We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent price as compared to others in the area hotel the majority of the hotel rooms do not overlook the beach but there is direct access as advertised. Check in was easy I did arrive early and couldn't get a pass for parking until 11:00 but went to eat next door at the toasted Monkey catchy name excellent breakfast. The room was very comfortable no issues comfortable bed. Had dinner again nest door again excellent food. Only complaint during our stay were the drunks in the parking lot noise echo's through the sliding door. Will definitely stay here again if I am back in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get towards the top floor if you are looking for quiet if not party on the first patio leads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings, William W. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while with us. Providing our guests with a clean and comfortable room is always our goal and I am very happy to read that we met our mark with your reservation.

In regards to the issue you experienced with "drunks" in the parking lot, I'd like to offer my sincerest apologies. However, we have security on site 7 days a week to ensure not only the safety of our guests but the comfort as well. When you stay with us in the future I'd like to recommend that you call down to the front desk if you have any form of issue or noise complaint as they can send security immediately.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    367
    212
    119
    80
See reviews for
358
299
42
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Was looking for a weekend getaway for a decent price, checked a lot of resorts on St. Pete beach, ended up staying @ the Howard Johnson's on St. Petersburg beach, FL. The location is perfect....the restaurant & pool/beach bar excellent! Our room was clean, bed was very comfortable! My only recommendation would be to update & renovate the rooms!

Room Tip: The rooms are old & need a updated look! But our room was very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Shelleybeth. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I'm very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be economical and your room to be comfortable. In regards to the rooms being "dated" I am happy to inform you that we are in the planning faze of updating our rooms. We are hoping to start just after the summer season is over.

Again, thank you for writing a review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Enjoyed a recent 2 night stay. Had a king room on the third floor. Bedding was comfy. Room was spacious. Had a balcony but just overlooked the parking lot. This hotel is not overlooking the beach because of the property layout. It had the hotel,then pool and bar area,then beach. The pool temp was just right and so clean and nice! The beach was great because it was clear and more calm than other beaches we have been too. Only complaint would be that there was no exhaust in the bathroom so it was steamy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Greetings, kalvarezyates. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. We aim to provide our guests with a quiet, clean and comfortable room and it's a pleasure to find we met our mark with your reservation.

Again, thank you for writing your review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

After staying at a Howard Johnsons years ago never went to another. Well my wife and I just spent 4 days Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach, Florida and it was perfect. Just can't even put into words how great the staff was, the grounds, pool and onsite restaurant and bars were all wonderful. From desk clerks to housekeeping the staff could not have been better. Each and everyone spoke each time they saw you and always with a smile. Room was very nice, bed was superb. I was nervous because our room was right by an elevator but not once did we hear people or elevator noise. We parked the car and did not move it entire time there. Trolley service right across street takes you anywhere you need to go. But it was so nice we didn't want to go anywhere. We did take one trip to St. Johns Pass. Live music at beach bar was excellent as well. Prices very reasonable compared to most other hotels in the area, but you wouldn't know it by service you receive. I rate this place a seven on a scale to five!!!!!

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor gulf view room. View was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings, Mike C. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for your 5 star review. I can not express how happy I am to hear that you gave the Howard Johnsons' brand another try, as we were happy to show you the exceptional level of customer service that we aim to provide our guests.

Again, thank you for posting a review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to our area!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old VIRGINIA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We did a one-night-stand at HoJo St Pete Beach on our way to visit relatives in the area. It was so nice that we would love to have stayed longer. The room was nice, our early evening out to The Toasted Monkey (bar) out back on the beach was fun. There was a volleyball tourney going on to entertain us, and the bar was busy with happy folks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Greetings, 1oldseagull. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for your 5 star review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while with us. Our number one goal is to provide our guests with a quiet, clean and comfortable room and I'm proud to hear that we met our mark with your reservation!

Again, thank you for sharing your recent experience. I hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Over all the hotel is nice and its location is excellent ,staff very friendly,although room could have been better attended to by cleaning staff it was doable . has a great restaurant and bar The Toasted Monkey nice entertainment great food atmosphere and service. Would definitely do it again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Joseph V. The Howard Johnson St. Pete Beach would like to thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while with us. Having a hotel located directly on the Gulf of Mexico and in the heart of St. Pete Beach is only one of the reasons that our property can't be beat!

Again, thank you for sharing your recent experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.