amazing. We spent three days there and still did not get to do everything it has to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed making the candles at the craft shack. They turned out looking awesome and others have asked us where we purchased them. Then we tell them we made them at your resort and they are impressed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked four days and three nights with a gulf view. The room was large and impressive. Our room also was equipped with a small kitchen including microwave, refrigerator, dishes, etc. We were extremely impressed with the service and the amenities that accompanied our room. We were able to obtain a cabana each day and found the resort property full of things to do and see. The Sports Bar had tasty food and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Staff were always around greeting guests and ensuring that they were finding their way around. We also treated ourselves to a massage and were extremely impressed with the professionalism and care of the staff. They wanted us to relax and meet our needs.

I loved this resort and would definitely recommend it to all. The food was great, the service was great, and the location was great! Thanks for a fabulous experience to celebrate our 20th anniversary.

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms with small kitchens are extremely spacious with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Congratulations on your 20th anniversary! And thank you for letting us be a part of such a special celebration. Happy to hear you had a nice, relaxing stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a great weekend stay at the Guy Harvey Outpost. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were wonderful, very friendly. The security guard came by while we were in the adult pool and chatted for a few minutes.I had a lovely beach view room. I sat out on the balcony and had my coffee in the mornings. I also say lovely sunsets from the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've been to this resort twice now and it was referred to us by friends who equally enjoy it. The 1st time we had a 2 bdrm suite overlooking the paddle boat launch. It was more of a garden view, very lovely & quiet. I could see my husband and son through the palm trees at the swimming pool. This last time we stayed in a 1 bdrm suite with a view of the gulf. Outstanding room and beautiful view!! Well worth the extra $. The suites are nicely appointed and clean. We've always found the staff to be friendly & helpful. There are several restaurants on the premises, a sundries shop and best of all they serve Starbucks in the lobby!! Of course, with the suites we could chose to eat in or out which is helpful as our son has some sensory issues. He loved sitting on the balcony, which is narrow but sufficient. This is our go-to place when in St Pete's!!! The only downside is the bedrooms face the courtyard (which is also lovely) so the view can be from the living space, which makes sense. When it's quiet it's perfect however over Thanksgiving weekend a large group of high school kids came into the resort to stay. One night they were hooping & hollering in the courtyard around 10:30-11pm & the sound really carries. I was going to give them about 15 mins before I called the front desk, they were teens having fun and of course totally unaware of how loud they were. But as a parent you don't care how much fun they are having just that the child next to you stays asleep! Well they ended settled down on their own. I don't know if someone on staff said something or if their chaperones got a handle on it but luckily I didn't have to be the bad guy and call on them! So not really a downside per se but something to be aware of. I'm sure the staff would have handled the situation if it had become necessary.

Room Tip: If you can splurge on the gulf view suites w/balcony. We were on the 5th floor and it was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This property may be increasing in years, but it certainly has many amenities (tennis courts, paddle boats, beach volleyball, children's pool, adult's pool, gym, beach cam, and of course beach access with chairs)...when you check in, make certain you receive a room with a Gulf view as the sunsets here are spectacular. There are three restaurants on premise so you don't need to venture out, but if you do, Treasure Island is right around the corner and there is a Columbia Restaurant located in St. Petersburg (if you haven't been to Columbia you are missing a true Spanish treat). The rooms have all the necessary items you might need like a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, iron, blow dryer, etc. the phone in the bathroom was inoperable but didn't really matter, just weird! I personally didn't care for the carpeting, uncomfortable dual level pattern walking barefoot. And I felt that our room had a little too much furniture as it seemed crowded. But the beds were super comfy...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Gulf View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Checked in on a Friday but had to navigate the parking situation first- the first person I interacted with at the entrance's security gate was a little abrupt- surprised that only 1 car per room was allowed- would have been nice to have been told since was considering having my wife meet me. Walked through hotel's front door and past 6 people of which none said a word to me. Had to park around back and walk past the dumpsters and around a maze before reaching my room. A wide gap around my room's door so lots of light and lots of noise coming into room at all hours. Once in room a few of the lights did not work. Too much stuff in the room with little space to walk. Bed's sheets and pillows were very low quality. Water pressure in sink and shower very low- almost difficult to even wash my hands. Did not get to experience beach or activities so perhaps points could have been earned there. Glad to leave.

Room Tip: The Don Cesar is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.