We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Jo is getting better and better......!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Ho Jo is getting better and better......!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The renovations at this property are improving. Being right on St. Pete Beach is great & the new restaurant & tiki bar are really great for food & drinks. The chaise lounge chairs are a bit uncomfortable but tolerable. Pool towels are provided. Nice touch! The balcony could have been swept on a daily basis but it wasn't so I would wipe down my chairs. The toiletries were very nice and replenished each day. Amazing flat screen tv, my clock didn't work in the room but its vacation so who cares about the time right? The staff were very nice, its a safe property. The biggest problem I had was their wifi, it never worked. Other than that, it was a great stay with a fabulous beach I could walk right on to and watch the sunsets and enjoy the dolphins~

Room Tip: Suites have the Gulf views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are indeed working hard to improve our property with all the new renovations including our new beach bar with it's huge deck and our new onsite restaurant. I will pass the information on to my executive housekeeper regarding sweeping your deck. That is wonderful information that will help with our future guests. Thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    443
    265
    140
    94
See reviews for
447
358
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusettes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I went just recently on Sunday. It happened to be their opening weekend of the Beach Bar. I came up from the beach; it was a pleasant surprise and atmosphere. Bartenders, Stephanie and Gretta were amazing and welcoming. They have a great drink menu. I ordered yummy apetizers of smothered nacho's and stuffed mushrooms. Topped off with desert, of course:-) They have live entertainment which was nice.

Susan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We are very glad that you enjoyed our new bar. Please stay with us at the hotel next time and take full advantage of the beautiful pool area, as well as, our new onsite restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

You can't beat the price for a beautiful beachfront room! Will be even better once the beach bar is complete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our beach bar and restaurant are now open. Please join us soon and experience our new additions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRANDON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a good time. The most we enjoyed was being in the pool with my sons and grandkids. They had some construction going on but it didn't bother us much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. Our pool is such a beautiful feature of our property that all of our guests enjoy. We are glad that you were able to have such a beautiful time with your grandchildren. They will cherish those memories. The construction of our beach bar and restaurant are now complete. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you enjoy are new additions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYNDONVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Howard Johnson St Pete Beach is a nice accommodation for family vacation. The place is clean, quiet and their pool area is spacious. Staff is friendly and willing to help. The only thing they could approve is their TV channels. T hey are limited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I appreciate your patronage and look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERLIN
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have recently stayed at this place. Used my rewards points as the Place had Good reviews. Was deeply disappointed.
Lobby Looks Good, but already at the breakfast section you feel a Bit Odd... When no breakfast is served the chairs are upside Down on the table. Comfy!
Arrived on our floor: 1980s carpet... Or at least looking like it.
The room:
Bathroom Door: crunched, like it has been hit.
Scotch Tape and Dirt on the Walls
Window looking at the Pool: Dirty , Door to balcony also Not Really working
Bed sheets not Really clean either.

Wanted to stay two Nights. Decided to move during the first and just wanted to get the Night over with, so we tried Not to Spot more reason to complain.
Also looking at the room we and the Impression left from the remainder of the Hotel we didnt think it would be worth the hassle to switch Rooms.
Best was yet to come. Next Morning wie showered with smelly water. Never again!
When i Stated the above at Check Out there was no apology. Only that wie Should have told... Yeah thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your the hotel on your recent visit. I feel that you may have our facility confused with another hotel as we do not have tables and chairs in our lobby with our continental breakfast. We actually have sofas in our lobby. Therefore, we are unable to put chairs on the top of tables. I will share your comments with our staff in order to verify that we do not have any sleeping rooms with a "crunchy" door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would give it a c+. Everything was ok but the cable was horrible and they has DVD or a channel to rent a movie. The beach was beautiful. Pool had too much chlorine

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit. I will most definitely share your experience with our staff. I appologize that you found our pool to have too much chlorine. We do balance the chemicals in our pool each morning prior to it opening at 10 am. Therefore, I am not sure how we had too much chlorine in the pool. However, I will definitely follow up with my staff. Thank you for taking the time for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.