We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Adventure Package
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've been to this resort twice now and it was referred to us by friends who equally enjoy it. The 1st time we had a 2 bdrm suite overlooking the paddle boat launch. It was more of a garden view, very lovely & quiet. I could see my husband and son through the palm trees at the swimming pool. This last time we stayed in a 1 bdrm suite with a view of the gulf. Outstanding room and beautiful view!! Well worth the extra $. The suites are nicely appointed and clean. We've always found the staff to be friendly & helpful. There are several restaurants on the premises, a sundries shop and best of all they serve Starbucks in the lobby!! Of course, with the suites we could chose to eat in or out which is helpful as our son has some sensory issues. He loved sitting on the balcony, which is narrow but sufficient. This is our go-to place when in St Pete's!!! The only downside is the bedrooms face the courtyard (which is also lovely) so the view can be from the living space, which makes sense. When it's quiet it's perfect however over Thanksgiving weekend a large group of high school kids came into the resort to stay. One night they were hooping & hollering in the courtyard around 10:30-11pm & the sound really carries. I was going to give them about 15 mins before I called the front desk, they were teens having fun and of course totally unaware of how loud they were. But as a parent you don't care how much fun they are having just that the child next to you stays asleep! Well they ended settled down on their own. I don't know if someone on staff said something or if their chaperones got a handle on it but luckily I didn't have to be the bad guy and call on them! So not really a downside per se but something to be aware of. I'm sure the staff would have handled the situation if it had become necessary.

Room Tip: If you can splurge on the gulf view suites w/balcony. We were on the 5th floor and it was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,907
    763
    356
    238
    157
See reviews for
1307
677
57
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This property may be increasing in years, but it certainly has many amenities (tennis courts, paddle boats, beach volleyball, children's pool, adult's pool, gym, beach cam, and of course beach access with chairs)...when you check in, make certain you receive a room with a Gulf view as the sunsets here are spectacular. There are three restaurants on premise so you don't need to venture out, but if you do, Treasure Island is right around the corner and there is a Columbia Restaurant located in St. Petersburg (if you haven't been to Columbia you are missing a true Spanish treat). The rooms have all the necessary items you might need like a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, iron, blow dryer, etc. the phone in the bathroom was inoperable but didn't really matter, just weird! I personally didn't care for the carpeting, uncomfortable dual level pattern walking barefoot. And I felt that our room had a little too much furniture as it seemed crowded. But the beds were super comfy...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Gulf View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Checked in on a Friday but had to navigate the parking situation first- the first person I interacted with at the entrance's security gate was a little abrupt- surprised that only 1 car per room was allowed- would have been nice to have been told since was considering having my wife meet me. Walked through hotel's front door and past 6 people of which none said a word to me. Had to park around back and walk past the dumpsters and around a maze before reaching my room. A wide gap around my room's door so lots of light and lots of noise coming into room at all hours. Once in room a few of the lights did not work. Too much stuff in the room with little space to walk. Bed's sheets and pillows were very low quality. Water pressure in sink and shower very low- almost difficult to even wash my hands. Did not get to experience beach or activities so perhaps points could have been earned there. Glad to leave.

Room Tip: The Don Cesar is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephentown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are here now and have been for just about a week. Traveling with a total of 14 family members. This is our 2nd stay. We came 4 years ago and returned because of how great our first experience was. There has been a significant decline in the value for your money and the level of service. Have had significant problems with toilet issues and hot water every day. Toilet issue was explained away as their desire to be eco friendly and therefore lower water pressure. Had to allow shower to run 10-15 min every morning to get hot water. The beach/pool towel policy is extremely inconvenient and nothing but a hassle. We have stayed at many resorts and this location should just advertise as a hotel - not a resort experience. The food has been good and most of staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. We are looking forward to the Thanksgiving buffet later today and hope it as good as it was 4 years ago. Our time with family has been priceless and enjoyable, but we will most likely look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Lower floors view of gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I were given a two night stay as a gift. The building we stayed in was the older part of the hotel, but was very nicely maintained and immaculate. We had an ocean view room with beautiful sunset views! I wish it had had a balcony to really enjoy the ocean breeze... The room came with a little "mini kitchen" - microwave, toaster, small fridge and some plates/cups/eating utensils. There were so many amenities available at the hotel, and all were included in the rooms we were gifted. Room service was fast, food was hot and good, and plenty of it (my husband and I split a breakfast and had more than enough to eat!). There was a separate pool for adults only - a nice feature. Our only problem was that the beds were very soft, and my husband has a bad back. However, management was great - offered to get a board to put between the mattress and box springs, and also told us that there were rooms with firm mattresses and to just request one when we come back to stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and seemed to actually enjoy working there. Will definately plan on returning for another "minivacation" when we don't want to drive a long way away!

Room Tip: Definately ask for an ocean front room to really appreciate the Florida sunset! - and a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
So glad you had such a wonderful stay with us! We always try to do our best to make sure our guests are comfortable and happy, so we're happy to know we were able to accomodate your needs. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I guess the star rating system is pretty subjective - for 4 stars I would expect a bit more luxury, but this was very pleasant & serviceable.

Positives - great fast wifi. Beach was wide & beautiful with lots of chairs & shelters available . Only used one of the in-house bars (salty's tiki bar) but bartender very friendly and drinks good & not watered down. Beds comfortable & room serviceable and pleasantly decorated. Good towels & bathroom supplies (shampoo, soap, etc). Good sized room safe. Convenient mini fridge, microwave & dishes. Free self parking a nice option. A/C good & quiet central air - not noisy wall unit.

Negatives - TV reception horrible! All HD channels pixilated and non-HD snowy. Call to front desk unsatisfactory ("maybe they'll get that fixed overnight"). Phone system also not working so had to use cell to call about the TV. Housekeeping came to do our room at 4:00 pm just as we were showering after a day of golf & trying to get ready for dinner. Pretty inconvenient timing - I've never stayed at a hotel where they came so late - we just had to skip housekeeping service. We had an "inside" 4th floor room on open concrete walkway that faced an interior courtyard. Very loud late at night when some drunk guests were wandering by - sound carried well enough to wake us up around 1:00 and again at 3:00 a.m. Also very loud around 8:00 a.m. when guests were filing past to check out. However, hard for hotel to control this aspect of the experience.

Why couldn't this hotel give guests a list of the TV channels in their rooms? We had to ask the concierge for a listing, and she had to call the manager, who dug out an old photocopy. Other guests in the lobby overheard me asking for the channel list & asked for same. Really? The staff didn't think in advance that this information should be provided to each room without the guests having to track down the hotel manager?

Overall, the level of luxury in the room was comparable to a Hampton Inn level of hotel in any town - functional, clean & efficient but no real wow factor. The gorgeous location and extra amenities on beachfront add to the enjoyment factor, but marrying a luxurious room experience with a beautiful beach would have given this place a better rating in my book.

Room Tip: Ocean front room probably best - maybe you can avoid the late night noise of interior hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent four nights at the TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort. Recent renovations are nice but there are still flashbacks- tiki bar, tether ball, miniature golf, and paddle boats. They should lose the paddle boats and do something more fun with the waterway. Anyway... I had booked a standard room (through hotels.com- much cheaper) for my husband and me but upgraded to a room with a king bed and small balcony overlooking the courtyard and a bit of the beach. I am so glad that we did. There's approximately 585 rooms in this hotel- that's a lot! I wouldn't want to be here when they were all filled. Too many people. Nighttime could be noisy. There was a conference or two going on during our visit but this didn't interfere with our fun except the parking lots are not sufficient for the number of cars so I recommend the valet parking. It is efficient and cheap. The pools are small but fine. The beach is naturally beautiful but spoiled by the three story tall blow-up blue slide that very few kids seemed to even use. Beach lounges and cabanas are included in the activities fee. There are quite a few restaurants here. We ate lunch twice at the beachside restaurant- it was good and a nice spot. We ate at the Palm Court and had a delicious dinner. The tiki bar makes a great tropical drink. Nice vacation. I would return to TradeWinds Island Grand. There is another TradeWinds a few doors down but we didn't visit it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #4227. I would recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach — voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award — and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Our recent $20 million renovation included our lobby as well as all 585 guestrooms and suites. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, motorized surfboards, Splash Island Waterpark, children’s programs, paddleboats, tennis, a 3-story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Lounge next to one of our 5 heated pools or sip on your favorite libation at Salty's Poolside Beach Bar. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation where you run out of vacation before you run out of things to do. All you have to do is pack your things — we’ll pack your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.