We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dolphin Tale 2 Getaway
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Wonderful anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After 30 years of marriage and finally getting our kids through college and out of the house, my wife and I decided to finally spend some money on us. After checking many reviews we decided on the Tradewinds on St. Pete Beach and we had an outstanding time. Our beachfront room with a nice balcony provided us with the perfect spot for enjoying evening cocktails while watching fabulous sunsets each night. Our room which looked like it had been recently renovated had a comfy king sized bed and efficency which was ideal for breakfast. Their many restraunts provided a wide range of dining experiences with our favorite being the Palm Court. I would highly recommend the Tradewinds to anyone looking for a great vacation in the St. Pete area. Thanks for making our anniversary one to remember. I'm sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a beachfront room if possible. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    895
    439
    287
    172
See reviews for
1,510
765
63
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay here. We had ocean front room. Great room with balcony on the beach. Beautiful sunsets. Had a great time at Salty's Tiki bar while watching baseball and listening to live music, laying on the beach, swimming in the pool, playing on the superwaterslide and so much more. Staff was fantastic and the bed was extremely comfortable. Will definetely be going back!

Room Tip: Oceanside or Bust!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really liked the resort all except for the prices of the activities they have there. To go down the big water slide it costs $4 for each time you go or $25 for a day. The only free things here is the minature golf and the paddle boating, if you want to call it "free", you have to pay resort fees. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean, the bed was amazing and I wanted to take the pillow home with me! I loved being able to go right to the beach or any one of the multiple pools on site. They also have happy hour where they offer their own mixed drink (punch) for free from 5-6pm, which is pretty good. I think that the price per night is pretty steep for me but I had a great time. Also we paid for the tropical view room, I recommend getting or holding out for a top floor room as you will get an ocean view, more than likely which is amazing and you dont have to pay for an ocean view. A definite plus. Another amazing thing was the second night they had some of the best fireworks I've ever seen, on the beach. I guess it was the celebration for the end of hurricane season, what an awesome bonus! Loved my stay

Room Tip: Like I said, go for a higher room, we were on the 6th floor, we had a balcony that had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The TradeWinds is definitely a fun hotel for children - plenty of stuff to keep them busy and having fun. It is also pet friendly, which is pretty cool (although they do charge $30/day extra for the pet). They give you a gift bag of goodies for your dog when you check in. The staff were very attentive and nice. The only down side were the beds and pillows. The mattress was lumpy and I had back pain after sleeping on them for 2 nights. The pillows were too soft. For what we paid per night, I was very disappointed with the beds. I can[t help but wonder if the beds were bad because we stayed in a "pet friendly" room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked 2 nights at the Tradewinds Island Grande for a family weekend away with some other friends and their families. I was not impressed. I have somewhat high expectations considering the rate we paid for this hotel. We booked a standard parlor room and the room was ok. Nothing special. It was smaller than I expected based on the description. The beds were mediocre at best, blankets felt like plastic and there was a brown stain on the sheets. The air conditioner was one of those noisy wall units that you can never set to a comfortable temperature. It was either freezing or hot and I did not sleep well because of it. We couldn't work the TV and there was no channel guide. The alarm clock went off at 8 am even though we did not set it and it had a really bright light that lit up the room at night. Now for the amenities... The hotel was crowded. You had to wait in a long line for beach towels or to buy tickets for the beach activities. The staff was not helpful with our beach cabana at all, the thing kept falling on us. The staff was terrible in fact. I think I found one person the entire time that actually made an effort to be polite. The rest of them acted like a bunch of beach bum kids that didn't want to be bothered. Walking into the room with a crying, cranky toddler at 3 pm, the maid walked up and asked if I wanted my room made up, at 3 pm! Trying to order a sandwich to go from the pool side restaurant, I was sent pick it up at the grill, then the man behind the grill told me to go get my meat out of the buffet trays over there. WHAT??? The pools are small, crowded, and loud. In the evening, there are stumbling drunks everywhere. Now that I got that off my chest... the beach is beautiful. The water is calm and shallow which is great for kids. Sunsets were gorgeous and the highlight of our trip. Just bring your patience or stay somewhere else. I recommend Siesta Key instead.

Room Tip: The Jacaranda building has central AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay here. We had ocean front room. Great room with balcony on the beach. Beautiful sunsets. Had a great time at Bongos restaurant and bar, laying on the beach, swimming in the pool, jet skiing and so much more. Staff was fantastic and the bed was extremely comfortable. Will definetely be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor for the best rooms. Save money by traveling in the off season. Was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our third trip to Tradewinds with our grandson… we obviously liked it well enough to return… but we encountered some problems with the kids activities that bear mentioning.

Let me begin by saying that we love this resort. We have always opted for the standard ocean-front rooms with a balcony, great view and excellent for early morning coffee with no rising sun in your eyes! Rooms are clean and reasonably up-to-date. On-site restaurants and bars are nice (but a bit pricey) if you don't want to leave the property for meals. Our favorite, the Flying Bridge, was closed for maintenance our second morning there and, despite several inquiries about its reopening (answer: "It will probably reopen this afternoon") it was still closed with equipment stacked to the ceiling when we left six days later. Oh, well.

The staff, with the exceptions noted below, are the friendliest and most helpful we have encountered at this level of resort.

The employees at the Adventure Center, where you book all of the kid's activities, were another story. They had little knowledge of the schedule or the availability of some of the activities, and were the only employees at the resort who made you feel like it was an imposition to ask them a question.

Our grandson was finally old enough to do the bungee trampoline activity this year, but when we inquired about them we got the response "They're closed right now and I think they might be down for maintenance all week." No offer to find out, no interest in helping. Three attempts at the airbrush tattoo booth for kids got with the same ambivalent answers - "nobody here right now", "we're out of paint", "machine is broken". Of course, all of these activities are additional $$ and one would think that they would be somewhat interested in accommodating you.

The last night we were there we took our grandson to the KONK Club "Camp Safari" - a $60 additional charge evening in which the kids were to "Search for animals, explore the 20-acre resort, take an evening paddleboat cruise & make campfire s’mores." This "camp safari", as we found out the next day, consisted of painting a couple of cheap wooden refrigerator magnets and picture frame, and watching a movie while sitting in the kiddie pool. No animals, no paddleboats, no campfire. Just some expensive babysitting. I would suggest that anyone interested in their kids participating in these activities to find out exactly what is involved before shelling out the $60 and being disappointed.

That being said, we will still probably return with our grandson during fall break next year, but will be more careful in paying extra $$ for the additional activities.

As a side note, the Pirate Ship Cruise that leaves from John's Pass is a great experience for kids. Includes an eleven mile roundtrip cruise down the beach, with dolphin sightings and constant activities for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Located just 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Island Grand offers a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more! Island Grand offers 11 dining and entertainment venues including Palm Court Italian Grill, Bermuda's Steak & Seafood along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. This beachfront setting has a hint of the Island tropics and offers a beach vacation that gives you more bang for your beach and comes loaded with more to do than any other place in Florida. It's your perfect Florida getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.