We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2005

Our room was very clean. It had 2 doubles and a very nice kitchenette.
Only problem was the room's location. We overlooked the north side parking lot and had a lot of noise from the garbage bins and very loud music from the hotel 2 doors north of us. Definitely recommend staying in a higher level floor. Over all though, it was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    368
    214
    119
    81
See reviews for
358
301
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

Just got back from 5 days at HoJo's and we have to agree on the positive reviews. Average hotel and as long as you know that going in it is all good after that. The pool is great and spacious, bar and food right there, beach is right there also. Checked out the Trade Winds and it was packed! People on top of each other in the small pool, rude bartender and $30.00/day to use slide! But if you want a better appearance then go for it. No complaints on staff, very laid back, they know it is not a 5 star but were helpful on all matters. Met repeats who were also content. Good restaurants within walking distance. Would return!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

The HOJO was just as I expected...older, in need of some touch ups and maybe new carpet...but after all we came for the beach and thankfully the weather allowed us to do that hang at the pool or beach most of the day. We mainly slept there. I would try for a nicer place next year, but we were in a bind because of the short time we had to plan. It is okay...the room wasn't smelly (#417) but the hallway began to smell like cat urine shortly before we left... Don't expect much and you will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2005

The HoJo at St. pete's was Great. The reviews complaining about rude staff or smelly bathrooms did not hold water. The front desk guys were totally helpful and funny. It was right on a beautiful beach, the rooms were big and clean with private balconies, good food nearby, and fun beach bars. There were lots of young families, which made it quiet for sleeping at night. If you want noise, the beach bars are just a very short walk, and yet far enough away that the noise stays there. My girlfriend and i had a blast and we were glad not to be surrounded by the spring break scene. Seriously- the only thing I didn't like was the vending machines! If you want a decent priced clean ejoyable place with all you need for a fun time at the beach-- go hojo!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rootstown, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

We just spent a great week here at HOJO's. I would agree with other reviewers that it is in need of updating, but the location and amenities were GREAT! We were on the 5th floor - had 2 balconies that faced the hotel next door - would have preferred more of an ocean view, but it was Spring Break, and it was a little noisy at the pool/bar area and we had a 9 month old who needed to sleep, so that was okay. The room was huge and we loved the big jacuzzi in the room - our family of 4 all got in it a couple of times! The beds are very comfortable and the big kitchen area was well stocked with plates, cups, utensils, etc. The pool area is much bigger than the other hotels I checked out while walking the beach. Plenty of chairs and a great pool bar. The beach is awesome and although the Gulf was too cold for us, my 12 yr. old didn't have a problem getting in it! We enjoyed the big heated pool and kiddie pool. My only complaint would be that the kiddie pool is too small, especially when you get a couple of kids & floaties in it (but this is one of the only hotels that has one). Just down the beach in front of the Tradewinds they have a huge inflatable water slide for the kids - my son spent most of a day here. St. Pete Beach is a great little vacation spot and we will definitely be back & will stay at the HOJO's again!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2005

We were upset that this " motor lodge " was listed as an hotel. There is a difference. We came from Britain and look forward to a hotel with hotel facilities, like lounges and a proper check in.

There was not enough hanging rails for a two week stay, the bedroom was nice, but the noise of coaches reversing in the early mornings and cars arriving in the early hours was a problem.

The passages could have done with alick of paint, our room was sometimes not made up till very late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

The room i was given at this hotel was of a poorer standard from other the places i have stayed in at St Petes, worn out decor and poor furnishings and not very helpfull staff when complaints were made. The location to the beach and the pool area were the best assets, but you can get this at other hotels along Gulf Boulevard but with a better standard of accomodation. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.