We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
LUTZ
1 review
“Good Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was good and clean. Staff was helpfull and efficent . Poolwas clean. Could use more shade at the Pool

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel and always want our guests to be comfortable. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    443
    265
    140
    94
See reviews for
448
358
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I don't understand all of the positive reviews. The hotel was just ok. I wasn't expecting anything nice at this price, but anytime I feel like I can't even go to the bathroom without putting my shoes on, it's not a good experience. The maids did the best job they could cleaning it; it's just that that carpet was never going to feel clean. The sinks are old and dirty. The towels are small, rough, and stained. The fridge wasn't cold. The walls are paper thin. I was up most of the first night with people yelling outside. Most of the balconies overlook the parking lots. The only positive was it was cheap and on the beach. But to be honest, this wasn't a nice beach. The whole beachfront area was tacky and cheap looking. Drive down to Clearwater, as we did on our last day, and see what a difference a 30 minute drive can make.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to make every guest happy. If there is ever a challenge I hope that each guest will let us know during his/her stay so that we may attempt to improve the situation at that moment. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the beach either. St. Pete Beach is known to be one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

great place right on the beach...so convenient without the resort crowds or having to wait on an elevator the whole time. The hotel was quiet despite being full. The actual room decor and furnishings are a little tired looking and dated and the bathrooms need renovated- but I didnt go to hang out in the room. fridge in the room is good size - very useful. The pool and green space is very nice and the landscaping is well cared for. It is a nice little property between the mega resorts. The restaurant and bar were being redeveloped and not open, but it would be even more convenient to have a restaurant and bar onsite...look forward to visitng those next time.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms by the elevator- its tight in the hall and large groups of people will be standing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant and beach bar will be open this next week. We look forward to your next visit and hearing what you think about our new restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was clean and comfy. The beds were comfortable and they provided many pillows. We liked that the beach was very close by. The pool was big and they also have a small kiddie pool also. The breakfast was muffins and coffee and no big deal but it was free. We would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I took his daughter to the beach this weekend, after a Tampa Bay Rays game. This hotel is about the best value you're going to find on St. Pete Beach, right on the beach anyways. We have stayed recently (just the two of us) in the much-fancier hotel next door, at a really good rate that I got through work. This HOJO was just as clean and the room was a LOT bigger, and it cost about half the price. The beach is right behind the hotel, and there is a large swimming pool and a little kid pool. Also we had a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table. The decor is a bit cheesy, but who cares? You can WALK to the beach!!! Also there are plenty of seafood restaurants, ice cream shops, and surf shops within walking distance, and parking is free.

A couple of negatives...the pool didn't appear to have any shade at all. We went swimming after dinner so the sun was already down so it didn't bother us. Also the lobby area was under construction so there was a STRONG paint-thinner type smell when you walked through that area. And both the restaurant and the pool bar were closed...the restaurant clearly for construction, and the pool bar maybe because it is off season? Either way, you have to walk to dinner or go to the store and get stuff to put in the fridge in your room. Try Crabby Bill's down the street for dinner...yummy conch fritters.

Anyways, these things weren't enough to keep us away in the future so we will probably be back.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better your view of the beach will be from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our hotel and am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are very happy to announce that our new restaurant, The Toasted Monkey, and our beach bar will be open this next month. We look forward to your next vist and your opinion of our new restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a much better place then I thought it would be. We got a third floor balcony gulf/pool view room. It was clean fairly up to date.Our room had a mini fridge, and microwave. There were burn marks on the carpet from the iron. The tv was awful in our room, but fine in another family members room. The a/c was a bit noisy, and in the bed nearest the unit I was cold all night. The elevators were SLOW. The pool was a fair size and had a nice beachy tiki theme. The beach is a little bit of a hike , but not bad. The beach it's self was nice . There are cabanas for rent, as well as other activities . This is a fairly active portion of the beach , not as laid back as some areas south of the Don Cesar . Great for kids, collage kids, and so on. Little much for a mature guest. The beach bar down about to properties has a live way too loud band, over priced drinks ,and horrible food. But, it could be a fun evening for the right people. There is no lack of good places to eat within a short drive. Skidders 5799 Gulf Boulevard St. Pete Beach, FL 33706 has awesome breakfast. I did not try lunch or dinner , but I am sure they are good as well.

Room Tip: Elevator is very slow and thus a lot of load chatting takes place out side your door if you have a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Our goal is not to meet but to exceed the expectations of our guests. We are most happy to hear this was case with your visit. We apologize for the few glitches you experienced with your television and air conditioner. We always share these helpful comments with the staff so that we may continue to improve. You will be very happy with our new bar that will be opening this next month. We will be offering wonderful entertainment that is geared more towards a laid back clientele. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were going to a 7:00PMTampa Bay Rays baseball game at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg so we planned to arrive in town a little early, meet some friends on the beach for some sun and fun and then head to the game. Since the game was the focus of the trip our beach visit took a back seat and so did the beach budget. This waterfront hotel has the lowest rates we could find on St. Pete Beach and that can often mean trouble ahead. We had read the recent reviews on Trip Advisor and we were prepared for the worst. Our reservations were made through AARP Travel powered by Expedia. We checked in at 3PM with a very friendly front desk staff. We bought the in room safe access which is well worth the $1.00 fee. Room 210 was in good condition. This room faces the north and is not a waterfront view. We counted 25 waterfront rooms at this property. The entry to room 210 has a tile floor with a sink outside the bathroom, mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker plus a large open closet. The tile floor ended as you move into the main room where the floor covering was a tight pile carpet in like new condition. Tile picked up again where the exterior sliding glass door and the A/C unit shared the north wall. Furniture was in good condition and the room had a flat screen TV. TV reception varied depending on which station you viewed but we were too busy to watch TV. The bathroom had a sink, classic tub, shower and commode. The building is old but we feel the owners are doing a pretty good job keeping the place up. Beach access was easy and St. Pete Beach is really one of the finest beaches in the country. The Gulf waters are gentle and warm fronted by a mix of white powder sand with a fair mix of crushed shell. There are many shells that the beginning collector would keep. Construction workers were working on the pool/beach grill, bar and I would bet that facility will be open soon. We walked through the pool area and it was in good condition. Landscaping between the hotel and the pool was looking good. If you can find a waterfront resort on St. Pete Beach for a better price you should consider yourself lucky. We were expecting the worst and we were pleasantly surprised at our comfortable and economical one night stay. If we were on a tight budget and wanted good beach access we would, no doubt, return to this resort.

Room Tip: Room 210 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are indeed opening our new beach bar and restaurant this next month. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.